web analytics

Daily review 10/07/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, July 10th, 2020 - 45 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

45 comments on “Daily review 10/07/2020 ”

  1. Morrissey 1

    She helped to smash democracy in Bolivia. Now Covid has her in its grip.

    Covid and its complications have struck a bunch of horrible right wing trashers of democracy: Boris Johnson, Jair Bolsonaro, Hamish Walker, Michael Woodhouse and Michelle Boag to name just some of the most repellent that come to mind.

    And now we learn that the illegitimate coup "President" of Bolivia has been struck….

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/world/420920/bolivian-president-anez-tests-positive-for-covid-19

    Can Trump, Pence, "ScoMo", Guaidó, Starmer, and Duterte be far behind?

  2. Peter 2

    This afternoon I heard Michael Woodhouse say he gave Michelle Boag his email address.

    On the TVOne news tonight the commentator said Woodhouse got four 'unsolicited' emails from Boag.

    He had no idea she was going to email him. He specifically gave her his non-parliamentary email address so she wouldn't and couldn't email him I suppose.

    This is the sort of crap we're being fed and it should be ridden right to the ground.

    • I Feel Love 2.1

      The email address that he could only access in Dunedin, and he's been away awhile. That interview this morning is a hoot!

      • Incognito 2.1.1

        The National Party had an Enigma machine that was kept in a safe in the office of Simon Bridges. During his attempts to break into the safe Todd Muller destroyed the machine, which is why they had to rely on M. Boag for non-encrypted e-mails. The only other Enigma machine is hidden at a National Party safe house in Dunedin.

        • I Feel Love 2.1.1.1

          He also deleted from his trash folder? Oh c'mon!!! Dodgy AF, he knew what he was doing. And I just saw someone tweet that Muller was offered emails from Boag too? I can't get TV so am missing out!

          • Incognito 2.1.1.1.1

            I can’t remember the last time I watched TV in NZ and I feel liberated.

            • I Feel Love 2.1.1.1.1.1

              it's only times like this I wish I could just flick it on, have a quick jack. Amazing, my kids have never watched programmed telly, it's all YouTube, going to be a interesting generation these kids.

              • Incognito

                Yes, YT is the opium for kids nowadays.

                • gsays

                  Not just the kids, I have learnt a lot from University Tube.

                  Home brewing cider and beer, making charcoal, terra preta, and latterly black powder and fireworks.

                  The Johnny Cash doco The Gift was great last night.

  3. observer 3

    Credit to OneNews for handling the Muller lies in the right way.

    We don't need a reporter inserting themselves into the story, shouting at us. We only need the evidence presented, the words of the man himself. Here's what he said, and when he said it.

    He lied on camera, and we saw it for ourselves.

    • Fireblade 3.1

      Both One News and Newshub 6pm broadcasts highlighted the contradictory statements made by Muller and Woodhouse. It's a very serious situation for the National Party. They have lost credibility and the voter's trust.

      • Morrissey 3.1.1

        They have lost credibility and the voter's trust.

        Just like they did in 2005 and 2014. They blamed Nicky Hager for reporting on their sleaze and their crimes.

  4. anker 4

    Yes Observer, I agree. Thought the report which lead TV one news tonight was spot on. Revealed all.

    I have heard that Muller had received Boag's email, but hell it quite credible………

  5. Muttonbird 5

    Incredible. So Muller got the Boag info as well? This sounds like a production line of information specifically set up by Boag, and as we all know Boag was in the Muller leadership challenge camp.

    Boag was part of Muller's and Hooton's team, and campaign chair for Nikki. They must have known what she was bringing to the table.

    • anker 5.1

      um sorry Muttonbird, I am not sure if Muller got the Boag email, so please don't quote me on that a typo!

      • I Feel Love 5.1.1

        The thing I saw on Twitter was Muller was offered the emails, but he said he refused them. I have no source, just a Tweet, so as far as I know just speculation.

    • I Feel Love 5.2

      I saw it here, no idea where he got the info (he's been asked for a link) https://mobile.twitter.com/ajthompson13/status/1281470179025670144

      • Muttonbird 5.2.1

        Sounds like something the Nats would do so I'm going with it.

        • I Feel Love 5.2.1.1

          Ha!!! I was gonna add "lets see what tomorrow brings" … & I just watched that One clip with sound off, and Adams (I do get them mixed up) eyes are doing such strange things, spinning round and round, weird. Maybe if they didn't do such dirty deeds they wouldn't feel such pressure.

  6. weka 6

    Here's the TVNZ clip. Watch it a third time with the sound off.

    • weka 6.1

      I don't understand why Muller lied. Surely the must have known this would come out.

      • ScottGN 6.1.1

        He’s barely stayed ahead of events on a good week weka. This week has clearly been more than he could deal with.

        • Macro 6.1.1.1

          I think the word is "Shambolic".

          Nats like that word – they use it a lot. They know all about it from first hand experience.

          • Just Is 6.1.1.1.1

            You beat me to it, Mullers favorite saying, ironic how it's him and his party that now fit the description, perfectly

      • Draco T Bastard 6.1.2

        Like most dishonest people they never really believe that they'll get caught.

    • Muttonbird 6.2

      What a bag of spanners they are!

      They perpetrators won't lose their jobs though, it'll be all the backbenchers looking for work with Philip Morris, and how many sales jobs have they got going right now?

    • Peter 6.3

      I like the, "I should be spending more time with my family," look on Amy Adams' dial.

      The smarmy look gone from Ilam Gerry's is wonderful too.

      • weka 6.3.1

        I'm starting to almost feel sorry for Muller.

        • I Feel Love 6.3.1.1

          I do a bit too, I certainly don't want them to come to any kind of harm, emotional or psychological… but then I remember key with the throat slit gesture and the poor bastards kicked out of their homes because of the ghost meth.

        • observer 6.3.1.2

          That's because we imagine how we would feel, under pressure like that. But Muller has shown no signs of being troubled by awareness of his flaws.

          Simon Wilson put it well in the Herald a couple of weeks ago:

          "What he gives you is a sense of his own exceptionalism. He thinks he's got something that no one else has".

          Contrast Ardern, who publicly expressed her doubts about doing the job, before she took it. That's why she is a better person to do it.

          • weka 6.3.1.2.1

            I agree that makes her the better person. I suppose I think hubris is an improvement on sociopathic (FJK).

    • mac1 6.4

      I love the way Muller checks the National party sign he stands in front of- is it mounted the right way up, he asks himself.

      There's a real tell tale in the way he chews his lip listening to one question.

  7. Muttonbird 7

    The whole dairy industry just don't get it, do they? Animal abuser gets good results by abusing animals. Ya think?

    Reminds me of the revolting property manager awards those clowns in the real estate industry dish out. The top property managers are the ones who shit all over their tenants and maximise profit to the landlord!

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12347240

  8. weka 8

    Anyone know why this is happening?

    • weka 8.1

      Medical examinations

      (1)

      A chief executive of a department or the board of an interdepartmental venture may request an applicant for appointment or an employee to undergo a medical examination.

      (2)

      The chief executive or board may nominate a medical practitioner to undertake the examination.

      (3)

      The department or interdepartmental venture must pay for the examination.

      Compare: 1988 No 20 s 82

  9. ScottGN 9

    Nats vote could really fracture. ACT, NZFirst and maybe even Greens feasting on the carcass.

    • Muttonbird 9.1

      No matter how awful the Nats are, nothing would be worse that having 10 flat earth/flat tax ACT MPs in parliament. Can you imagine the absolute stupid which would emanate?

      Even Ilam Gerry is preferable to that.

      • Draco T Bastard 9.1.1

        Can you imagine the absolute stupid which would emanate?

        Yes, Yes I can.

        Can you imagine the people who voted for them recognising said stupid?

    • ianmac 9.2

      Sadly Scott, I think the loyal Nationalists will return to the fold disbelieving of the charges against their Party. I think it would take a lot for me to vote against Labour and would probably disbelieve the "charges against our Team.

  10. Just Is 10

    Todays Corona Virus stats, it looks like the 13 million mark in 2 days from now, thats 5 days for the last million and the next million looks like taking only 4 days.

    Australia had 350 odd new cases today

    We don't know how lucky we are.

    Just a shame we have those selfish individuals who have never considered the needs of anyone else in their life.

    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

    The worlds at a rate of 250 thousand new infections a day now, and thats only the reported numbers.

  11. RedBaronCV 11

    I came across this from Germany. A way of companies sharing the available jobs around by putting 200 people on part time instead of making 100 redundant. There is then a top up from the state to cover income loss for the other hours

    I quite liked the idea as it gives a lot more people underlying security and in the end probably costs the state about the same( and gets a lot more gardens done). Has it been discussed here? I imagine as the economy picks up the jobs start going back to full time and that the state subsidy is at an hourly rate more like the dole. Sort of working backwards from employment not forwards from unemployment.

    https://www.imf.org/en/News/Articles/2020/06/11/na061120-kurzarbeit-germanys-short-time-work-benefit

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Government steps up to assist Auckland during flooding
    As the Mayor of Auckland has announced a state of emergency, the Government, through NEMA, is able to step up support for those affected by flooding in Auckland. “I’d urge people to follow the advice of authorities and check Auckland Emergency Management for the latest information. As always, the Government ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Poroporoaki: Titewhai Te Huia Hinewhare Harawira
    Ka papā te whatitiri, Hikohiko ana te uira, wāhi rua mai ana rā runga mai o Huruiki maunga Kua hinga te māreikura o te Nota, a Titewhai Harawira Nā reira, e te kahurangi, takoto, e moe Ka mōwai koa a Whakapara, kua uhia te Tai Tokerau e te kapua pōuri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Enhanced Task Force Green Approved following Cyclone Hale
    Carmel Sepuloni, Minister for Social Development and Employment, has activated Enhanced Taskforce Green (ETFG) in response to flooding and damaged caused by Cyclone Hale in the Tairāwhiti region. Up to $500,000 will be made available to employ job seekers to support the clean-up. We are still investigating whether other parts ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • General Election to be held on 14 October 2023
    The 2023 General Election will be held on Saturday 14 October 2023, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced today. “Announcing the election date early in the year provides New Zealanders with certainty and has become the practice of this Government and the previous one, and I believe is best practice,” Jacinda ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announces resignation
    Jacinda Ardern has announced she will step down as Prime Minister and Leader of the Labour Party. Her resignation will take effect on the appointment of a new Prime Minister. A caucus vote to elect a new Party Leader will occur in 3 days’ time on Sunday the 22nd of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Trade and Agriculture Minister to attend World Economic Forum and Global Forum for Food and Agricult...
    The Government is maintaining its strong trade focus in 2023 with Trade and Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor visiting Europe this week to discuss the role of agricultural trade in climate change and food security, WTO reform and New Zealand agricultural innovation. Damien O’Connor will travel tomorrow to Switzerland to attend the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Government funding relief for flood-affected Wairarapa farmers and growers
    The Government has extended its medium-scale classification of Cyclone Hale to the Wairarapa after assessing storm damage to the eastern coastline of the region. “We’re making up to $80,000 available to the East Coast Rural Support Trust to help farmers and growers recover from the significant damage in the region,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Government provides support to flooded Tairāwhiti communities
    The Government is making an initial contribution of $150,000 to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Tairāwhiti following ex-Tropical Cyclone Hale, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced. “While Cyclone Hale has caused widespread heavy rain, flooding and high winds across many parts of the North Island, Tairāwhiti ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Government support for flood-affected Gisborne Tairāwhiti farmers and growers
    Rural Communities Minister Damien O’Connor has classified this week’s Cyclone Hale that caused significant flood damage across the Tairāwhiti/Gisborne District as a medium-scale adverse event, unlocking Government support for farmers and growers. “We’re making up to $100,000 available to help coordinate efforts as farmers and growers recover from the heavy ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Monkeypox vaccination available to eligible people from next week 
    A vaccine for people at risk of mpox (Monkeypox) will be available if prescribed by a medical practitioner to people who meet eligibility criteria from Monday 16 January, says Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall.   5,000 vials of the vaccine have been obtained, enough for up to 20,000 ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago