Daily Review 19/06/2017

Written By: - Date published: 6:09 pm, June 19th, 2017 - 32 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

32 comments on “Daily Review 19/06/2017”

  1. Ed 1

    Pye’s latest. The words apply to New Zealand just as much as the UK.

    “What a shithole. Welcome to Britain. We spend millions papering over poverty…… If that isn’t a metaphor for what this government’s ideology has done for our country, I don’t know what is.”

  2. joe90 2

    Does Cédric Villani’s victory mean Peter Dunne and his ties are off the hook?.

    CEDRIC VILLANI, MATHEMATICIAN

    With his shoulder-length hair, colorful ascot ties and spider brooches, Cedric Villani, a prize-winning mathematician is among the most recognizable faces on the campaign trail.

    In 2010 he won the maths equivalent to the Nobel prize, the Fields Medal, for what the award called “proofs of nonlinear Landau damping and convergence to equilibrium of the Boltzmann equation”.

    His more digestible work ‘Birth of a Theorem: a mathematical adventure’, is a journey through his unproductive lulls and late-night breakthroughs on the path to discovery. He entitled an online lecture ‘Why is maths so sexy’.

    Villani won 47.46 percent in the first round, falling just short of the threshold to win his constituency without a run-off. In the second round, he trounced his conservative opponent with nearly 70 percent of the vote.

    http://www.reuters.com/article/us-france-election-macron-lawmakers-fact-idUSKBN19910S

  3. weka 3

    Peters positioning himself as a Corbyn? 🙄 (plus, lol being trolled by the Gormless Fool).

    https://twitter.com/winstonpeters/status/876612358184894464

    • BM 3.1

      The man is a fucking tool.

      Fuck Labour for jacking up the seat of Northland for the old windbag.

      The old arse hole had pretty much faded into oblivion but instead of letting the old prick die those short sighted fuckwits in Labour decide to throw him a life rope because they were so desperate to get some sort of win over John Key.

      Dickheads.

      • weka 3.1.1

        What did Labour do in Northland?

      • Draco T Bastard 3.1.2

        Fuck Labour for jacking up the seat of Northland for the old windbag.

        Wasn’t labour that did that but National as they ignored Northland yet again.

        • BM 3.1.2.1

          Bullshit.

          Labour basically stood aside and said vote, Peters, turning the whole thing into a two horse race.

          The media then ran with it promoting Peters at every opportunity while trashing the National candidate.

          Look at the by-election results
          http://www.elections.org.nz/news-media/northland-election-official-results

          and compare them to the election in 2014

          http://archive.electionresults.govt.nz/electionresults_2014/electorate-35.html

          Labour was and still are idiots, they have the tactical nous of General Haig.

          • McFlock 3.1.2.1.1

            Really? Is that why National lost 7,000 votes in Northland in six months? And the nat still got more in the byelection than Labour did in 2014.

            Maybe the cockies just found NZ1 more palatable than Labour.

            • In Vino 3.1.2.1.1.1

              Really BM, you are starting to sound worse than ‘Angry Andy’. Try to remember that the normal right wing troll is a happy man with his glass half full, not half empty, and that things are getting better all the time; failed targets were only aspirational, and that we still are on the cusp of something special which will herald a brighter future. It worries me to hear you starting to sound depressed..

          • mickysavage 3.1.2.1.2

            It’s all Labour’s fault!

            You do remember that National was responsible for Peters entering politics?

          • Ad 3.1.2.1.3

            It was a secret plan to ensure they had the third coalition partner that they needed.

            Labour are more cunning

          • weka 3.1.2.1.4

            2014 GE/party vote, 35,707 votes
            Nat 17,412
            Lab 5913
            NZF 4546

            2014 GE/seat vote, 35,707 votes
            Nat 18269
            Lab 8969
            NZF 0

            2015 BE/seat vote, 29,590 votes
            Nat 11,648
            Lab 1389
            NZF 16,089

            Variables are the difference in number of voters, that NZF didn’t stand a candidate in 2014, and that in 2015 they stood a very high profile already in parliament MP. You can probably add in the GP votes to those variables if you really want to get into it.

          • Draco T Bastard 3.1.2.1.5

            The media then ran with it promoting Peters at every opportunity while trashing the National candidate.

            IIRC, it was the National candidate that trashed himself along with help from the rest of the National caucus.

            The outright bribe that National promised probably didn’t help.

            BTW, how are those bridges going?
            Weren’t they all supposed to be built in a few months?

            • James 3.1.2.1.5.1

              “The outright bribe that National promised probably didn’t help.”

              Absolutely on the nail here.

      • crashcart 3.1.3

        Remind me what NACT have been doing in Epsom for years now.

      • Andre 3.1.4

        But the change it made was before the by-election the Nats could pass legislation with any one of Poodle Dunne, Rimmer, or the Maori Party. After they needed Poodle Dunne and Rimmer, or the Maori Party. That’s an important difference and I’m confident it made a change to how the Nats governed. So from Labour’s perspective it would have been worth it even if it causes a headache now.

      • Wainwright 3.1.5

        Mike Sabin inherited a 10,000 vote majority from John Carter, until he resigned for reasons no one’s allowed to ask questions about. This might be the weakest troll argument you’ve ever made, B. Movement.

      • Sabine 3.1.6

        so National failing to retain the seat, or put up someone who could have won the seat instead of the dude they set up to fail, is Labours fault.

        right.

        sure.

        National can’t fail, National can only be failed. Sure.

    • AB 3.2

      Yeah – but Gormless’s points are mostly of the trivial (the coffee was terrible then) variety. And the ones that aren’t trivial (life expectancy) would have happened anyway and may even have improved more without the neoliberal revolution.
      So good on Winston for using the right language, even if I’m not convinced he really understands the implications of what he’s saying.
      And double good on Winston for annoying BM to the point of incoherence (above)!

      • weka 3.2.1

        I think it’s the most opportunistic thing I’ve heard Peters say.

        agreed, BM’s reaction was surprising and funny.

      • swordfish 3.2.2

        So good on Winston for using the right language, even if I’m not convinced he really understands the implications of what he’s saying.

        It’s not the first time Winnie’s taken a swipe at Neoliberalism – he’s well aware that the swing to NZF over the last couple of Elections has disproportionately come courtesy of former Labour voters … and he’s no doubt keen on that trend continuing.

  4. Ad 4

    Wouch!
    Moody’s just cut the credit rating on Australia’s four biggest banks:

    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-06-19/australian-big-four-banks-ratings-cut-by-moody-s-on-housing-risk

    Reasons?

    “…surging home prices, rising household debt and sluggish wage growth pose a threat to the lenders.”

    About 85% of our lending comes from those four banks.
    With credit rating goes the price of money, and hence the price of money in the form of interest.

    Hold on to your hats folks.

  5. Ed 5

    79 reported dead now at Grenfell.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Labour Ministers of the Crown announced
    Today caucus has elected the 21 Labour Ministers of the Crown who will serve in the new government’s executive, says Labour Leader Jacinda Ardern. “Across the board these members have the experience, expertise and drive I want in our team ...
    2 days ago
  • Agreement with New Zealand First to support a Labour-led Government
    Labour is pleased to have successfully concluded negotiations with New Zealand First as a critical step to forming a Labour-led progressive Government, says Labour Leader Jacinda Ardern. “I thank the New Zealand First Party and Leader Winston Peters for agreeing ...
    3 days ago
  • Bird of the Year – Loving Aotearoa
    I love that I live in a country where there is a competition for ‘Bird of the Year’. Right now, around New Zealand, there are teams and campaigns promoting the attributes of our native birds; from the famous kākāpo creeping ...
    GreensBy James Shaw
    5 days ago
  • A Post Election Update
    It’s the start of another week and I wanted to give you a quick update on what’s happening in relation to our efforts to form a new Government for New Zealand. We’ve been working hard to ensure that the issues ...
    GreensBy James Shaw
    6 days ago
  • Labour welcomes final election results
    Today’s final election count has strengthened the mandate for change, and for negotiations to continue in earnest, says Leader of the Opposition Jacinda Ardern. “We congratulate Angie Warren-Clark on becoming Labour’s 14th additional MP, which expands the Labour caucus to ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Lewis Moeau – he aituā, he aituā!
    Kua tau ngā pōkeao ki runga i te marae o Te Poho o Taharākau ki roto o Manutūkē, oti rā ki runga o Puketapu me Manawaru, ngā maunga tipua o te hautipua kua riro nei. E heke ana ngā roimata me ngā ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Statement on coalition negotiations
    “This morning I spoke with New Zealand First Leader, Winston Peters. We will look to hold a meeting between our respective teams later this week, while we wait for special votes to be counted. “Special votes remain an important part ...
    3 weeks ago