Daily Review 06/06/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:38 pm, June 6th, 2017 - 26 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

26 comments on “Daily Review 06/06/2017”

  1. weka 1

    Is ‘flipping the bird’ an American expression?

  2. joe90 2

    Fake news, with consequences.

    ..

    Last month, President Trump visited Saudi Arabia and his administration announced that he had concluded a $110 billion arms deal with the kingdom. Only problem is that there is no deal. It’s fake news.

    […]

    You will know the Trump deal is real when Israel begins to ask for a package to keep the Israeli Defense Forces’ qualitative edge preserved. What is coming soon is a billion-dollars deal for more munitions for the war in Yemen. The Royal Saudi Air Force needs more munitions to continue the air bombardment of the Arab world’s poorest country.

    https://www.brookings.edu/blog/markaz/2017/06/05/the-110-billion-arms-deal-to-saudi-arabia-is-fake-news/

  3. garibaldi 3

    Pinot Gris goes with a dystopian nightmare. It’s the wine you have when you don’t want a real wine. A wine that says nothing and is going nowhere.

  4. Anne 4

    What the hell?

    http://i.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/93378987/why-were-police-taking-photos-of-a-peaceful-lawful-protest-in-wellington

    Protester and climate change expert Professor Ralph Chapman said the police actions were odd, unnecessary and out of step with the democratic nature of New Zealanders.

    I suppose the next step will be to open files on Climate Scientists and Meteorologists for the dissemination of rumours designed to create unnecessary concern and fear among the populace?

    • Carolyn_nth 4.1

      Police are always out with their cameras at NZ protests. They are very blatant. I find it creepy. Been on protests in Aussie and the UK, and never seen the blatant, constant camera surveillance of protests there as in NZ.

      • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1

        Sounds like pure harassment to me. Basically, the police seem to be trying to scare people in such a way as to stop them from protesting.

        • Stuart Munro 4.1.1.1

          This is what the FSB (successor to the KGB) does. So much for our democratic freedoms.

    • Molly 4.2

      Police photographers are an expected presence at protests. Seems unobservant of the professor not to have noticed them before.

      • Anne 4.2.1

        Maybe in the past they’ve been more discreet about it. We were well aware of their cameras in the 70s and 80s during the Springbok Tour and anti nuclear protests but there were louts who used to turn up to those events with the express purpose of perpetrating violence. Mind you, the police were perpetrating violence too – especially in 1981.

        But this is something quite different and a little bit sinister.

        • Mrs Brillo 4.2.1.1

          Future protests should ensure that a camera operator of their own films the police throughout. That could bear fruit.

  5. gsays 5

    Hello standardistas,
    I have a question about employment law.
    I understand that if you have a part ttime contract, and work 40+ hours a week, for 5 weeks, you are considered a full time worker.

    Does this apply during the first 90 days of employment?

  6. Well worth a read for ALL who are an ally

    So I’m at the UN at the moment, and I wanna say this:

    If you are white, and want to be an ally – then please consider that possibly the most powerful act you can make as an allly is to NOT do something.

    Like… NOT take up a spot on a panel for Asia-Pacific women.

    Check your own sense of entitlement. You don’t HAVE to inject yourself into the space. If you think your presence allows for “balance” then stop fooling yourself. Your presence is the default. It saturates your own, as well as our, existence. You get every other space, so occupying a space defined for us, even alongside us, only perpetuates imbalance. We will only ever START to get NEAR balance when you stop occupying our spaces and make way for us to FILL spaces with our bodies, our faces, our realities and our experiences and solutions.

    https://thenonplasticmaori.wordpress.com/2017/06/06/the-power-of-stepping-back/

  7. JC 7

    Now for some Guts…

    “Law student Sarah Thomson has launched a judicial review of the New Zealand Government’s completely inadequate greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets.

    Sarah Thomson and her lawyers now have a firm date for the hearing of her judicial review: It will be at the High Court, 2 Molesworth Street, Wellington, from 26-28 June, start time 10am.

    Sarah is encouraging people to attend the hearing to show their support for the need for action on climate change. Do contribute to the important national conversation on climate change in any ways that you can.

    Sarah explains her case and why she’s taking it: “….

    http://coalaction.org.nz/news/stand-sarah-climate-high-court-wellington-26-28-june

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    3 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    4 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    4 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago