Daily review 08/07/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, July 8th, 2019 - 32 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

32 comments on “Daily review 08/07/2019”

  1. WeTheBleeple 1

    Well done Shane Jones for backing these projects. Biodigestors; and silica extraction from geothermal.

    Good ideas with useful technology. The Biodigestor folk might want to use excess heat for the adjacent greenhouse if they've not thought of it already.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/environment/114081692/pgf-boost-for-game-changing-energy-initiatives

    • Dennis Frank 1.1

      Yeah they have:  "He said discussions began several years ago after Ecostock approached T&G about the potential of an anaerobic digestion plant, which had already been commercially proven overseas.  At that time, T&G were investigating alternative solutions to their heating and CO2 needs in their glasshouses.

      “Having had a relationship with Ecostock for nearly five years, that saw Ecostock collect T&G’s existing food waste from their Auckland site and turn it into animal feed, we were excited and keen to explore this opportunity further.”

      "Andrew says this seemed the perfect solution – to take 1000 tonnes of organic waste from our tomatoes, turn it into renewable, biogas energy, power up our glasshouses with natural heat and enhance the growth of our tomatoes with CO2.

      "This project also aligns with T&G’s philosophy around Kaitiakitanga, which for T&G means treating our land, people, produce, resources and community with the greatest respect and care, as guardians of their future."  http://tandg.global/waste-to-energy-plant-announced-by-minister-shane-jones/

    • One Two 2.1

      'Groups Say'

       

      https://mronline.org/2019/06/18/behind-the-syrian-network-for-human-rights-how-an-opposition-front-group-became-western-medias-go-to-monitor/

       


      On SNHR’s board of directors sits Burhan Ghalioun, the longtime leader of the Western-and Gulf-backed Syrian National Council, which was founded as an opposition government-in-exile

      The Syrian Network for Human Rights has a reputation for warping numbers to support its ulterior regime change agenda, while relentlessly downplaying the crimes of Salafi-jihadist militias, including ISIS and al-Qaeda’s local affiliate, Jabhat al-Nusra.

      What’s more, the group’s leadership has openly clamored for Western military intervention, most recently after it issued a dubious report in May on alleged Syrian government chemical attacks that turned out to be sourced to an al-Qaeda affiliate comprised entirely of foreign fighters.

      In a report on its website, SNHR acknowledges that it is “funded by states,” though it does not disclose which ones those are.

      Given the ideological composition of its leadership and their basing in Qatar, it is easy to deduce that those government funders are the same ones that have bankrolled an Islamist insurgency in Syria to the tune of several billion dollars, costing many thousands of lives and helping to fuel a refugee crisis of titanic proportions.

      • joe90 2.1.1

        The fascist twerp can't make up his fucking mind.

        I was forced to conclude that unless I was prepared to spend endless stores of energy jousting with Assad apologists, I was merely providing them cover by keeping my name and reputation associated with Al Akhbar. More importantly, I decided that if I kept quiet any longer, I would be betraying my principles and those of the people who have encouraged and inspired me over the years. There is simply no excuse for me to remain involved for another day with such a morally compromised outlet. And so, instead of preparing to throw up in my own mouth each time I click on one of the pro-regime op-eds appearing with regularity on Al Akhbar English’s home page, I am washing my hands of the whole operation.

        […]

        In the end, Assad will be remembered as an authoritarian tyrant whose regime represented little more than the interests of a rich neoliberal business class and a fascistic security apparatus. Those who have thrown their intellectual weight behind his campaign of brutality have cast the sincerity of their commitment to popular struggle and anti-imperial resistance into serious doubt. By denying the Syrian people the right to revolution while supporting the Palestinian struggle, they are no less hypocritical than the Zionists who cynically celebrate the Syrian uprising while seeking to crush any iteration of Palestinian resistance. In my opinion, the right to resist tyranny is indivisible and universal. It can be denied to no one.

        https://web.archive.org/web/20180629022100/http://maxblumenthal.com/2012/06/the-right-to-resist-is-universal-a-farewell-to-al-akhbar-and-assads-apologists/

        • One Two 2.1.1.1

          Doesn't take long to find contradictions on the net, does it Joe…

          It hardly counters your original link to SNHR, or whomever/whatever those groups are…

          Would you say that ISIS are more or less fascist than the dastardly Russians …

          Where do the mighty western allies fit on the spectrum.. IYO?

          Or is it subjective dependent on the degree of unabashed prejudice by the interpreter ?

          • joe90 2.1.1.1.1

            Contradiction!

            volte-face

            /vɒltˈfas,vɒltˈfɑːs/

            noun

            noun: volte-face; plural noun: volte-faces

            1. 1.

              an act of turning round so as to face in the opposite direction.

            2. 2.

              an abrupt and complete reversal of attitude, opinion, or position.

              "a remarkable volte-face on taxes"

            Now fuck off.

    • mauī 2.2

      No doubt you would blame the carnage of the current Libyan civil war on anti war lefties too after the pro-war left bought "democracy to the country" in 2011.

      • joe90 2.2.1

        You're eager to polish your progressive anti-imperialist cred yet you're totally okay with Russian imperialists assisting Assad in the butchering of his own people. 

         Does western imperialism make it's victims more deader than Russian imperialism?

        • Brigid 2.2.1.1

          Assad butchering his own people? Again? What with? A butchers knife.

          Beats me why so many Syrians are returning if they're just being butchered, personally, by Assad.

          At night? In their beds? Lets have the gory details.

           

          • joe90 2.2.1.1.1

            Gory details?

            You and your ilk mirror the vile apologists for Saudis doing exactly the same thing in Yemen.

