Daily Review 08/05/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:33 pm, May 8th, 2018 - 37 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

37 comments on “Daily Review 08/05/2018”

  1. Ed 1

    Is Ryan Bridges the next Mike Hosking?

    Bigoted
    Entitled
    Ignorant
    Bullying

    Ticks the boxes.

  2. Ed 2

    If you have a spare 25 minutes this evening, watch this interview with John PIlger and you’ll learn what is really happening behind the corporate lame stream media headlines on Syria, Salisbury, Yemen and the Korean peninsula.

    John Pilger is a great journalist.

    • ianmac 2.1

      Watched it yesterday. Compelling and ominous. If what Pilger says is true then everything coming from the “Great ” Powers is suspect. What sort of world are we living in? Who would we trust? Glum!

    • Siobhan 2.2

      Excellent observations from Pilger…i wonder if our journalists blush when they watch these interviews? Or do they just consider anything on RT to be “Russian Propaganda”

  3. Ad 3

    Tomorrow President Trump will announce whether he is going to continue with the nuclear non-proliferation agreement with Iran. If he cuts it loose, and Iran is then completely unconstrained in the region, quite a few cards fall Iran’s way.

    Through the control that Iran-backed Hizbollah now have in Lebanon following the elections on the weekend, Iran’s influence consolidates right on Israel’s border.

    Iran has already consolidated power next door with its sustained support for the Syrian dictator Bashar Al-Assad in Damascus.

    The last part of that is the Iraqi parliamentary elections coming up this weekend on May 12th. If they get sufficient influence in the Iraqi Parliament, they will be able to form a continuous land bridge from Iran to Iraq to Syria to Lebanon, right to the border of Israel.

    The United States releasing them from major international constraint through the cutting of the non-proliferation treaty truly smoothes that pathway.

    The Iranians will continue to play for time until they are no longer convinced that any strike on Israel will lead to a war they will lose.

    When the Iranians have finally consolidated power in Syria, Lebanon and in Iraq, when they have a strong presence on the border with Israel, and when they have precision-guided missiles in place — then they will be ready to defeat Israel.

    • Draco T Bastard 3.1

      Sounds like a whole lot of speculation on your part.

      • Ad 3.1.1

        If you want to dispute Iranian influence for a fair old while into Lebanon’s Hizbollah, into Assad’s Syria, and into Iraq, go right ahead.

        The speculation bit is for the next 10 hours, when Trump announces which way he is going. Then all you have to do is wait five days for the Iraqi election.

        Won’t take us long.

      • Anne 3.1.2

        The only reason Trump wants to abandon the non proliferation agreement is because Obama set it up. Whatever Obama did, Trump tears down.

        Beyond pitiful.

    • Stunned mullet 3.2

      “The Iranians will continue to play for time until they are no longer convinced that any strike on Israel will lead to a war they will lose.”

      The iranians are not daft enough to launch an assault on israel, they know what the consequences would be .

      • Ad 3.2.1

        When the Iranians get their nuclear weapon, they will not give a damn.

        When they get their missile systems from Russia – just as Turkey has done in the last week – they will be setting them up right in israel’s border.

        Let’s see how this falls tomorrow morning.

    • Cinny 3.3

      6am our time, at a guess, Al Jazeera will do a live stream, they usually do.

    • Pat 3.4

      thats a lawful lot of whens…and of course Israel will simply sit back and await when.

    • Exkiwiforces 3.5

      I think you would find that Trump may have a get out of jail card to use as the news was saying tonight by banning any US companies from dealing with Iran and therefore he can still keep the treaty intact. But with Trump anything can happen atm and my guess he will ditch it.

      I agree with your assumptions and that of old mop top Boris which could lead to an all out Arms Race within the MER which see a few nations attempt to get some nukes. If the worst case happens then the MER could get very untidy very fast and especially after the Israeli parliament approved that the PM and his or her MoD can go to war with cabinets approval.

      There is already a enough hot air and hot heads in the MER without these two dills adding their two shekels worth.

      http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-08/donald-trump-iran-deal-or-no-deal-what-will-happen/9737394

    • Gosman 3.6

      The US will not be cutting a non-proliferation treaty.

  4. Rosemary McDonald 4

    $700 million buys back the Pacific…(hopefully,says Winston)

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/103738729/budget-2018-1b-for-foreign-affairs-massive-boost-to-pacific-aid-and-a-new-embassy

    Real estate in Stockholm must be doing well with $40 million for capital expenditure for reopening our embassy in Sweden.

    • Exkiwiforces 4.1

      It’s about bloody time we start focus on our backyard aka Sth Pacific and our front yard aka Antarctic followed by SEA and finally the Commonwealth Nations outside of the 3 rings mention.

      I didn’t know our embassy in Sweden had closed! And who were the muppets that closed it? Apart from the Uk, Ireland, France, Germany and Dutch embassies. I consider Sweden an important embassy to have in Europe.

      • Rosemary McDonald 4.1.1

        “Who were the muppets that closed it?” Who do you think???

        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Zealand%E2%80%93Sweden_relations

        I had no idea we imported so much from Sweden…a pity we failed to import some of their more progressive social policies.

        You are right about the Pacific…small wonder so many Pacific nations sought support elsewhere.

        I fear it may be a little late to turn the tide though.

        • Exkiwiforces 4.1.1.1

          Yeah I might’ve guessed it was them, lol

          Yes, we do import a lot of from Sweden and both from Norway and Finland. All of it is good quality stuff to boot.

          I think memory that Sweden even had put an offer in for it Gippen Multi- Role Combat Jet when the F-16 deal went south and it was almost better than what Yanks has offered.

          I don’t think we are late, but have just arrived in time unlike the Aussies who have frozen their aid again until 2022 bloody dickheads. I notice that the inshore Patrol Boats (note these Boats were meant to be sold off by the No Mates Party under the last DWP) will spending more time up in the Islands now and hopefully one of the OPV’s as well if the third one gets the go head by the current Government. The MoD, MFAT and NZAid should look at basing them on a permanent basis at the Pacific Boat Dockyard near Nadi Airport? As there is a Pacific Fishies and SAR centre at Nadi as well.

          Probably should look at basing some Aid stores and develop some sort of training school at Nadi as well. Covering Engineering, Policing, HADR, Health, Education and training up the Civil/ Public Service etc.

          • dukeofurl 4.1.1.1.1

            I think thats how the Navy will get the funding for sending patrol boats for tours around pacific islands- from the Aid/ foreign affairs budget

            • Exkiwiforces 4.1.1.1.1.1

              I think you are on the money there, but I would like to see a slightly bigger NZDF/ NZAid and MFAT presence in the South Pacific in the longer term. Typical that No Mates National Party is playing a short term game where this is going to have longer term effects to regional by this new governments decision.

          • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1.1.2

            I notice that the inshore Patrol Boats (note these Boats were meant to be sold off by the No Mates Party under the last DWP) will spending more time up in the Islands now and hopefully one of the OPV’s as well if the third one gets the go head by the current Government.

            Inshore Patrol Vessel

            Following long-running Navy retention problems in the wake of NZDF “civilianisation”, two of the four vessels have been tied up, inactive, in a ‘Reduced Activity Period’ for long periods since 2013. It was announced on 14 April 2016 that some of the vessels might be sold.

            National: Doing everything they can to fuck things up.

            Yeah, I don’t think civilians should be in the operation/administration of our defence forces and that those who are in them should be bloody well paid. It is the latter that had National upset as it meant that they had difficulty getting a surplus while cutting taxes for the rich.

            To carry out Green Party policy in regards to the Pacific we actually need, IMO, quite a few more Navy ships with longer cruising ranges. In other words, probably more OPVs but I’d prefer to see more frigates or even destroyers.

            • Exkiwiforces 4.1.1.1.2.1

              The Green Defence Policy to me is a wee bit airy fairy for my liking and doesn’t reflect what can happen on ground real time. In other words a bit too much one dimensional which leaves the NZDF without much “Utility of Force” when and if it goes pear shaped which lead to dead Kiwi Service personal with either destroyed equipment that wasn’t fit for purpose.

              The NZDF must have “Utility of Force” across all 3 Services and its why I believe that the RNZN should be structured around the Royal Danish Navy in particular the Absalon Class Ships and it’s up Gun bigger brother which is built using the same hull as the Absalon Class. For this to work perfectly all the StanFlex modules will have to brought as well to get any true value out of the ships.

              https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Absalon-class_support_ship
              https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iver_Huitfeldt-class_frigate

              • Draco T Bastard

                The Green Defence Policy to me is a wee bit airy fairy for my liking and doesn’t reflect what can happen on ground real time.

                True and I’m a Greep Party member. Seems to be more based upon ignorance and ideology than practical realities.

                Still, this push out into the pacific may actually be because of that push from the Greens. Hopefully, the Greens will learn something from it either way.

                …the Absalon Class Ships and it’s up Gun bigger brother which is built using the same hull as the Absalon Class. For this to work perfectly all the StanFlex modules will have to brought as well to get any true value out of the ships.

                I tend to the opinion that we should be building our own ships (we do have the capability) but we could certainly learn lessons from the Danish design.

                • Exkiwiforces

                  Thank god, I’m not the only one thinks the Greens Defence is base on ignorance ideology rather practical realities.

                  I always thought the that NZDF’s deployment to East Timor in 99 would’ve woken the Greens up, but somehow it didn’t as that was a Chapter 6 1/2 Mission and probably seen the true cost at maintaining Defence Force for Peacekeeping/ PeaceEnforcement missions

                  The Danish Navy does provide a useful case study to look at as they roughly operate at the same latitude (plus 50deg Nth to the Med and the Indian Ocean) as the RNZN but in reverse plus 50deg Sth half to Chile, Nth Asia out to the Indian Ocean.

                  Even the Irish Navy is starting to sail to the Med and across to the States in their new Corvettes and are looking at purchasing a landing type Ship to support its Army on Peacekeeping operations and HADR under the EU Flag.

                  Both nations are a seen by left as what NZDF should be structure like.

                  I know what your views are about building RNZN ships in NZ and I do agree with your views , but my big concern is always after building them what happens to 50 to 60% of the work force as dockyard won’t that many to maintain the ships and is there value for money at building them in NZ as in Australia building the ships in Oz adds something from about 25 to 50% of the total cost compared if they were built overseas. Those figures are base on what we payed for the 2 ANZAC’s and we had to Germany we would’ve got 3 possibly 4 ANZAC’s for the two we got from Oz?

                  • Draco T Bastard

                    but my big concern is always after building them what happens to 50 to 60% of the work force

                    We have a viable ship building industry in NZ already. The government should be able to plan with that industry so as to prevent any undue hardship. And then there’s the fact that many would be able to change industries. Somebody who can weld hulls can also weld pretty much anything else.

                    My own idea would be to have a government shipyard that builds ship at rate of replacement. As a new one is produced an old one is retired. This would also have a large R&D section. Anything more than that would be contracted out to the private sector as needed.

                    Wouldn’t be able to eliminate all disruptions to the workforce but could minimise it. That said, actual number of employees should be dropping as automation takes over such as automated welding.

                    and is there value for money at building them in NZ as in Australia building the ships in Oz adds something from about 25 to 50% of the total cost compared if they were built overseas.

                    To me there is as building them here develops skills, pushes R&D and increases national security as building them here from our own resources means that we’re not completely dependent upon imports for our defence. All of those would be worth any added monetary cost. Physically, having them built elsewhere costs the same amount and then has added costs of transporting them here.

  5. Venezia 5

    Interesting to read Peter Dutton really playing up the story of illegal migrants attempting to head to Australia & NZ, stopped by Malaysian authorities and emphasising it was a bigger boat & more complex operation than previously. The implication was that if the Malaysians had not stopped it, the illegal migrants would have reached NZ and then Australia through the back door.
    He squarely laid the blame on the shoulders of Jacinda. Our media have played along, with the usual suspects making a big deal out of it.

    Jacinda has obviously been advised to change her tune when talking about asylum seekers, and yesterday was pushed to state that if they turned up she would destroy the boats.
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12046767

    I heard this one questioning viewpoint on RNZ news, broadcast once only.
    http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/356765/tanker-smuggling-migrants-never-would-have-made-it-to-nz
    So this is the second time the Aussies have seen fit to overplay the likelihood of boats heading to NZ. Clearly Jacindas offer to resettle those on Manus still rattles some in the Turnbull cabinet, although they still want the offer to remain on the table as a backup.

    • mac1 5.1

      How much of this is for internal Australian consumption, fear of ‘the other’ being a potent force in politics especially for the unscrupulous Right.

    • Exkiwiforces 5.2

      It’s looks like the real deal to me and from of heard from the grapevine. As the boat was disguised to look like one of the many small tramp tankers that you see moving around SEA every day and most of the SIEV’s that head to Nth Australia are the usual wooden fishing boats not a full on steel built tramp tanker like this one.

      They are going to have crack at reaching NZ and there is a number of ways at doing it, but crossing the ditch is not for faint hearted in a small tramp ship such is this one in any season regardless of the sea state.

      • Draco T Bastard 5.2.1

        The Endeavour sailed around the world. I suspect modern (ha) tramp tankers could do so as well.

        So, yeah, there’s going to be more attempts at reaching NZ and I don’t think that what the PM said has changed that in any way. Once Australia became closed other places would be looked at and NZ is a desirable place in its own right.

        Many people won’t like this but NZ will have to close its borders as Australia have done sooner or later.

      • McFlock 5.2.2

        Especially as some of that rust looks load-bearing, lol

        Sooner or later someone will manage to get here and the tories and aussies will lose their collective shit in “I told you so”s, but the fact is that to get here they need to not just sail here, but sail here undetected through Australia’s surveillance net and the waters of some extremely tense nations.

        If they make it to our SAR zone, good on them, I say, and fast track their immigration requests. We could do with those go-getters here.

        • Exkiwiforces 5.2.2.1

          I think they will have a crack coming around the top PNG (as it’s easily to pay off the locals) as coming through the Top End of Oz they stick out like a third nut on a Greyhound especially around the Thursday Island Group as every man and his dog uses a 4-5m tinny to travel to PNG etc and it’s heavily watch Borderforce/ Coastwatch Aircraft and by ADF assets in the area.

          • McFlock 5.2.2.1.1

            yeah, and a decent spread of islands to put into if their leaks become unmanagable.

            Still risky AF in a thing like that, though.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    2 weeks ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    3 weeks ago