Daily Review 03/06/2015 #CampbellLives

Written By: - Date published: 7:00 pm, June 3rd, 2015 - 39 comments
Categories: open mike - Tags:

Slightly redesigned in support of #CampbellLives.

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standarnistas the opportunity to review events of the day.  The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other.

39 comments on “Daily Review 03/06/2015 #CampbellLives”

  1. weka 1

    It’s #CampbellLives 🙂

  2. weka 2

    RNZ’s what you need to know page on the Dunedin floods. People being evacuated, including a rest home, power cuts, roads closed, slips, more rain on the way.

    http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/regional/275321/otago-what-you-need-to-know

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/69063192/flooding-wreaks-havoc-in-dunedin

    This is climate change in action, and what we need to get used to. More adverse weather more often.

    • mickysavage 2.1

      Yep even 3news linked the event directly to climate change.

      • weka 2.1.1

        wow, that’s great.

        Shaw was asking Key questions in the house yesterday on CC, and put out a press release saying that by the government’s own figures NZ can afford the 40% reduction target.

        “John Key says a 40 percent emissions reduction would cost households $1800, but what he’s hiding is that the same analysis shows that real gross national disposable income will actually grow by 2.3 percent each year – that’s higher than wages are growing at the moment!

        “It looks like the Government sought economic advice to back up its narrow ideological opinion that New Zealand can’t afford to reduce its emissions, and when the economists showed that was wrong the Government tried to hide their work until a groundswell of Official Information Act requests forced them to release it.

        “The Green Party supports the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment’s call today for an ambitious climate action plan that embraces the economic benefits of forestry, clean transport, and renewable energy, which are all excluded from the Government’s economic modelling.

        https://www.greens.org.nz/news/press-releases/key-proved-wrong-cost-climate-action

        • Heather Grimwood 2.1.1.1

          Labour’s 2013 manifesto also embodies the need for cross-party group ( for want of better word)to manage Climate Change. The need is NOW.

    • adam 2.2

      The response seems slow. The DCC not really acting in the best interests of the ratepayers again? Or they truly broke after that stadium debacle?

      • weka 2.2.1

        What have they been slow on?

        The rest home evacuation appeared to not have anywhere for some of the residents to go.

        • Colonial Rawshark 2.2.1.1

          No one knows where to tune in for emergency relief information; I suspect scores of houses are now flooded or almost there and many more do not have services – power cuts are getting more widespread.

          Who do people turn to? Where do they go?

          DCC advised you should look to your neighbours for help – but your neighbours place is just as likely to be going under the water!!!

          • weka 2.2.1.1.1

            Back in the day you listened to local radio, are they not coordinating with CD, police and DCC?

            Local churches are probably active as well.

            There’s calls on Twitter and I assume FB for people to help with sandbagging in Sth Dndn and for 4WDs to help evacuate people. Haven’t looked at the DCC website but they’re tweeting.

            Edit, DCC website looks pretty well organised.

            • Colonial Rawshark 2.2.1.1.1.1

              Fuck me that’s wholly inadequate, there need to be a dozen teams wading through some of the worst hit streets knocking on each set of doors with the ability to ferry people away for the night to some place warm or safe or provide resources in situ. A mate of mine has already run one rescue mission tonight to help someone and their kids; what about all the elderly and infirm householders in South Dunedin? Shitloads of people in this part of town are socially isolated to begin with and have no one to call.

              • weka

                afaik the DCC have been active all day and night as well as police and everyone else. I agree that communications are a bit confused but the main channels seem to be working. Have you been listening to the radio? What have they been saying?

                Have you been out helping? There’s still sandbagging and transport crews working.

                • Colonial Rawshark

                  I took a drive through South Dunedin earlier tonight to try and get to a friend to see how they were and it was utterly impossible. Had to turn back. I saw one fire appliance down one small street. Other than that, all you are talking about is stuff in the ether; I didn’t see any other physical presence of help. As I said, door knocking teams and support logistics.

                  • weka

                    You’ve obviously missed what’s going on.

                    • Colonial Rawshark

                      Remind me weka, was it you or was it me who was on the ground driving through streets two feet and more deep with water? But I guess those in the rear echelons always think they know better.

                    • weka

                      Do you think the people online are lying then? Because you seem to be saying that because you didn’t see anyone that nothing was being done. Other people on th ground disagree with that.

                      I have no idea if the response has been adequate but I’m not sure who you think should be going door to door if not yourself or the people already out there working. You seem to be saying that their efforts are meaningless. That is bizarre. Good night.

              • weka

                @gunny_nz: St. Patricks Scout Hall (Cnr Victoria Rd & John Wilson Drive) will be open as shelter from 11.45 #dunedin #flooding Stretchers provided.

                People can call the police if they need help urgently.

            • Pasupial 2.2.1.1.1.2

              I’ve been following this mainly through the ODT:

              http://www.odt.co.nz/news/dunedin/344568/dunedin-hit-flooding

              The Otago Regional Counsel are more involved with floodwater planning than the DCC. When I made a submission to them recently regarding their long term infrastructure plan, the seemed more focused in keeping rates low than planning for climate change effects.

              • weka

                You all good Pasupial?

                • Kiwiri

                  From a few weather forecast websites,
                  the heavy rain will continue till 2am or 3am before weakening.

                • Pasupial

                  High and dry , Weka. But when you have “once in a century” rainfall every couple of years (May 2013 and today), then you really start to wonder about the assumptions that the city’s infrastructure planners are using.

      • Paul Campbell 2.2.2

        They are truely broke after the stadium debacle, and yet somehow managed to find another 2$m for professional cricket this week – go figure. The city is faced with ~$500m in sewer work over the next 20 years – replacing 100+year old infrastructure. We have that much debt for for profit sports we should be charging them at least as much as the debt costs to use the place

    • maui 2.3

      Welcome to World War III.

  3. mickysavage 3

    What a day, Key saying continuously that Labour did blah blah blah in 2007 and threatening to release it. I think he should. The standard limitation period expired in 2013 before the payment was made …

    And Gower salivating about Labour’s review. The document appears to be a generally sensible collection of ideas and needs to be considered further. Gower’s behaviour was a bit extreme tho …

    And McCully was sent overseas to solve Cyprus’s problems. I wonder when the plane tickets were purchased.

    And Collins creating a story about some Parliamentary doors. Given what has happened over the past decade Labour’s preference for security, which the Government has decided on, is totally appropriate. IMHO Collins and her friends should be prevented from going into Labour’s area for bleedingly obvious reasons.

  4. Ovid 4

    I hope everybody else in Dunedin is keeping dry and safe. I encountered some surface flooding in NEV on the bus ride home from work. South D has it much harder – my sister’s family in St Kilda can’t flush their toilet at the moment.

    Monitor road conditions in the morning and remember, safety first if you think you need to go to work or take the kids to school.

    • Gangnam Style 4.1

      I’m in South D, yep no toilet, house surrounded by water, evacuated the kids earlier, the streets are rivers, 2-4 ft high, still have my power, internet & a roaring fire, so cannot complain. Some houses around the corner havn’t been so lucky, flooded. & saw some sandbags floating past the house! Cars underwater, going to look interesting tomorrow morning (I’ll be checking the house every few hours until daylight.)

  5. Clemgeopin 5

    TV ratings from throng from the last day of Campbell Live (Friday to today)

    TV Ratings :

    (6:00pm – 7:00pm)

    Fri 29 May 2015 One News: 685,730
    Mon 1June 2015 One News: 793,870
    Tue, 2 June 2015 One News :781,950

    Fri 29 May 2015 3 News: 271,780
    Mon 1 June 2015 3 News: 304,160
    Tue 2 June 2015 3 News: 205,010
    ——————————————————————————–

    (7:00 pm to 7:30 pm)

    Fri 29 May 2015 TV1 Seven Sharp : 411,580
    Mon 1 June 2015 TV1, Seven Sharp : 600,040
    Tue, 2 June 2015 TV1, Seven Sharp : 533,630

    Fri 29 May 2015 TV3 Campbell Live : 484,850
    Mon 1 June 2015 TV3 Road Cops : 212,010
    Tue, 2 June 2015 TV3, Road Cops : 211,400

    ——————————————————————————–

    TV3 Management are highly paid, idiotic, prejudiced, clueless RW Nut jobs with lots of money and not much brains!

  6. adam 6

    The West Coast is finding out about the miners future today, and over the next few days.

    This drawing out – if men and women are out of work, seems quite sick to me, and unduly cruel.

    For a state owned enterprise, I guess they are no more than a reflection of their masters. So if the Tories can come up with any way to make working people’s lives hell – I guess they will.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Swiss tax agreement tightens net
    Opportunities to dodge tax are shrinking with the completion of a new tax agreement with Switzerland, Revenue Minister Stuart Nash announced today. Mr Nash and the Swiss Ambassador David Vogelsanger have today signed documents to update the double tax agreement (DTA). The previous DTA was signed in 1980. “Double tax ...
    3 weeks ago