            • Psycho Milt 2.2.1.1.1.1

              The Saudis are US allies, so their murders are actual murders, unlike the merely alleged crimes of Russia's allies that totally don't exist because you haven't provided the gory details of how Assad personally executed anyone. 

            • mauī 2.2.1.1.1.2

              Havent seen you post much on Yemen to be fair, you would have to be watching RT to get some decent coverage for a start cheeky

        • mauī 2.2.1.2

          The White Helmets, Teresa May, IS and an awful lot of uninformed Repubs would agree with you.

    • Brigid 2.3

      "On Friday, 15 people, including children, were killed in the village of Mhambil in western Idlib province after Syrian army helicopters dropped barrel bombs on a civilian quarter, the Civil Defence group and witnesses said."

      "Last Thursday an aerial strike on Kafr Nabl hospital made it the 30th facility to be bombed during the campaign, leaving hundreds of thousands with no medical access, according to aid groups."

      Kafr Nabl hospital has been bombed again? Did they miss the other 45 times the hospital has supposed to have been hit?

      For sure I can tell them groups aint gonna lie.

      The Guardian's employing comedians these days. Hilarious.

       

  2. marty mars 4

    Don't worry be woke. 

    Over the past year I’ve changed my mind. I find myself defending the word. The more woke is used as a slur, joke or shorthand to mock the hypersensitivity of the left, the more we need it. We need it to keep debating subjects in shutdown. We need it to remind ourselves that debates shut down in the first place because they don’t start on an equal footing: one person’s intellectual exploration is another’s marginalised life. We need it to understand the subtle difference between being an ally and speaking on behalf of others. We need it to shut up and try listening. And we need it to fight oppression, injustice and racism.

    https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2019/mar/04/chitra-ramaswamy-the-more-woke-is-used-as-a-joke-and-slur-the-more-we-need-it

  3. joe90 5

    They're determined to kill everything.

    • WeTheBleeple 5.1

      Dismantling the place. It's almost like he hates the American people; which is an escalation from indifference.

  4. marty mars 6

    dropkick of the week – sad he let so many down

    Hansen said, having been a policeman he had seen a lot of domestic violence and that it was not just restricted to men assaulting women. Women also assaulted men, he said. “It’s not a gender thing.”

    Ang Jury, chief executive of the New Zealand Women’s Refuge, told the Guardian that all statistics pointed to domestic violence in the country being a “gendered phenomenon”.

    “This is unlikely to change unless we are reading from the same song book. This is something that needs societal change.”

    “[Steve Hansen] is the most influential man in New Zealand Rugby and if he holds these outmoded and very out of date attitudes based on his experience of 20 years ago as a policeman, then actually they need to change from the top.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/jul/08/all-blacks-coach-criticised-for-saying-domestic-violence-not-a-gender-thing

    • joe90 6.1

       

      FFS!

      It truly is a mystery to me Marty why, in any discussion about male violence against women, would anyone think it's a good idea to bring up the old it's not a gender thing nonsense.

    • Well, it certainly explains a lot about why cops were so shit at dealing with domestic violence back then.  

      This bit was interesting:

      However, he was discharged without conviction after a judge ruled that it would have a detrimental effect on his rugby career.

      Also "not a gender thing" in Hansen's mind, no doubt.

  5. A 7

    Hundreds?!!

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/114058023/doc-catches-hundreds-of-illegal-walking-and-tour-guides-operating-in-fiordland

    Hundreds of tour guides have been acting without permission from the Department of Conservation and hosting guided tours to tourists throughout Fiordland.

    More than 200 individuals were caught operating guiding operations in the area without permission last summer.

  6. In a study of the Toltec, Mayan, Aztec and Inca political and religious systems, and what preceded the downfall of each , – up to and including the coming of the Spanish…

    We find this in Wikipedia regarding the Toltecs, considered by many to be the cornerstone culture of those south american cultures …

    Government

    Governors of the various Toltec regions were taken from the ranks of the nobles.[citation needed] They took part in the councils convened on the death of each king to determine the fitness of candidates hoping to be named heir. This was a usual Mesoamerican pattern in the historical era of the Toltec, one adopted by the Aztec and later cultures.[citation needed] These same aristocrats would also have been instrumental in the collection of tribute from the vassal or allied cities and regions. Such tribute was a hallmark of the Toltec Empire, providing increased economic stability. The tribute received from other groups was distributed as part of the wealth of the Toltec upper classes or provided to those in need in the lower ranks of society. Some tribute, however, was set aside as a resource to be utilized in the vast Toltec trade enterprises.

    Now, … my point is this :

    Does not the above seem suspiciously not unlike what we experience today ,- ( without the overt Theocracy , yet still with the 'born to rule' motives  ) , – but with the same sort of 'elites' selling off of state owned assets , and the wealth to be hoarded among those elites , the obliteration of state regulations, and the creation of foreign banking monopolies holding not the government, but the peoplemin a debt cycle , – and the trickle  down theory of the neo liberals?

    Not to mention what was and is now,… the TTPA under another name?

    In effect, a ruling class that has, – after the 60 year long aberration of Keynesianism ( in their minds ) , – emerged once again and who will , through technology , … enslave the majority in a global , one world government economic system that uses that same technology to reach into and monitor the day to day activity's of normal citizens by way of iris recognition, silicon chip implants , print ID and the like?

    Food for thought for any who would deny this world isn't being manipulated .

    The Genesis 6 Conspiracy with Gary Wayne – YouTube



Leave a Comment

Use WYSIWYG comments on next comment (inactive new feature)

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    4 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    5 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    5 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago