web analytics

Daily review 29/07/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, July 29th, 2020 - 45 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

45 comments on “Daily review 29/07/2020 ”

  1. Cricklewood 1

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/sport/league/warriors/122288198/two-warriors-players-banned-from-returning-to-new-zealand-after-nrl-season

    I sincerely hope someone in govt fixes this, there must be some form of discretion availble.

    • solkta 1.1

      Ummm, NO.

      • weka 1.1.1

        even if they're not allowed to return to their home countries?

        • solkta 1.1.1.1

          Doesn't say that in the article. But answer would still be no. There is so many heartbreak stories out there of families divided but these two should be let in because rugby? Give me a break.

          • weka 1.1.1.1.1

            not because of rugby, fuck that, but because NZ has been their home. If they can return to Fiji and Tonga, I'd probably feel differently about it, it's not clear from the article. Also, if they'd been told in May they wouldn't be let back in then they could have made a choice.

            • solkta 1.1.1.1.1.1

              According to the UN Declaration on Human Rights they have an inalienable human right to go home. I would support the NZ gummint putting on the utmost pressure for those rights to be upheld.

              edit: I think the article is being deliberately vague as it is a pro-pro-sport article.

              • weka

                I don't know if Tonga or Fiji have closed their borders to everyone because of covid, not unreasonable if they have all things considered.

                • weka

                  Just checked, Tonga opened its borders in June, restricted numbers and quarantine. So I suspect you are right and the sports people are overegging it a bit. He might have to hang out in Australia for a while until allow back to Tonga. Still think there is a fairness issue in telling people it's ok to go and then later telling them they can't come back, but this is the world we live in now, people need to think about what's really important.

                  • solkta

                    Still think there is a fairness issue in telling people it's ok to go and then later telling them they can't come back

                    It no say in the article that they were told that they would be able to come back.

                    It does say that they "left New Zealand with the other Warriors players in May" and that one of them tried to come home after a shoulder injury "few months ago" – ie in MAY! It sounds like they just didn't check the rules. Cry me a river.

                    Edit: no one has been told that they can’t leave NZ. The telling them it was ok to go could have only come from the Aussie gummint.

                    • weka

                      Despite only taking on the portfolio last week, Immigration Minister Kris Faafoi told Stuff he is aware “there are known issues with current settings” and has “sought advice from officials”.

                      There's something not right. If it weren't for covid, they've have been able to come back, because they're legal to live in NZ. Obviously things changed with covid, but I'm guessing that in May, the deal made for the team was that they could travel as per normal with some restrictions because of covid. But the legal to return issue probably wasn't looked at because it was such a new situation for everyone.

                    • solkta

                      That is probably just politician for i don't want to upset the thugbians seven weeks from an election. These two were here on work visas and as i say above there are many people in their situation as outlined in this Herald article from 21 May:

                      https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12333855

                      The article quotes the Minister:

                      "I understand this is a very difficult situation for anyone stuck outside of New Zealand. Border closure has been an essential part of the sacrifices we have all made to keep people in New Zealand safe.

                      "The issue of migrant workers stuck outside the country is very much on our minds. I am currently awaiting advice on using the new powers established under the Immigration Act and will then make decisions on potential visa changes that may assist them."

                      At the moment our quarantine facilities are at capacity and can't keep up with the numbers of returning citizens and residents. These people come first. We should not be making exceptions for people because rugby.

            • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1.1.1.2

              not because of rugby, fuck that, but because NZ has been their home.

              NZ is not their home. If it was they would have become citizens.

              They haven't.

              • weka

                you have to have lived in NZ continuously for 5 years to apply for citizenship. They've been here for less than that.

                Lots of NZers have residency not citizenship including people that have lived here for decades. You might want them to have the latter but that's not a requirement to be a NZer for the purposes of this conversation.

                • Craig H

                  If they were residents, they would be permitted to return as they would have the right to enter under the Immigration Act.

                • Draco T Bastard

                  you have to have lived in NZ continuously for 5 years to apply for citizenship. They've been here for less than that.

                  And that means that they get to bypass the rules that apply to everyone else?

                  How is that justifiable?

                  Lots of NZers have residency not citizenship including people that have lived here for decades.

                  1. Those people are not NZers. To be a NZer requires that you hold citizenship.
                  2. NZ is stupid and leaves the country open from attack through ease of staying here, getting voting rights and yet still being a non-NZer.

                  I don't have a problem with immigrants but I do have a problem who come here, get residence and then get a say in our society without having the decency to actually become one of us.

                    • Draco T Bastard

                      Yeah, he needs his NZ citizenship revoked. He came here for a few days, made a few million dollars off of our government and left. I'm pretty sure he hasn't been back in the country since.

                      There's no way that he met the criteria required.

    • Draco T Bastard 1.2

      Although both players have lived in New Zealand for numerous years and Ravutaumada has represented the country, they are not New Zealand citizens, with Katoa from Tonga and Ravutaumada Fijian.

      There is some form of discretion going on. They're not NZers and are not being given the rights of NZers – as is proper.

      They have had years to become NZ citizens if they chose – they have chosen not to do so. So we can be rightfully assured that their right not to become a NZ citizens are also being fully realised.

      Just because they're sports people should not excuse them from the rules that everyone else has to abide by.

      • weka 1.2.1

        dunno, seems remarkably similar to Australia kicking Kiwis out.

        • Draco T Bastard 1.2.1.1

          The Kiwis aren't Australians so they, of course, don't have the rights of Australians.

          Of course, I do wish that the Australians would just tell us that Kiwis are no longer welcome in Oz so that we can simply get rid of the legislation, on both sides, that the Australians no longer want.

          • weka 1.2.1.1.1

            does that mean you support Australia kicking out people that were raised there, have lived there for many years and are now adults? Who don't have family and friends or a job in NZ but do in Oz?

            • Draco T Bastard 1.2.1.1.1.1

              does that mean you support Australia kicking out people that were raised there, have lived there for many years and are now adults?

              Yes. I do, as a matter of fact, support Australia making its own decisions.

              Those people, like all other immigrants, have the option of becoming Australians.

  2. Muttonbird 2

    Soper at it again. Wants the taxpayer to pay for quarantining rich kids coming home for Christmas.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12352060

    • ScottGN 2.1

      It’s taking some people an awfully long time to understand just how fundamentally covid has changed things eh?

      • Muttonbird 2.1.1

        Soper should be nodding appreciatively at everything this government does in protecting him, a person at very high risk of dying from Covid-19.

    • AB 2.2

      Soper seems to be letting personal circumstances get in the way of his judgment – "there will be no Christmas get-together for my family,"

      I guess we all do that. Generally it's a good idea to try and recognise it when it happens, and keep one's mouth shut to avoid saying something stupid. Most of us are fortunate enough not to have a completely undeserved platform in a major newspaper. So for us, silence is a necessity, rather than an option, under these circumstances.

  3. swordfish 3

  4. bwaghorn 4

    What a waste of time the new charge for incoming travelers.

    Why didnt labour even bother . ?

    Just makes them look silly.

    My preference would have been $200 to $ 500 a week for all btw .

    • weka 4.1

      "Why didnt labour even bother . ?"

      To disincentivise people from travelling unnecessarily. This is a good thing. It's not about taxing citizens who are overseas, it's about letting people have the freedom to travel but making them pay for it when it's unnecessary. Coming home is necessary.

      • gsays 4.1.1

        To be fair it is also a smart political move.

        To take one of the few opposition (and NZ1st) ideas that got traction, and enact it, takes the wind out of the Nat's sails.

        Doesn't hurt that it has The Greens bottom line as a criteria for payment.

        Win, win, win.

    • The Al1en 4.2

      I don't agree! Charging returning citizens and permanent residents who are coming back to live here is wrong.

      Charging those coming back short term, and those going on holiday despite knowing the quarantine is in place and costing taxpayers, seems to strike the right compromise between fairness and personal responsibility.

      • RedBaronCV 4.2.1

        Plenty of people are doing it hard- I'd actually ask for a token contribution from all- enough to cover the food maybe.

        And I'd be tougher and charge permanent residents if they were not ordinarily resident here at the lock down. They have other choices so why are we paying for possible bolthole and welfare tourists who lack commitment to NZ. I'd even charge – if it were possible but it's probably not – those who are using an NZ passport as a second or third passport and who haven't bothered to be ordinarily resident here.

        • greywarshark 4.2.1.1

          It will amount to big biccys if most of the Kiwis overseas decide to return. And isn't it nice that we've kept the place in good order while they were away. And Covid-free. It hasn't been easy but we decided to get behind the system after some long meetings and checking on the rest of the world and WHO. It just hasn't happened by accident. We'll do what we can for them. They in turn should do what they can for us.

          Now that it's a real place at the end of the rainbow for lucky Kiwis who have been able to do OE or have had good jobs overseas, I am sure they will be ready to put into the pot to support their country. And our welfare system should support them with a loan for the isolation charge, as well as helping them going forward.

    • Pat 4.3

      While not exactly as I would support its signalling is pretty well right although it does open the gov up to criticism especially on the projected savings but then no regime (that was workable) was ever going to raise more than a token amount of the costs of the system.

      A compromise that has more positives than negatives.

  5. ScottGN 5

    Was that three National MP’s valedictories today? Only about 12 to go.

  6. ScottGN 6

    Question Time today. First question TLoTO to the PM. Should be compulsory viewing for all those idiots who thought that Collins would wipe the floor with Ardern. She just isn’t at the same grade. Collins is halfway through the six QTs she has available before the House rises. She’s been very ordinary so far.
    https://ondemand.parliament.nz/parliament-tv-on-demand/

    • aom 6.1

      It's been the same at each question time so far Scott. Not only that, just about all the Cabinet responses have shown the opposition to be ill prepared and in some cases, downright inept.

  7. observer 7

    Very moving valedictory speech by Sarah Dowie. And kinder to many Labour MPs than to the media (even gave Lees-Galloway a shout out, good on her). I'd recommend watching it, especially to any deluded apologists for JLR.

  8. John 8

    The nat party bill boards with Judy and Gerry remind me of that English tv comedy show "Keeping up apperances"

    Hyacinth Bucket and her brow beaten but ever loyal husband. All that's missing is the Orovida white pearls.

  9. newsense 9

    This seems like significant, if slow, work:

    Housing density development rights written into law

    Interesting to see what other work is being done around safe family recreation areas and building governance bodies to make these things genuinely attractive to low and middle income families.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 hours ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Kaipara Moana restoration takes next step
    A Memorandum of Understanding has been signed today at Waihāua Marae between the Crown, local iwi and councils to protect, restore and enhance the mauri of Kaipara Moana in Northland. Environment Minister David Parker signed the document on behalf of the Crown along with representatives from Ngā Maunga Whakahī, Ngāti ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • New Zealand and Uruguay unite on reducing livestock production emissions
    Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor and Uruguayan Minister of Livestock, Agriculture and Fisheries Carlos María Uriarte have welcomed the launch of a three-year project that will underpin sustainable livestock production in Uruguay, Argentina, and Costa Rica.  The project called ‘Innovation for pasture management’ is led by Uruguay’s National Institute of Agricultural ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • 3100 jobs created through marae upgrades
    Hundreds of marae throughout the country will be upgraded through investments from the Provincial Growth Fund’s refocused post COVID-19 funding to create jobs and put money into the pockets of local tradespeople and businesses, Regional Economic Development Minister Shane Jones and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta have announced. “A total ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Health volunteers recognised in annual awards
    Health Minister Chris Hipkins has announced 9 teams and 14 individuals are the recipients of this year’s Minister of Health Volunteer Awards.  “The health volunteer awards celebrate and recognise the thousands of dedicated health sector volunteers who give many hours of their time to help other New Zealanders,” Mr Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Community COVID-19 Fund supports Pacific recovery
    The Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio says a total of 264 groups and individuals have successfully applied for the Pacific Aotearoa Community COVID-19 Recovery Fund, that will support Pacific communities drive their own COVID-19 recovery strategies, initiatives, and actions. “I am keen to see this Fund support Pacific ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago