web analytics

Daily review 28/03/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, March 28th, 2019 - 26 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

26 comments on “Daily review 28/03/2019 ”

  1. Rae 1

    Is Theresa May the only person at the Brexit poker table that realises that Britain does not hold all the aces?

  2. joe90 2

    Oh…

  3. A 3

    Brief story on Portugal and how the affects of changing their approach to drugs

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BuaBWnn-0Bg

  4. Dennis Frank 4

    Shoot-out at the OK corral in Oz: “Prime Minister Scott Morrison has ordered Pauline Hanson’s One Nation to be put below Labor on Liberal how-to-vote cards. The One Nation leader has shot back describing him as a “fool” and predicting it would lead to a Shorten Labor government.” https://nz.news.yahoo.com/libs-preference-one-nation-below-labor-233054044–spt.html

    “The minor party has been rocked by revelations Senator Hanson questioned whether the Port Arthur massacre was a government conspiracy during an undercover investigation by Qatari TV network Al Jazeera.”

    Raises the question of just how big a portion of the electorate conspiracy theorists actually are, eh? Gallup established that around a third of the US electorate believed the moon landings were a govt hoax in a poll sometime in the seventies.

    And this: https://www.news.com.au/national/politics/one-nation-sought-millions-of-dollars-from-americas-largest-gun-lobby/news-story/81aa8f50df99c15f5f6fb16a7fdc0b1c

  5. joe90 5

    Tracey Ullman as nanny.

  6. greywarshark 6

    Sad that a man shoots himself because he has an illegal gun and fears he may go to prison again and he phones his ex wife and son from his ute and the police won’t let them answer him while he is saying goodbye to them. It’s heartbreaking stuff. He
    likes carry imitation pistols and seemed to be a ‘loose cannon’.

    The police will look to see if there was a connection between the shooter and this ex-army man from Afghanistan. They were alerted when his son put up a profile picture on his facebook page wearing some ‘play gear’ that looked real.
    The 54-year-old tried calling his son once and ex-partner twice, however officers told them not to answer the phone. His ex-partner briefly spoke to him, and he said goodbye, his son said.
    Dubovskiy also called another friend, 21-year-old Jonathan Hinds.
    “He just called me brother and said goodbye,” Hinds told Stuff.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/111596809/exrussian-soldier-dies-of-suspected-suicide-after-police-standoff-in-christchurch

    Recent:
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/111622101/russian-man-found-dead-after-christchurch-police-standoff-was-intimidating-and-cold

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/new-zealand/2019/03/police-investigate-link-between-christchurch-shooter-and-troy-dubovskiy-who-died-in-police-stand-off.html

  7. joe90 7

    Xtian values.

  8. marty mars 8

    Great article

    One day, in frustration, I posted this social media status:

    “If your anti-racism work prioritizes the ‘growth’ and ‘enlightenment’ of white America over the safety, dignity and humanity of people of color – it’s not anti-racism work. It’s white supremacy.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/mar/28/confronting-racism-is-not-about-the-needs-and-feelings-of-white-people

  9. Sabine 9

    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/mar/28/media-far-right-radicalisation-politics-hatred?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Telegram&fbclid=IwAR0tSicjQ2Xz9kaU79NPb-I8j_QWwOJaZ9DUvWdaoM3u_EI6H_S9Iy6SI_k

    “When it comes to the threat of Islamist terrorism, no one doubts the role of radicalisation. The internet, hate preachers such as Anjem Choudary and Abu Hamza, and the western-armed, extremism-exporting state of Saudi Arabia: all play their part in radicalising the impressionable. When it comes to the far right, however, this consensus is absent. The reason for this is as obvious as it is chilling: the hate preachers, recruiting sergeants and useful idiots of rightwing extremism are located in the heart of the British, European and American establishments. They are members of the political and media elite.”

    we really do need to have a conversation about this at some stage, no matter the hurt. Cause it ain’t going away anytime soon.

    • Ad 9.1

      Are you saying that the leadership of the Arabian states and Iranian states are not hate-mongering extremists?

      The hurt is well shared, the evidence rich and deep.

      • lprent 9.1.1

        Are you saying that the leadership of the Arabian states and Iranian state

        This isn’t just a Islamic thing. All of the people without faith always have to consider any organisation and the people following them who goes for “do as I say rather than fo as I do”.

        What you see in the Arab states is, to me, little different from what I see in the Israeli state, or in the secular religious states like China.

        And Christianity has lonv history of doing the same.

        I often think exactly what you think about Iran of the US as well. That was a probably the state founded most deeply as a Christian state. With its weaponry, deep faith populations and wealth – it remains a threat.

        Probably its saving grace was that it founded after the reformation. As a result of the massive wars and repressions that erupted from that, it built a certain amount of secularism directly into its laws.

        With Christianity, it gets hard to look past its long history of religiously justified slavery and colonization even before you look at religious actions covert and overt against neighbours – especially variants of it’s own faith. It is after all why we don’t have the Byzantines any more.

        Personally I’d prefer that most faiths and the people adhering to them would concentrate on their own behaviours rather than judging that of others. It’d be a whole lot more inspiring than what I usually see.

      • Sabine 9.1.2

        No what i am saying is that we have discussed the Arabs and their problems and their terrorists continuously since the longest of time.

        what we don’t like to speak about is our intervention ‘ to protect our interests’ in their political life, their economies, their self determination and if all fails our intervention at the point of a gun, invading whom ever we consider ‘roque’. I.e. Venezuela, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Libya, various countries in Africa, South America, the overthrow of Prime Minister Mohammad Mosaddegh in Iran leading to the regime now, the war on drugs, and so on and so on.
        We in fact know how hate, racism, and terror is created, we do a lot of this creation anywhere on this planet and we then exploit these acts to our advantage.

        Now what we don’t speak about is why some 28 year old, well to do, ordinary average bloke, with average looks n height, is so fucked up that he believes that the only thing good about him is his color of skin, his european desendency and his believe that white means might and that he would kill for that. Why this guy fears he is being ‘replaced’ by others. We don’t speak about people in our media that dehumanizes others on the grounds of their virtue – single mothers, income – low income workers, their social status – useless benefit bludgers, or nudge nudge wink wink – brown people. We don’t even speak about our own fears of the ‘others’. WE are nice and polite and don’t speak his name, and don’t read his words, and don’t discuss how this guy could live among us. Cause fact is his white skin is according him many privileges that any brown, muslim 28 year old bloke never had.

        And we should discuss it. We really should.

    • Drowsy M. Kram 9.2

      The stench of ‘white extremism’ has been (far) right under NZ noses for a while, but Islam/Muslims!!

      Sabine’s excellent quote points to the need for a clear-headed, unbiased approach to terrorist threat analyses in NZ – hopefully the Royal Commission of Inquiry will reveal just how even-handed (or not) the NZ GCSB/SIS/NAB et al. have been.

      It is important that no stone is left unturned to get to the bottom of how this act of terrorism occurred and what, if any, opportunities we had to stop it” – Ardern

      https://www.euronews.com/2019/03/25/new-zealand-pm-announces-public-inquiry-into-mosque-attacks

    • Stuart Munro. 9.3

      The process should not be so terribly difficult, if we start with violent fringe spaces like 8Chan and parts of the dark web I wot not of.

      I’m not sure Facebook has deserved all of its condemnation, but some care in moderation there seems not especially hurtful.

      The modus operandi of recruiters or creators of violent fanatics are reasonably well documented. I venture to suggest that web literate analysts like Wikileaks or Bellingcat could readily produce a risk assessment profile of web forums with some predictive validity.

      • joe90 9.3.1

        if we start with violent fringe spaces

        Start with the Churches and the end times extremists baying for a body count so they can get themselves all raptured AF, I reckon.

        The first time I remember hearing Islam equated with terrorism from the pulpit, I was a 17-year-old junior at Heritage Christian School in Indianapolis, where my mom was—still is, in fact—an elementary teacher. It was 1998, long before Islamophobia seized the Western mainstream. My family attended a small, nondenominational evangelical church in the suburb of Carmel, where my dad was the music pastor.

        “A good Muslim,” our head pastor, Marcus Warner, intoned that Sunday morning, “should want to kill Christians and Jews.” He insisted that this was the only conclusion possible from a serious reading of the Quran. As a doubting young evangelical who would later become an agnostic, this extreme statement made me uncomfortable even then. Today, in the wake of the shootings in Christchurch, New Zealand, it should be considered every bit as offensive as the worst anti-Semitic tropes

        https://foreignpolicy.com/2019/03/26/americas-islamophobia-is-forged-in-the-pulpit/

        • Stuart Munro. 9.3.1.1

          Contemporary terrorists are as likely to be radicalized in chatrooms as churches or mosques, but condemning all chatrooms or churches or mosques would be neither reasonable nor effective.

          For all that seems to have been true in the case of America’s worst contemporary terrorist, George Bush, reasonable numbers of shooters fit the profile of deculturized and disaffected persons. These are rarely members of thriving churches, which can provide a kind of social contact that is antithetical to murderous nihilism.

          Somewhere along the way elite understanding of the role of churches seems to have been lost – they were once the social institutions that provided the kind of guidance or role modeling the likes of Jordan Peterson identify as being missing in contemporary society. Anthropologically speaking almost no society is without them in some form. Unable to cope with the pace of social change, their demise has created a void into which all kinds of lesser and less wholesome mysticisms and enthusiasms proliferate.

          That said, the wilder US churches are pretty out there: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwBVcsWYJd8

          • RedLogix 9.3.1.1.1

            Somewhere along the way elite understanding of the role of churches seems to have been lost – they were once the social institutions that provided the kind of guidance or role modeling

            A point I’ve gently made here many, many times over the years … at the same time it’s been open slather for atheists to mock, smear, attack and generally denigrate what we believe in. There are examples of this even on threads this past week.

            And you know what? We accept this as part of the open discourse necessary in a tolerant, healthy society. And you’ll notice that long term regulars here like Ad and myself who have made it clear we do have a religious faith, also go about our participation here without openly pushing or promoting it onto others.

            What does have to be at least a little irksome is how selective this has become; suddenly Islam is being protected by all the woke radical lefties, a favour they never extended to Christianity (or any number of other faiths.)

        • Psycho Milt 9.3.1.2

          It was 1998, long before Islamophobia seized the Western mainstream.

          It seems so to them because they were young at the time. Those of us who were adults at the time of the Rushdie fatwa have been familiar with Islam as a source of terrorism since the late 1980s. And I presume I’m only putting that date on it because I was young at the time myself, and it goes back further.

  10. greywarshark 10

    Police in France answer to:
    Policing is centralized at the national level.[1] Recently, legislation has allowed local governments to hire their own police officers which are called the “police municipale”.[1]

    There are two national police forces called “Police nationale” and “Gendarmerie nationale”. The Prefecture of Police of Paris provides policing services directly to Paris as a subdivision of France’s Ministry of the Interior.
    Within these national forces only certain designated police officers have the power to conduct criminal investigations which are supervised by investigative magistrates.

    National civilian police Force – major cities and large urban areas – under the Ministry of the Interior. Police Nationale.
    Gendarmerie is part of the French armed forces and responsible for smaller towns and rural areas and important national locations. Its civil duties are under the
    Ministry of the Interior and the rest are under the Ministry of Defence. Gendarmerie Nationale.

    Local police of towns and cities, are under the oversight of Mayors. They can notice breaches but cannot investigate. There are also local police in the rural zones. Police municipale.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_enforcement_in_France

    Police in NZ answer to:
    The current Minister of Police is Stuart Nash. While the New Zealand Police is a government department with a minister responsible for it, the Commissioner and sworn members swear allegiance directly to the Sovereign and, by convention, have constabulary independence from the government of the day.

    The New Zealand Police is perceived to have a minimal level of institutional corruption.[2][3]
    wikipedia
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Zealand_Police

    There is also an investigating body Independent Police Conduct Authority
    https://www.ipca.govt.nz/

    If members of the police swear allegiance to the Crown only, and by convention?
    have constabulary independence from the government of the day, I think it is time
    to break that convention. There needs to be an Ombudsman type authority that watches and to whom they are beholden, who then reports to Parliament as a whole not just the government of the day. The Police Minister would also report to the ‘Ombudsman’ but be involved on a day-to-day basis and they would brief him and answer his/her questions.

    Police as a business? There seems a whiff of that:
    Praise or complain about Police…
    We will pass your comments on to the employee and their supervisor. … Write to or visit the officer in charge of any police station Find your nearest police station.

    https://www.police.govt.nz/contact-us/praise-and-complain

    Would it be better to have the decisions made about cases made by independent experienced magistrates used to working in the criminal and fraud field?

    • In Vino 10.1

      Good points. Probably: Yes, it would, but few Kiwis will care enough to advocate…

  11. Another View 11

    When will there be a post about the Anti Semitic views that are being expressed, such as last weekend:
    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/new-zealand/2019/03/jews-outraged-after-mosque-leader-blames-mossad-for-christchurch-attack.html

    For many, anti Semitism is Hate Speech – something this site is big on but seems to turn a blind eye to when Jews and Israel is involved.

    Hate Speech = racism, this needs to be addressed especially for those “Jew Baiters” here and elsewhere.

    • In Vino 11.1

      Well, for one thing, that is such a wild conspiracy theory that few believe it, so why bother?
      For another thing, blame game has not seen as appropriate to date..

      And your strange concern makes me wonder if you are pushing a political end – branding any criticism at all of Israeli Govt. policy as anti-Semitism?

      I personally do not believe Mossad were involved in this.

      OK?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New Public Housing Plan announced
    The Government has released its Public Housing Plan 2021-2024 which outlines the intention of where 8,000 additional public and transitional housing places announced in Budget 2020, will go. “The Government is committed to continuing its public house build programme at pace and scale. The extra 8,000 homes – 6000 public ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    20 hours ago
  • Prime Minister congratulates President Joe Biden on his inauguration
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has congratulated President Joe Biden on his inauguration as the 46th President of the United States of America. “I look forward to building a close relationship with President Biden and working with him on issues that matter to both our countries,” Jacinda Ardern said. “New Zealand ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    22 hours ago
  • Jobs for Nature funding will create training and employment opportunities
    A major investment to tackle wilding pines in Mt Richmond will create jobs and help protect the area’s unique ecosystems, Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor says. The Mt Richmond Forest Park has unique ecosystems developed on mineral-rich geology, including taonga plant species found nowhere else in the country. “These special plant ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Pre-departure testing extended to all passengers to New Zealand
    To further protect New Zealand from COVID-19, the Government is extending pre-departure testing to all passengers to New Zealand except from Australia, Antarctica and most Pacific Islands, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “The change will come into force for all flights arriving in New Zealand after 11:59pm (NZT) on Monday ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Bay Cadets learn skills to protect environment
    Bay Conservation Cadets launched with first intake Supported with $3.5 million grant Part of $1.245b Jobs for Nature programme to accelerate recover from Covid Cadets will learn skills to protect and enhance environment Environment Minister David Parker today welcomed the first intake of cadets at the launch of the Bay ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Cook Islanders to resume travel to New Zealand
    The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern and the Prime Minister of the Cook Islands Mark Brown have announced passengers from the Cook Islands can resume quarantine-free travel into New Zealand from 21 January, enabling access to essential services such as health. “Following confirmation of the Cook Islands’ COVID ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Supporting communities and landowners to grow employment opportunities
    Jobs for Nature funding is being made available to conservation groups and landowners to employ staff and contractors in a move aimed at boosting local biodiversity-focused projects, Conservation Minister Kiritapu Allan has announced. It is estimated some 400-plus jobs will be created with employment opportunities in ecology, restoration, trapping, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Border exception for some returning international tertiary students
    The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began. The exception will allow students to return to New Zealand in stages from April 2021. “Our top priority continues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Tiwai deal gives time for managed transition
    Today’s deal between Meridian and Rio Tinto for the Tiwai smelter to remain open another four years provides time for a managed transition for Southland. “The deal provides welcome certainty to the Southland community by protecting jobs and incomes as the region plans for the future. The Government is committed ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New member for APEC Business Advisory Council
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has appointed Anna Curzon to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). The leader of each APEC economy appoints three private sector representatives to ABAC. ABAC provides advice to leaders annually on business priorities. “ABAC helps ensure that APEC’s work programme is informed by business community perspectives ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Govt’s careful economic management recognised
    The Government’s prudent fiscal management and strong policy programme in the face of the COVID-19 global pandemic have been acknowledged by the credit rating agency Fitch. Fitch has today affirmed New Zealand’s local currency rating at AA+ with a stable outlook and foreign currency rating at AA with a positive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Additional actions to keep COVID-19 out of NZ
    The Government is putting in place a suite of additional actions to protect New Zealand from COVID-19, including new emerging variants, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Given the high rates of infection in many countries and evidence of the global spread of more transmissible variants, it’s clear that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • 19 projects will clean up and protect waterways
    $36 million of Government funding alongside councils and others for 19 projects Investment will clean up and protect waterways and create local jobs Boots on the ground expected in Q2 of 2021 Funding part of the Jobs for Nature policy package A package of 19 projects will help clean up ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand Government acknowledges 175th anniversary of Battle of Ruapekapeka
    The commemoration of the 175th anniversary of the Battle of Ruapekapeka represents an opportunity for all New Zealanders to reflect on the role these conflicts have had in creating our modern nation, says Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Kiri Allan. “The Battle at Te Ruapekapeka Pā, which took ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Better care for babies with tongue-tie
    Babies born with tongue-tie will be assessed and treated consistently under new guidelines released by the Ministry of Health, Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Around 5% to 10% of babies are born with a tongue-tie, or ankyloglossia, in New Zealand each year. At least half can ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison over
    The prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison is over, with all remaining prisoners now safely and securely detained, Corrections Minister Kelvin Davis says. The majority of those involved in the event are members of the Mongols and Comancheros. Five of the men are deportees from Australia, with three subject to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Pre-departure COVID-19 test for travellers from the UK and the US from 15 January
    Travellers from the United Kingdom or the United States bound for New Zealand will be required to get a negative test result for COVID-19 before departing, and work is underway to extend the requirement to other long haul flights to New Zealand, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. “The new PCR test requirement, foreshadowed last ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago