Daily Review 05/02/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, February 5th, 2019 - 37 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

37 comments on “Daily Review 05/02/2019”

  1. alwyn 1

    Reporter Rob Stock, on Stuff, has clearly been drinking the Kool Aid.
    In the wake of yesterday evenings release of the Australian Royal Commission on the bank’s report he has penned a doom and gloom article entitled
    “Waves of bank fear wash across Tasman after Royal Commission report”.
    Well what actually happened in the first day of trading of the shares after the release of the report last night?
    ANZ. Up 6.5%
    CBA. Up 4.5%
    NAB. Up 3.9%
    WBC. Up 7.1%
    Wave of fear my foot. The market is pleased, and probably surprised at the mildness of the report and the actions recommended. Why does that reporter have to go off at the mouth regarding something he appears to know nothing about.
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/110383058/waves-of-bank-fear-wash-across-tasman-after-royal-commission-report
    This Fairfax idiot is clearly one of those who will write anything to get a headline grabbing story. No wonder they are despised.

  2. SPC 2

    Pocahontas has sought to strike a death blow to Trump with calls for a wealth tax.

    It’s bound to result in Trump being forced to reduce the asset value of his Trump brand to reduce tax liability, that or blow out the corporate debt to reduce net asset value.

    • alwyn 2.1

      Who do you mean by Pocahontas? I assume it is Warren.
      A Senator calling for a wealth Tax is unlikely to scare Trump to much. She would have to get such a bill passed in both the House and the Senate and, if she managed to do this while Trump was President, she would have to persuade 2/3 of each house to override his veto.
      Somehow I can’t see it happening, however much it might appeal to her supporters.

  3. millsy 3

    How do you put YouTube videos on here? Do you just past the link or embed code in?

  4. Ad 4

    Good to see US Federal investigators indicting the entire Presidential Inaugural Committee.

    Getting closer.

  5. CHCOff 5

    NZ demand & supply lobbying:

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/110387312/council-grant-helped-toyota-nz-convince-its-masters-to-stay-in-city

    This needs to be a more automatic systemic part of the democratic ‘representative’ process, to replace the rorting out of the system, for sustainable long term governance & leadership in upholding trad. NZ commonwealth society standards & associated culture.

    NZ1st!

    • Ad 5.1

      Why?

      good result.

      • CHCOff 5.1.1

        NZ demand & supply lobbying is a untapped source of lobbying compared to ‘rorting’ systemically in the representative system.

        The above is a good but comparatively non systemic example of it to a particular circumstance.

  6. Pat 6

    “That is the thing that first opened my eyes to the change. When I learned the astonishing fact that more than half of the carbon we have emitted into the atmosphere from burning fossil fuels was emitted in the past 25 years, that really shocked me. This means we have burned more fossil fuels since the UN established the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) than in all of the centuries before – so we have done more damage knowingly than we ever managed in ignorance. That is a horrifying fact. It also means we are engineering our own devastation practically in real time. How much will depend on how we act, how we behave, how we respond.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/feb/03/david-wallace-wells-on-climate-people-should-be-scared-im-scared

    The article caused polarised opinion…the book likely to equally, but will either make any difference?

  7. CHCOff 7

    Burn a cordon around a fire (like Nelson one), it has no where to go – a firewall.

    • Cinny 7.1

      Doesn’t work all of the time…. those fire balls can leap 100’s of metres.

      Firebreaks are common through the forestry blocks, fantastic for dirt biking, but when a fire is raging, unfortunately a fire break won’t always stop it. But it is good prevention.

      Bugger burning a cordon at the moment, fire level is extreme, it’s tinder dry here, we’ve had light winds most days and no decent rain for well over a month or more.

      Was wondering what was up with the sky on the way back from the river today, thinking of those out Wakefield way, may they control the fire or at least keep it contained to Pigeon Valley, but honestly…. there’s massive forestry blocks where it is…..the sky is very dark over that way at present.

      • marty mars 7.1.1

        Yep – looks rough over near wakefield. Hope it is under control soon and that the wind dies off.

        • Cinny 7.1.1.1

          Fingers crossed, and everything else.

        • greywarshark 7.1.1.2

          Supposed to be a little rain from about 5am and the wind is dropping now – acc to metservice when I last looked – to about ave 16 kmh and then in night to 7 kmh about. Lighter winds tomorrow I think. So hopeful.

          That’s why i don’t want too much overseas collaboration. Let the big countries with bigger budgets help themselves. We don’t want a WW2 scenario with our people overseas and not enough here to protect us.

        • Prickles 7.1.1.3

          Just went outside to see if I could see the flames. Sure can – right along the ridge over a much bigger distance than was discernible when it was light.
          Helicopters have headed back to base for the night so just those on the ground there now.
          Stay safe everyone.

      • CHCOff 7.1.2

        ‘Doesn’t work all of the time…. those fire balls can leap 100’s of metres.’

        But it can stop the advance of the full weight of it, which lightens the load on actual fire fighting needed even with fireballs surely Cinny.

    • Exkiwiforces 7.2

      If you get a crown fire in type of forest fire, then fire breaks are next to useless and if those pines start exploding which they can do. Then it’s major decision time to withdraw and prepare your stop lines/ fire breaks further back, while hoping your airbone assets can slow the fire with a change in wind and temperature.

  8. Sabine 8

    seems like that tax cut is not really working out

  9. greywarshark 9

    Waitangi Day starts….now!! So when it gets up I will transfer this. It’s an idea for a green business we could get going in NZ and make money from perhaps. even if we could just come out with costs and wages and admin covered – good.
    Got this from Stuart Munro supplied link to new yorker article.
    https://www.newyorker.com/business/currency/how-to-plant-a-tree-in-the-desert

    Maybe more interesting than Ruys’s invention is the way he has worked himself into and around the bureaucratic complexities of the issue. The cheapness of the product and the ease of planting helped him to leapfrog over old-school N.G.O.s and establish direct relationships with villages.

    Olaf Tchongrack, an administrator with the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, told me that his people in the field were impressed precisely because of the cocoon’s simplicity: “It’s actually an ancient technique. What’s innovative is they’ve found a way to industrialize it and keep costs low.” Its success has gotten the attention of governments, the U.N., and private investors.

    At the moment, the company isn’t able to fill, or even respond to, all the requests it is getting for the cocoons….

    Ruys is part of a generation of Europeans who believe that tackling climate change has to be commercialized if it is to succeed. And, as dire as the ecological threats are, he finds the nature-restoration field to be wide open. The big aid agencies, he said, are receptive to new ideas in ways they never were before, and so are communities in need of reforestation. “I see this as a very doable technological challenge,” he said. “And I see a generation that sees it as a no-brainer, that is ready to buy a product called ‘fix this planet.’ ”

Leave a Comment

Show Tags

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Largest Police workforce in NZ history
    ...
    1 day ago
  • Making sure multinationals pay their fair share
    New Zealand is to consult on the design of changes to tax rules which currently allow multinational companies in the digital services field to do business here without paying income tax. Finance Minister Grant Robertson and Revenue Minister Stuart Nash ...
    4 days ago
  • Fewer victims of crime during 2018
    New data shows a significant drop in the number of people who were victims of crime in the past year. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the number of victimisations recorded by Police during 2018 fell by 2.7 per cent. “This ...
    5 days ago
  • Hearing victims/survivors of crime
    A new survey is allowing victims/survivors of crime to be heard, in their own words, about how our broken criminal justice system can be fixed, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    1 week ago
  • Joint effort on organised crime in the Pacific
    New Zealand Police are to work more closely with their counterparts from Australia, Tonga and Fiji in a multinational effort to tackle organised crime. Police Minister Stuart Nash says an agreement signed today in Sydney by the New Zealand Commissioner ...
    1 week ago
  • Next phase in fisheries management reform
    Next phase in fisheries management reform The next phase of reform of the fisheries management system has been launched with a call for public input into new rules for the commercial industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash has released a ...
    3 weeks ago