Daily Review 27/05/2015

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, May 27th, 2015 - 24 comments
Categories: open mike - Tags:

Anne TolleyDaily review is also your post.

This provides Standarnistas the opportunity to review events of the day.  The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other.

24 comments on “Daily Review 27/05/2015”

  1. One Anonymous Bloke 1

    Road Cops.

    The audience masters* at Tv3 are almost as competent as Stephen Joyce.

    *terms and conditions apply.

    • weka 1.1

      I’m still hoping that John Campbell is going to go Network on Friday. Or even The Newsroom.

      “Tell Mr Jennings he can go fuck himself”.

      • mauī 1.1.1

        Heh, I might have to tune in just in case.

      • Molly 1.1.2

        Thanks Weka. Stayed on for another three minutes to watch again George Carlin’s suggested video “Nobody cares about you”.

        Worth the six minutes of time.

  2. miravox 2

    Really, really pleased to see a man in parliament taking domestic and sexual violence very seriously indeed.

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/68852308/kelvin-davis-walking-the-talk-highlighting-sexual-and-domestic-violence

    So many people spent their time navel gazing about the high youth suicide rate when “in most cases you can guarantee there was sexual violence or domestic violence in the background”, he claimed.

    That kind of upbringing ruined a child’s potential, he said.

    “Teachers are trying to teach kids when their heads are full of what happened last night when Uncle snuck in the bedroom and teachers are wondering why kids are gazing out the window and totally not interested.”

    On Friday Davis and several friends will begin their 17-day hikoi to raise awareness around sexual violence.

    The Massive (Men Against Sexual Violence) walk, which averages about 25km a day, starts at the Harbour Bridge and arrives in Cape Reinga on June 14.

    Davis says it isn’t a new issue and for decades women and children have carried the secret but it was time for everyone – men in particular – to speak out.

  3. Rodel 3

    Breaking news today..’Sir Bob Jones declines to appear on TV to be interviewed’ What?

  4. felix 4

    John Key got thrown off a plane today? What?

    Oh nah, it was some other stuck-up sexist wanker who thinks he’s better than everyone else cos he’s made a few bob but still doesn’t own a plane.

    • Paul 4.1

      The sense of entitlement….

      • Anne 4.1.1

        I’m above the law didn’t you know? Laws are only for the peasants who represent 80% of the population. Us nobles can do what we like when we like.

        Bob Jones has forgotten he grew up in a state house and his mum and dad were peasants – just like another grossly entitled noble we all know and love…… 😈

        • Tracey 4.1.1.1

          Like Mr Key (who mentioned his mum again in his budget speech) Mr Jones uses his parents life experiences to make people think they are their own. They patently are not. My parents worked hard and lived in part off state assistance so I am entitled to fuck the same people over today who are not related to me

      • Draco T Bastard 4.1.2

        A ‘Rigged’ Game Of Monopoly Reveals How Feeling Wealthy Changes Our Behavior [TED VIDEO]

        Using money games (in which some were given more money than others), jars of candy (reserved for sick children), and even hidden camera experiments with real automobile traffic (which cars were more likely to obey the law — stop at a cross walk — for a pedestrian), results of all of these showed a general tendency for wealth and hierarchical status to increase one’s sense of entitlement (and are “more likely to prioritize self-interest over the interests of others”) …while simultaneously decreasing one’s empathy and concern for others.

        I’d say that Bob Jones is a perfect example of the anti-social tendencies of the rich.

    • ianmac 4.2

      Sir Bob Jones looked fiercely at the attendant and snarled, “Don’t you know who I am?”
      “No Sir. But you do seem to be a tired grumpy old man. And you still have to…”
      Maybe Bob didn’t say that (I made that up) but his actions do suggest that sort of attitude.
      The rest of us just go with the flow when faced with the same scenario.

  5. Atiawa 5

    Jim Butterworth former Northern Secretary of the Engineers Union passed away today.

    RIP Jim.

  6. Draco T Bastard 6

    We are no longer paid what we are worth – just look at dog walkers

    It is clear that the relationship between jobs and pay is now governed by a new principle. The old days in which your pay was linked to the number of hours you clocked up, the skill required and the societal worth of the job are long over. Other factors play a bigger role in determining how much you are rewarded today. This is why we live in a world where the task of walking a millionaire’s dog through Hyde Park is considered more valuable than an NHS nurse (starting salary £21k).

    This is what neo-liberalism has done to our society. We no longer reward hard work and being of value to the community but if you can do sweet fuck all and help out a billionaire you’re sweet.

    • Tracey 6.1

      *sigh*

      yiu only have to look at the pay scales of sports people versus

      nurses
      teachers
      Early childhood workers

      To see how skewed everything is.

      • Draco T Bastard 6.1.1

        That’s just it though, people aren’t looking so we need to bring attention to the fact that things are skewed.

  7. ianmac 7

    The Saudi Sheep Farm Question was interesting especially given Dim post’s take on the matter. It seems Mculley might have gone it alone once too often.
    “27.05.15 – Question 10: Hon David Parker to the Minister of Foreign Affairs

    Who was paid the first $4 million in respect of the multimillion dollar payments to Saudi Arabian interests referred to in the Cabinet paper of 13 February 2013 he tabled yesterday, and how was the value calculated and split between “intellectual property which the Saudi investor brings to the platform, the services and in-market networks he will contribute” and “the settlement of the long-running dispute”? ”
    http://www.inthehouse.co.nz/video/37493

    Dimpost outlines the growing trickiness:
    https://dimpost.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/the-secret-agrihub-in-the-middle-of-the-arabian-desert/#comments

    This serious spending of taxpayers money “without legal advice” could blow up further.

  8. felix 8

    http://www.filmsforaction.org/news/recovered_economic_history_everyone_but_an_idiot_knows_that_the_lower_classes_must_be_kept_poor_or_they_will_never_be_industrious/

    In which we learn that at the dawn of industrial capitalism, just as today, the capitalists despised freedom and autonomy.

    Here’s what they were saying as they schemed to enslave the world. No different in character to the disgusting things they say today.

    • Tracey 8.1

      YUp, like people today who through ignorance or deception leave out the most important part of John STuart Mill’s famous quote about freedom

      e.g

      “The only freedom which deserves the name is that of pursuing our own good in our own way, so long as we do not attempt to deprive others of theirs, or impede their efforts to obtain it. ‘

      “If all mankind minus one, were of one opinion, and only one person were of the contrary opinion, mankind would be no more justified in silencing that one person, than he, if he had the power, would be justified in silencing mankind.”
      ― John Stuart Mill, On Liberty

      And this one more recently makes me think of one Nicky Hager

      “Every man who says frankly and fully what he thinks is so far doing a public service. We should be grateful to him for attacking most unsparingly our most cherished opinions.”
      ― John Stuart Mill, On Liberty

    • Molly 8.2

      Reminds me of some another book I read in which the First Australians were described by settlers as lazy and indolent because they would not work for slave wages to help them set up their ranches and farms.

      They ignored the fact that the skills existing in that indigenous culture allowed all the requirements for sustenance and survival to be achieved within a couple of hours, and that the rest of the time could be spent in spiritual, artistic or communal endeavours.

    • Draco T Bastard 8.3

      And now you know why National keep on bene bashing. They have the same mindset of those early capitalists. They force people into poverty so that they have to work for the rich.

      Working will never make you rich but having lots of people working for you will.

      Capitalism = usury.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Swiss tax agreement tightens net
    Opportunities to dodge tax are shrinking with the completion of a new tax agreement with Switzerland, Revenue Minister Stuart Nash announced today. Mr Nash and the Swiss Ambassador David Vogelsanger have today signed documents to update the double tax agreement (DTA). The previous DTA was signed in 1980. “Double tax ...
    1 week ago
  • Maintaining momentum for small business innovation
    Small Business Minister Stuart Nash says the report of the Small Business Council will help maintain the momentum for innovation and improvements in the sector. Mr Nash has thanked the members of the Small Business Council (SBC) who this week handed over their report, Empowering small businesses to aspire, succeed ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Seventy-eight new Police constables
    Extra Police officers are being deployed from Northland to Southland with the graduation of a new wing of recruits from the Royal New Zealand Police College. “The graduation of 78 constables today means that 1524 new constables have been deployed since the government took office,” says Police Minister Stuart Nash. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Tax refund season ends near $600 million
    Almost $600 million has been paid into taxpayers’ bank accounts in the past two months, after the first season of automatic tax assessments. Revenue Minister Stuart Nash says the completion of this year’s tax refund season is a significant milestone. “The ability of Inland Revenue to run auto calculations for ...
    3 weeks ago