Daily review 21/06/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:50 pm, June 21st, 2019 - 61 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Happy birthday to you …

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

61 comments on “Daily review 21/06/2019”

  1. Muttonbird 1

    The wife of former ANZ New Zealand boss David Hisco bought the couple’s Auckland family home from her husband’s employer for substantially less than its capital valuation in 2017.

    Deborah Walsh paid $6.9 million in July of that year for the lavish St Heliers property, less than the $7.55m ANZ paid when it bought the house in early 2011.

    Valuations service QV put the property’s 2017 capital value at $10.75m.

    Nearly $4m discount!

    This sale went through in July 2017, 2 months after Jong Kee joined the ANZ board. Surely he must have signed off on this, but then it's all just monopoly money to them, isn't it?

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/business/113661929/anz-bought-75m-beachside-auckland-property-for-david-hisco

    • Peter 1.1

      In case people don't read the link – you show the value of the property going up dramatically but didn't mention the fact that the ANZ paid for big refurbishments to the property as well while Hisco lived there.

      The bank can admit their practices were sloppy or say Hisco was sloppy with his paperwork but an ordinary peasant person like me thinking in the vernacular is likely to come up with expressions like "rip-off merchant."  

      The level of entitlement, or greed, or morals or the sense of removal from the 'real world' should be bewildering but it isn't. That's the way some classes act. And of course they are those who often use that expression, telling us to get into the 'real world.'

    • mickysavage 1.2

      Ha I wonder if this was because of exceptionally good work by a reporter or a strategic leak?  Methinks the latter.

      Pretty brutal …

    • Instauration 1.3

      Furnished and submitted documents over many years to the Companies Office say that the residential address of David Hisco is at 29 Albert Street Auckland  – between levels 29 – 32 . These filings may render David Hisco incongruous with the requirements of Section 215 of the 1993 Companies Act.

      No mention of St Heliers or Kohimarama

      Oddly current listings state; "Held By Registrar, Auckland, 1010 , New Zealand "

      Never seen that before.

       

    • Muttonbird 1.4

      Further, the huge discount provided to Mrs Hisco when she bought the house from the ANZ for approx $3.5m less than it was valued seems to have been indirectly or directly passed on to John and Bronagh Key.

      The sale of the St Heliers house for far less than it was worth was basically a gift of $3.5m to the Hiscos from the shareholders, staff and customers of the ANZ, including me! 🤬

      This 'gift' in July 2017 then goes on to fund the purchase of John and Bronagh Key's beach house at 43 Success Place, Omaha in February 2018 for, coincidentally, about $3.5m.

      Question being, how much was John Key involved in the process which ended up him receiving funds procured under a cloud (the cheap sale of the St Heliers house), for the sale of his beach house?

      Key mentioned under questioning at that press conference that they had a house to sell and the Hiscos bought it, “and that’s it”. But really, the Hiscos received a huge windfall of pretty much the same amount as the sale just months before from the very ANZ Key was a board member of…

    • Muttonbird 1.5

      More quite staggering actions and statements at the press conference last week.

      Many watched this spectacle in astonishment. There was disbelief among reporters at the press conference when Key denied there was a link between Hisco finding his head on the block and the severe embarrassment the bank and its board suffered at the hands of the Reserve Bank just a week before Hisco initially went on leave.

      Hisco held one of the biggest jobs in the country and was being taken down publicly, humiliatingly, over a relatively small expense when compared with his hefty yearly expense claim and salary. Key went so far as to speak on Hisco's behalf, airily claiming that, "David would say he did not meet the standards he set for the rest of our staff and for himself".

      Legal commentators said it was unusual. Usually these sensitive matters are dealt with quietly to avoid the potential reputational damage to both parties. 

      But here was Key, not stabbing Hisco quietly in the back and sliding him off into early retirement, rather parading Hisco's failure around like a trophy, only missing Hisco himself to fully complete the public flogging.

      https://i.stuff.co.nz/business/113641865/the-fall-of-anz-chief-executive-david-hisco

       

  2. Gabby 2

    Davy certainly has an eye for a bargain doesn't he.

  3. Muttonbird 3

    President Donald Trump approved retaliatory military strikes against Iran on Thursday before changing his mind, US media reports.

    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-48714414

    Anyone get the idea the orange piece of crap doesn't have the faintest idea what he's doing?

    • adam 3.1

      I think they thought they could get away with the drone crap, after the other lies. When someone in the white house actually asked around how the world felt – it must have shocked them into a retraction. 

       

      Watch them keep amping this up. 

      • McFlock 3.1.1

        I don't even think it went to overseas opinion, or even domestic.

        Even odds that Bolton or another hawk persuaded dolt45 to launch a "retaliatory" strike, and then someone who isn't a warmongering piece of shit heard about it and managed to talk him out of it because it was more than 30sec later and his attention had drifted.

        • Macro 3.1.1.1

          That's about it I reckon. 

          Bolton and Pompeo are pushing like mad to start another war, but fortunately there are a couple of others who are a little more sane. Just how long it will last however is another matter. 

          Mind you tRump can contradict himself from one sentence to the next. He just opens his mouth and words come out.

    • WeTheBleeple 3.2

      For desperate want of a better word: isn't this a cultivated image – him not knowing what he's doing merely a decoy. It's hard not to think of him as the world's biggest idiot. But there he is, siphoning off the world's largest economy for a select few companies. Blatantly law breaking, bribing, coercing, dominating and shitting on anyone and everyone – and getting away with it. Shrewd cunning only?  

       And check out those Proud Boys, they must make him chubby. Very fine people indeed. I reckon they can't wait to get issued some shiny new jackboots and he can't wait to issue them. New boots for the poor! They'll polish them every day on minorities heads. You see they're convenient to keep the leftist commie rabble at home in line or cages while he burns the world.

      Insane doesn't mean stupid, nor does crass, insensitive or cruel. I wish he was a moron…

      Trolling the entire planet – he might get an Oscar for this show. 

    • A 3.3

      Glad he changed his mind.  Even the victor loses in war

    • WeTheBleeple 4.1

      After Panama Papers I'd say there's more than a smidgen of truth to it.

      It'll be global in scope. Shifting offices, shifting sands.

      • greywarshark 4.1.1

        That is an amazing info. dated January 2019.  Checking on other sites where info re Gordon B appears seem dodgy.   I think that he needs to keep his records and himself safe as he must be a liability to many people.  

        I was reminded of a fictional story I have recently read about The South Sea Bubble called Sea Change by Robert Goddard.   If you like convoluted plots this is one for you.   That was a very widely spread scam.

  4. CHCoff 5

    Happy birthday to baby Neve

    & bring on the terrible 2s when she'll be ready to start filling in with the parliamentary debates

  5. Pat 6

    An open and honest politician!…..worth the listen

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/audio/player?audio_id=2018700800

  6. Ad 7

    Very interesting move by President Trump to countermand his own order issuing military response against Iran. 

    Neither Obama nor GW Bush would have done that. 

    The global oil price, and much of the world, live another day. 

    But it shows the Pentagon are on the brink.

    Today only Trump stands between peace and the US military. Which honestly is a bit of a mindfuck. 

    • RedLogix 7.1

      At this point our old friend CV might be having one of his 'I told you so moments'.  The obdurate failure of the left to understand what they were really up against in Trump speaks to largely to a desire to have something to whine resentfully about.

      • Anne 7.1.1

        Well no Redlogix. Not all of us. It was precisely because we knew what we were up against in Trump which spoke volumes to our deep concern at his rise to power. In that regard he hasn't let me down and my concern over his presidency only increases as time goes on.

        • RedLogix 7.1.1.1

          I get that, and I accept this from you in good faith. 

          In general however the correct response to losing is to retreat with dignity, work out exactly what you did wrong and then fix it. The exact opposite of what the Dems did and more than a few around here.

        • marty mars 7.1.1.2

          Yes Anne – we all realised that except for the t.rump acolytes like cv. The democrats aren't the left although they may be a small subset of the left I suppose.

          • RedLogix 7.1.1.2.1

            Why do you think spelling Trump's name incorrectly will help? 

            • marty mars 7.1.1.2.1.1

              no one cares except for you – why do you care? It's ok I know why and it's very cute lol

              • RedLogix

                If nobody cares, then why do you do it? And all the other childish name calling? 

                Do you think it would persuade anyone to not vote for Trump, or change their minds for the better? 

                • marty mars

                  grow up – you're opinions are really silly – childish is an older guy like you defending trump against people making fun of his name – pathetic – get onto the talk show hosts there 'patricia' and shut them down too cos they are mean – lol

                   

                   

                  • Morrissey

                    Marty, pointing out the grave failure of the "Democrats"—or precisely the right wing faction of that party led by the doomed Hillary Clinton—is not "defending Trump."

                    • marty mars

                      who said it was

                      what about complaining about the spelling of his arsehole name – got anything to say on that?

            • Sabine 7.1.1.2.1.2

              i agree it should be spelled orange shart cannon.

               

               

      • Macro 7.1.2

        Reported today:

        The attorneys who recently visited the facility near El Paso told The Associated Press that three girls, ages 10 to 15, said they had been taking turns watching over a sick 2-year-old boy because there was no one else to look after him.

        When the lawyers saw the boy, he wasn’t wearing a diaper and had wet his pants, and his shirt was smeared in mucus. They said at least 15 children at the facility had the flu, and some were kept in medical quarantine.

        The children told lawyers that they were fed uncooked frozen food or rice and had gone weeks without bathing or a clean change of clothes at the facility in Clint, in the desert scrubland some 25 miles southeast of El Paso.

        “In my 22 years of doing visits with children in detention I have never heard of this level of inhumanity,” said Holly Cooper, an attorney who represents detained youth. “Seeing our country at this crucible moment where we have forsaken children and failed to see them as human is hopefully a wake up for this country to move toward change.”

        https://apnews.com/46da2dbe04f54adbb875cfbc06bbc615

        This is what Trump represents. There is nothing wonderful in his Presidency at all.

         

        • RedLogix 7.1.2.1

          If I was to turn up at LAX illegally, got detained and horribly treated, there would be no sympathy at all. Even less if I'd been stupid enough to involve my children.

          Of course the story above is appalling, but hand-wringing without offering a concrete solution doesn't help.

          Americans don’t like whiners much; it’s why so many of them voted for Trump even when they knew damn well all his shortcomings and flaws.

          • marty mars 7.1.2.1.1

            nice – suffer the little children and all that eh – wonder what jesus would have done – probably thrown you lot from the temple to start with lol

            • RedLogix 7.1.2.1.1.1

              Are you saying that parents are not responsible for their children?

              • marty mars

                lol is that what jesus said 

                • RedLogix

                  "Render unto Caesar what is Caesar's".

                  Is that the line you are thinking of?

                  • marty mars

                    I'm sure as a person with a difficult upbringing and doubts about who his dad was, he would be very concerned about the children – sadly more than a few of his followers have discarded any deep caring for others for the extreme self centred me me me attitude displayed – a bit like like you do?

                    • RedLogix

                      At the same time did Jesus tell his followers it was OK to break the laws of the land?  That God would ensure they would escape any bad consequences for doing so?

                      If you actually cared about these children, as distinct from just using them as an opportunity to vent, you might ask the hard questions about why their parents put them into such peril in the first place. 

                      And if you really want to argue for open borders and unconstrained migration then do so honestly.

                    • marty mars

                      If he was around today you'd be laughing at him as some dick refugee and you know it

                       

                    • RedLogix

                      When you make a reasoned argument I always respond in good faith, but the personal attack is all you seem to have. Haven't you noticed by now how weak they make you?

                    • marty mars

                      I know they drop me to your level but that is the price I pay to fight bigotry.

                      I detest your fake reasonableness – I'm commenting on a LEFT wing blog as a left wing activist – you can bullshit as much as you like I just don't care for your attitudes and opinions.

          • greywarshark 7.1.2.1.2

            RKL 7 1 2 1 … (hand-wringing without offering a concrete solution doesn’t help.)

            USA likes concrete solutions.    They make floors and walls out of it to keep helpless children in who are separated from their parents.   This is a country that lauds the family in public but behind the scenes….

          • Drowsy M. Kram 7.1.2.1.3

            The report posted by Macro didn't mention adults or parents – the report did describe consequences of inhumane treatment of the very young.

            Yes, hold parents responsible, but please treat children/infants humanely.  It's not rational, or moral, to mistreat children because of poor 'decisions' made by their parents.  The mistreatment in this case seems quite deliberate, punitive even, if attorney Holly Cooper's comment is anything to go by.

            I’ll stop wringing my hands now.

        • RedLogix 7.1.2.2

          There is nothing wonderful in his Presidency at all.

          Why is it that if I'm not having a whiny hissy fit about Trump that I must therefore think he is 'wonderful'. This binary for us/against us thinking is weak and ineffective.

          I'll say it one more time … Trump only won because the Dems so comprehensively lost the unlosable election. 

          I'm active in the tramping community; every year there are people who die in our mountains because they didn't take them seriously. The game is dangerous, and losing it can be fatal. 

          Same with not taking Trump seriously. He's dangerous and playing 'who can come up with the most crackbrained insult' is an irritating distraction.

      • The Al1en 7.1.3

        Not a friend of mine. Not since he turned weird, and definitely not when I heard him make a record of my personal info during a phone conversation we had.

        Wouldn't trust him with a treasonous barge pole.

        • greywarshark 7.1.3.1

          The Allen doesn't like Trump? since he turned weird.     People do that sometimes, as you get to know more about them.    I'm not sure about Red Logix now.

          • The Al1en 7.1.3.1.1

            I thought it was pretty clear. Obviously I'll have to reduce my future contributions to reflect what lowest common denominator actually means. 

            And it's still Mr Al1en, to you. 😉

    • Macro 7.2

      If he actually knew what he was doing – he wouldn't have made the order in the first place. It was probably pointed out to him that such an order was against the Constitution anyway, and he is already fighting off a load of shit. 

      On second thoughts he probably has no cognisance of what legal jeopardy he is in already, and adding further to his unconstitutional behaviour is the last thing on his mind.

      They probably gave him some crayons and a few airplane pictures to colour in. He would enjoy that.

    • Muttonbird 7.3

      Trump appointed those who wish to wage war. That he's having second thoughts now shows how little control he has over his own philosophy.

      • McFlock 7.3.1

        Exactly.

        In 1962 it was the presidential staff vs the Pentagon. In 2019, whomever happens to be in the oval office at the time manipulates the president into doing what they want.

         

        Not that the Pentagon doesn't have hawks these days, but they're hawks who actually have to deal with their resource constraints, and are much more interested in building more expensive projects and retiring into industry than they are in running a difficult war. And the generals who do want to send troops in don't have enough troops to do it.

  7. A 9

    Would you still want to keep your money in an Australian owned bank if you knew that funds from NZ depositors could be used to bail out the banks in Australia?

    10.30 mins in

    • Ad 9.1

      We currently have more commissions, royal commissions, reports, and working groups operating at the behest of this government than under any other government we've ever had. 

      Most of them have achieved nothing and will achieve nothing. 

      So no, we don't need another one.

      • Pat 9.1.1

        Oh we need one alright, but as noted in the podcast one with the right people and the right terms of reference…and we know that aint gonna happen

    • Pat 9.2

      good post…and watch the first 10 mins as well

      Orr has gotta stick to his guns

      • Ad 9.2.1

        We have a cultural sickness that means we are up to our necks in debt from mortgages … and people get rich off it. 

        The fault's ours, not the banks.

        • Pat 9.2.1.1

          Banks have been gifted the privalege of determining the level of debt for society (and their own wealth) and with privalege comes responsibility……and ground zero for the cultural sickness resides in their house.

        • greywarshark 9.2.1.2

          Oh Ad you are so harsh.    We have been flexible and run along the channels that have been made for us to follow – we thought prosperity was like water which we had in abundance.    We have practically given water away happily because there was plenty more where that came from.   We haven't understood what we were doing with our water, nor with making money from the influx of demand for houses, (there are more houses etc).

          Water and houses – we didn't see what we were doing.    We are like lambs to the slaughter really, we never have been taught to question and think about our situation, discuss matters over the dinner table, after dinner before watching television, assess and analyse.   Forgive us for we know not what we do, great Ad.

Leave a Comment

Use WYSIWYG comments on next comment (inactive new feature)

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    4 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    5 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    5 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago