Daily Review 15/02/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:34 pm, February 15th, 2018 - 51 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

51 comments on “Daily Review 15/02/2018”

  1. adam 1

    One question,

    Why are people who are in helping people roles paid so poorly, when people who are greedy wasteful occupations are paid so well?

    • Ed 1.1

      It shows what capitalism values.

    • weka 1.2

      The inheritance of sexism meeting neoliberalism is part of it. Women’s work has been undervalued for a long long time.

      Classism. Dog eat dog mentality. Ignorance. Greed. Lots of things.

    • alwyn 1.3

      That really isn’t a very nice description of all our MPs.
      Accurate though.

      • McFlock 1.3.1

        All your MPs maybe.

        Not so much for MPs on our side of the House though 😛

        • alwyn 1.3.1.1

          You’ve woken up have you?
          You are probably right.
          English, Bennett, Brownlee, Joyce, Collins, Adams, Foss, etc, etc are really all pretty good people. You really are lucky to have all those fine people in the party you support.
          It is the ones sitting on the right hand side of the speaker who are corrupt in their entirety. Perhaps I should change sides and support your lot in the National Party.

          • McFlock 1.3.1.1.1

            Nice try, but only someone who is already a tory could write that those people by name are “all pretty good p”hahahahaha

    • Pat 1.4

      who writes the rules?

    • UncookedSelachimorpha 1.5

      ” I’ve worked in an economy that rewards someone who saves the lives of others on a battlefield with a medal, rewards a great teacher with thank-you notes from parents, but rewards those who can detect the mispricing of securities with sums reaching into the billions. ”

      Warren Buffett

  2. cleangreen 2

    I had to laugh today watching parliament when the ex Chair of the Transport and industrial relations committee chair David Bennett got up to speak on a dairy farmer bill and blamed the labour coalition for stripping out his rights to discuss the bill as “a erosion of democracy”

    I recall when we assembled a 10240 petition and presented it to the steps of the ruling National government in 2012 to give to David Bennett as he was the chair of the Transport select committee then and he refused our democratic rights to speak in front of his committee about our mothballed Gisborne rail.

    So it was so satisfying to see that David Bennett got the same feeling that he gave us of indignation when he refused our ‘democratic’ right to speak.

    Utu to you David Bennett.

  3. Ed 3

    I would force these two vile companies out of the country.

    On Friday, nearly 3,000 of the world’s best athletes took to the slopes, rinks, and half pipes in Pyeongchang, South Korea, for the Winter Olympics. The images beamed to televisions in the 92 countries with athletes competing and beyond will create new sporting heroes for hundreds of millions of children from Tennessee to Tunisia, Moscow to Mali.
    The Olympic stories written over the next weeks will inspire many of those kids to put on their first pair of skates or skis. These images will also be interrupted every other minute by advertisements from official sponsors like Coca-Cola and partners like McDonalds, the very companies that provide the food products that could be the biggest obstacle not only to becoming an Olympic athlete, but also to living a healthy and happy life.
    Even before the Winter Olympics kicks off, the world is already in the grip of a global health epidemic that’s only getting worse. In 2016, according to the World Health Organization, 39% of the world’s population was classified as overweight and 13% obese. It is predicted that by 2030, if the current prevalence continues on its existing trajectory, almost half of the world’s adult population will be overweight or obese.

    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/feb/10/coca-cola-mcdonalds-sponsor-olympics?__twitter_impression=true

  4. Pete 4

    We need an Opposition leader with a sense of humour and Amy Adams shows she’s got that in spades:

    “…my integrity is very important to me.” That was after using the words “incredibly clean and ethical.”

  5. AsleepWhileWalking 5

    “Last week, Ms Moody, 76, won a landmark victory over the Ministry of Health, over care for Mr Chamberlain, who is 51 but has the intellectual capability of a toddler.

    Ms Moody cares full-time for Mr Chamberlain, but the ministry decided to pay her for just 17 hours a week, at minimum wage – a decision rejected by the Court of Appeal

    It also noted that it was the third occasion on which a dispute between the ministry and parents who care for disabled adult children had reached them – using words like “unease” and “impenetrable” and saying, “The minister has erred in law.”

    http://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/checkpoint/audio/2018632264/the-cost-of-looking-after-a-disabled-adult-child

  6. Muttonbird 6

    I’m picking tomorrow will be Barnaby Joyce’s last day in the job. “On leave” from Monday and forced to resign sometime next week.

  7. KJT 7

    Turnbull tells MP’s they are not allowed to have sex with Staff.

    https://www.perthnow.com.au/politics/federal-politics/sex-ban-for-federal-mps-in-wake-of-barnaby-joyce-affair-ng-b88746434z

    Could be interesting. At least one MP is married to a staffer.

    • Anne 7.2

      Social media was quick to react to the Prime Minister’s announcement, with the hashtag #bonkban trending on Twitter.

      Lols.

    • alwyn 7.3

      The standards expected of people have certainly changed. I imagine that any University staff member who had an relationship with one of their students would now be hounded out of their job.
      I guess that would mean that we would never have had Bob Tizard as an MP and Cath as the Auckland Mayor. When they married Bob was a lecturer and Cath a student I believe.
      Sigh. Sometimes the world seems to be going to hell in a rash of puritan values.

      • McFlock 7.3.1

        Most NZ unis have procedures in place to prevent unethical relationships and (at a lesser degree) manage the conflict of interest if it existed, rather than having an absolute bonkban.

        The issue with Uni is that you have everyone from all ages in almost all the different roles. Middle aged techs assisting and being directed by “senior” students in their early twenties, and pensioners teaching 16-18yo first years.

        People fall in love. Most of them are adults (if barely). The trick is to respect them as adults while managing and preventing the unethical relationships that harm everyone and the institution.

        It’s also one thing to be a lecturer dating a student, vs being a lecturer dating your own student while at the same time grading their essays.

        • alwyn 7.3.1.1

          That is not the only example of course.
          By the Barnaby Joyce standard, and I’m not defending the apparently randy old goat, we would have to have booted David Lange out of Parliament and we would, most definitely, not have been able to award him the Order of New Zealand.

          • veutoviper 7.3.1.1.1

            “… the apparently randy old goat,…”

            This wonderful description reminds me of this ‘event’ during Muldoon’s time as PM when there was a satirical publication in Wellington called the Double Standard, which used to post hoardings along the Terrace whenever there was some juicy scandal or other eyebrow raising bit of breaking news.

            Around the time of Muldoon’s alleged flirtations and affairs with a variety of women in Wellington, a news story broke about a wild boar that had got loose in the hills around the capitol. It pillaged a number of gardens and brought down clotheslines to the point that the Armed Offenders Squad were called out to take the boar down. Next day’s Double Standard headline … “ROOTING PIG SHOT IN NGAIO – PM SAFE”

            h/t for this to a Ministry of Foreign Affairs official at the time who posted his memories of this event on another blog a couple of years ago. I will not name the official or the blog for privacy reasons!

            • alwyn 7.3.1.1.1.1

              I thought for a moment that you must be as old as I am.
              I can remember those mock posters. Yes they were real and were very funny. That one was certainly the most memorable.
              I never did find out for sure who was responsible for them although, given the sort of people in my social group, I almost certainly was acquainted with them.
              After Piggy died TVNZ, or whatever it was called in those days, tried to find anyone at all who could confirm that Rob was being unfaithful to Thea. They never found anyone that could confirm any of the stories.
              Rob’s image as a Lothario appeared to be a myth.

              • veutoviper

                BS – In the 1970s I lived in one of the first townhouse complexes in Wellington City virtually opposite Wellington High School (or whatever it was called in those days) and “Mary” (one of several ‘friends’ of Muldoon over the years) also lived there. I saw Muldoon arrive and leave frequently. I was a young but not stupid ‘State Servant’ at the time. LOL. Many of the other tenants in the complex were also Civil/Public/State Servants. And no, I would not have confirmed yay or nay to requests for info as to Muldoon’s extracurricular activities in those days or now. Wellington was – and still is – a small place. A town not a city when it comes to government and related organisations (unions, etc). As certain people have and continue to find out to their cost , if you blot your copybook here, you, and your career, will not live it down in this town.

                So – I would not be surprised if we moved in the same circles back in the day … LOLZ.

          • McFlock 7.3.1.1.2

            Well, Lange did only announce his separation/new relationship after he was no longer PM.

            But in general I agree, the aussies are following the US route of hypocritical puritanical redneckism, where the moral failing is to be caught.

            and there are constant efforts to get that to take hold here, too.

  8. Muttonbird 8

    Amazing how the Nats deride the Labour party’s leader selection process, yet their method will see a bunch of no-name list MPs decide their next leader.

    • alwyn 8.1

      I could easily tell you every one of their names.
      Can you provide me with a list of all the Labour Parties’ members who are entitled to vote?

    • McFlock 8.2

      ^^ Did Alwyn of the nats just ask for a copy of the Labour Party membership roll? Subtle, innit…

      • alwyn 8.2.1

        I was thinking of forming a flat-earth society.
        Anyone who was foolish enough to think that the Labour Party had any answers to New Zealand problems or any vision for the future would clearly be gullible enough to join. That list would have helped me identify such simpletons.

        I originally thought of trying to recruit members of the smallest party in the Coalition forming our Government but I discovered that even if they agreed to pay me their subscription I couldn’t make them pay up.

        According to the Citizens Advice Bureau the contract couldn’t be enforced because
        “Both parties to the contract must be “legally capable” (for example minors or people of unsound mind are not legally capable.”
        http://www.cab.org.nz/vat/consumer/bcr/Pages/Private-contracts.aspx

        Anyone who worships at the sepulchre of the Holy Watermelon must clearly be of unsound mind.

        By the way, you must clearly realise by now that I have absolutely nothing to do with the National Party.
        Never have belonged to a political party. Never will belong to such an organisation. People who do are like bloody Morris dancers.

  9. Ed 9

    I keep telling you.
    A crash is coming and it is going to be ugly.

    Solutions
    1. Get out of debt.
    2. Start an emergency fund.
    3. Have cash on hand.
    4. Store the Essentials – water, food, medical kit,

    More evidence……

    Say your prayers, the US Fed financial safety net has gone.

    Say your prayers. We no longer have a lender of last resort fully standing behind the global financial system. The US Federal Reserve is prohibited by law from carrying out precisely those emergency actions that halted contagion and a worldwide collapse in October 2008.
    The Dodd-Frank Act and the post-Lehman culture of righteousness on Capitol Hill have tied the hands of the Fed. In the America First mood in Trumpian Washington it is unclear whether the US will continue to uphold its responsibilities as issuer of the paramount reserve currency and how far it will go to help foreign institutions facing trouble.
    The tougher new rules will make it much harder – and slower – for the Fed to halt fire-sale liquidation in a crisis. It is true that the repression has made US banks “safer” than any time in the last 40 years: common equity capital ratios have doubled since 2008. Lenders have big enough cash reserves to withstand a 30-day liquidity seizure. But this is to celebrate a financial Maginot Line.

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11995316

    • infused 9.1

      I’ve been preaching it since last year. My prediction has always been the end of 2018.

      This ones gona hurt.

    • Ed 9.2

      …and when the crash comes, there are going to be a lot of desperate people.

      Almost half of Kiwis only just getting by day to day

      http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11995293

    • Ed 9.3

      …and when the crash comes, there are going to be a lot of desperate people.
      Indebted people.

      Real Estate Institute chief executive Bindi Norwell said much of the Auckland drop was due to price falls in Manukau City, down 10.2 per cent,
      ………Hilary Parker, of Infometrics, said the softness in the market was likely to continue over the next year – and spread.
      “Affordability constraints in other parts of the country will also drag on national sale volumes. And we expect prices across the regions to gradually follow Auckland’s decline.”

      https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/101463149/manukau-leads-auckland-house-price-fall-real-estate-institute-figures-show

    • Antoine 9.4

      I still don’t understand the point of this ‘get out of debt’ thing. What’s wrong with having debt in a crisis?

      A.

    • mikes 9.5

      “Solutions
      1. Get out of debt.
      2. Start an emergency fund.
      3. Have cash on hand.
      4. Store the Essentials – water, food, medical kit, ”

      Only number 4 is useful.

      1. – Why get out of debt? I there’s a major crash then having debt won’t make any difference, in fact the debt might just disappear.

      2. – Emergency fund for what? And where will it be kept? Maybe in a bank that’sjust gone under?

      3. Cash on hand – cash might be worthless if we get to a state of requiring emergency food, water, etc. Gold might be worthwhile, but barter will probably be the means of trade

  10. Ed 10

    Germany shows us what can be done.
    Be courageous.
    Don’t tinker.

    German cities to trial free public transport to cut pollution
    “Car nation” Germany has surprised neighbours with a radical proposal to reduce road traffic by making public transport free, as Berlin scrambles to meet EU air pollution targets and avoid big fines.

    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/feb/14/german-cities-to-trial-free-public-transport-to-cut-pollution

  11. Jilly Bee 11

    Interesting watching Newshub this evening and reading the Herald’s website about the Sri Lankan family who was facing deportation from Queenstown. My take on the latest result is that the present Minister of Immigration Iain Lees-Galloway has granted a reprieve of their deportation order on compassionate grounds and they can remain in N Z for another year, having been in N Z for 10 years and well settled into their new life. Watching Hamish Walker on the TV tonight flashing his National Party emblazoned swanndri taking all the credit for this – of course, his parliamentary mates Nathan Guy who was the Minister until 2013 and then Michael Woodhouse until the change of Government were happy to boot them out. Hypocrisy much I reckon – or probably more to the point, Todd Barclay was far too lazy and/or pre-occupied to lift a hand to help his constituents.

  12. Jilly Bee 12

    Oh darn, has Crusher Collins been ever so slightly crushed? http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11995270

    • McFlock 12.1

      How tone deaf do you have to be to build yourself a reputation of being tough “Crusher” Collins, then just as you’re running for the party leadership you start whinging about the other player breaking rulles that don’t actually exist?

      • mac1 12.1.1

        Nah, she’s just establishing her credentials and bona fides as a serious contender to lead the National Party, following such leaders as Holyoake (Kinloch), Key (the recidivist pony tail puller), Brash (racist mysogynist), English (the Double Dipper), and Muldoon (the homophobic bully). No wonder Honest John Marshall stood out, and did not last long.

        Even Winston Peters choked at that prospect.

  13. SPC 13

    If the matter of his dual citizenship had not been settled first would the Oz deputy PM be deported to New Zealand on lack of good character grounds?

    Personally, his just being an MP and associating with the sort of people in their political parties, while without “proper” Oz citizenship, there was cause to deport him earlier.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    1 week ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    3 weeks ago