web analytics

Daily Review 21/09/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:33 pm, September 21st, 2017 - 155 comments
Categories: uncategorized - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

Graphic courtesy of the outstanding @nzsaysfun

155 comments on “Daily Review 21/09/2017 ”

  1. feijoa 2

    Can anyone tell me if there has been anything about Nationals position on State Asset sales? Seems very quiet on that front.
    I think they ruled it out last election, but not this one.

    I have a feeling if they get back in they will begin the process again oh joy, country being flogged off til nothings left.

    • Gristle 2.1

      Watch out for rest of electricity generation, Transpower, ACC, state housing.

    • weka 2.2

      They want to sell off Landcorp farms. And are busy rushing through some TPPA negotiations.

      • cleangreen 2.2.1

        Weka; – Kiwirail, & possibly more hospitals will sold or PPP private, & roads & Ports will go PPP of sold as Port of Napier is mooted now being set up.

        National have a long list of asset stipping to go forward with.

        To totally wreck all of us and our futures for generations.

        Postoffice, Kiwibank, Air NZ, Conservation Department land. Ect.

        • Wayne 2.2.1.1

          Do you you actually have any evidence for this, for instance like a statement from any National Party MP whatsoever.

          Or is it just your own fantasy?

          In the real world in 2011 National actively campaigned on partial sales of the power generators. That was all they sold. Nothing else.

          This time it is some Landcorp farms. Nothing else has been mentioned. Therefore none of your imaginings will happen.

          • weka 2.2.1.1.1

            Can you guarantee that Wayne? Because whatever else is going on, I think it’s reasonable for NZers to not trust that National won’t sell assets.

          • Ed 2.2.1.1.2

            Another Nat happy to place his interests above the vulnerable.

            Wayne, happy to accept poisoned rivers, increasing poverty and inequality, more mental health issues, worsening health and education services…

            as long as he is alright and gets his flash holidays and flash car.

          • Draco T Bastard 2.2.1.1.5

            IIRC, Blinglish said that he would get rid of Kiwibank eventually.

          • McFlock 2.2.1.1.6

            did they campaign on selling off state houses?

          • Stuart Munro 2.2.1.1.7

            The budget for rebuilding Dunedin hospital is zero. They depended on privatizing it.

          • cleangreen 2.2.1.1.8

            Go back to sleep Wayne,

            Anyone who has been here since 2008 has the same mistrust of this bloody lying Government with all the backroom slimy selloffs and you have not seen them?

            Where have you been?

            Every month we have seen new plans emerge by this mob planning to shift Government agencies out of Government owned buildings and into rented buildings for a start!!!!! It has been this Governments role to do thid repeatedly time & time again.

            Remember Napier Port going into the press two months ago and our local Labour MP Stuart Nash put signs up around Napier protesting the intention made by the port to sell the port?

            The councils are now under supervision of government and a birdie advised they were pressured to sell.

            If you are the failed National Candidate from 2014 who ran for Napier who was called Wayne, then you know what I am referring to.

            Better that you explain why your National Party have sold so many assets since 2008 that they didn’t run on at during an election time, like the sale of state houses and Landcorp land?

            Like I said, we have seen National lie so many timees and still are, then slip in some policy to sell or PPP some public asset!!!!!!

            The funnction of using PPP of any asset like roads, hospitals or Government buildings are being used frequently by National for selling off assets.

            I remember even our Tradie Petone Institute of Technology was floged off during the very first National government term 20008-11 you probably was not here then.

            Then of course there was the forced Government sale of Hilllside Rail engineering Kiwirail workshops as well in Dunedin and everyone really got riled about that engineering marvel we all lost. Now you knowthat Joyce had control over kiwirail administration because of management of their failing budget and still are in Government oversight.

            There were so many public assets sites that this Government had quietly linned up to flog off without a care in the world chappie.

          • KJT 2.2.1.1.9

            Like “Read my lips, no more taxes”. Eh Wayne.

            National’s history of lying and bullshit is obvious.

            Not to mention Joyce throwing a dead cat into the election debate, and proving he can’t do arithmetic, at the same time. Aren’t you ashamed of them? Or, is lying and cheating your way into power, fine with you!

  2. Hongi Ika 3

    Evidently only 5-6% of the people in the country read the party’s policies so I take it most people are making their decisions on who to vote for by listening to MSM or friends and family ?

    • weka 4.1

      There’s a post up about this now.

      Anger and compassion

    • Muttonbird 4.2

      Barfly. If you need help please book in to see a doctor. I agree that this incident highlights that something is not right in NZ and that many people are falling through the cracks that the National Party is creating. Please don’t be one of them!

      If you are merely thinking out loud and not serious then I say ‘chin up’, there’s even more work to be done if these clowns get to take NZ further down the wrong path.

    • james 4.3

      If you ever do feel like this – please see somebody, talk to a friend or family.

      Its not a joking matter.

      • Barfly 4.3.1

        No James it’s not a joking matter

        I survived one suicide attempt – my first breakdown

        I experienced 2 more breakdowns with 1-2 years clinical depression each time

        My most likely cause of death is at my own hand after falling foul of some random WINZ harassment. I think this is more likely than the heart disease, diabetes and alcoholism that I also get to “enjoy”.

        Election years are a bastard to me in 2011 and 2014 it was National’s shoot the beneficiary season. This year it’s just so depressing that greed and what I see as “evil” appear likely to triumph.

        Thank you for your consideration

        Edit: Muttonbird – My doctor is good probably saved my life on occasion without knowing

        • Sans Cle 4.3.1.1

          Kia Kaha Barfly. You are brave sharing your experience on here – thank you. I hope you take some comfort that there are a lot of us despairing with this current political environment, and you are not alone in that. I hope your own personal circumstances improve.

        • AsleepWhileWalking 4.3.1.2

          Winz are disproportionately responsible for a lot of unnecessary stress and I suspect suicides.

          Hang in there BF!

        • Patricia Bremner 4.3.1.3

          Barfly we have an alcoholic son. So we can feel your pain. Kia kaha as each day is a battle. Sadly other illnesses go with this. ( Irritable bowel.) Wish I could give you a hug.
          Reward yourself with simple things when you manage. Spend time with pets.

          Keep talking to us. We are always here. I suffer with aches and often wake 1or 2 hours before meds are due, so I come online and read others’ views.

          We are more likely to win than they believe. Two days to go and over 800000 have voted. Keep the faith. 3rd time lucky.

        • cleangreen 4.3.1.4

          Barfly;
          Try the herb St Johns wart barfly its cheaply available at most health food shops or supermarkets.
          My Daughter had deep depression after childbirth as a solo mum and the regular
          Meds they put her on drove her into almost a suicide space but she stop taking the anti-deppressant Prozac and went on St Johns and now is free of depression and is back as my daughter we all love dearly.
          Good luck.

        • james 4.3.1.5

          Barfly, I’m Genuinely sorry to hear that.

        • JC 4.3.1.6

          Hang in there Man! They’re Light at the end of the tunnel!

          Glad, at least you have a good DOC, They’re hard to come by!

          ( Sounds like wank) But:

          Where to get help:

          Need to Talk? Free call or text 1737 any time to speak to a trained counsellor, for any reason.

          Lifeline: 0800 543 354

          Suicide Crisis Helpline: 0508 828 865 / 0508 TAUTOKO (24/7). This is a service for people who may be thinking about suicide, or those who are concerned about family or friends.

          Depression Helpline: 0800 111 757 (24/7)

          Samaritans: 0800 726 666 (24/7)

          Rural Support Trust Helpline: 0800 787 254

          Healthline: 0800 611 116

          If it is an emergency and you feel like you or someone else is at risk, call 111.

        • JC 4.3.1.7

          How you doing man?

          Here’s a track for You. Sure you know it!

          I do.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfe1AnyFPD8

          Catch up tomorrow K

        • Patricia 4.3.1.8

          Barfly – do you have any family or friends who love and support you ? If you need to go to WINZ always take a knowledgable support person / advocate – WINZ don’t like witnesses.

    • Exkiwiforces 4.4

      Barfly,

      I’ve been the rabbit hole 3 times in the last twelve mths (one overseas on deployment, other on 26 Jan of this and the other before I went on cse) since I’ve done stabilisation case for my PTSD a mths ago. The run down the rabbit hole is not as far as it use to be, but with a good treatment team, good support network around you and there will a light at the end of tunnel for you. Yes you will hit a few bumps along way as it’s long slow journey back to recovery.

      As for me atm I go med broad in early December and if things go to plan a full medical discharge in Jun/Jul with a pension of some sort. I have to go back for the stabilisation cse again before I can do the close treatment cse as I unloaded at the assessment phase for the close treatment cse. In the near future my partner and I ( well she wants to there) back to East Timor to finally close that chapter of my life, but South Sudan and the Gan will have to wait a while. I take every day as it’s comes, I have a good day and bad days.

      I’m going to in NZ in late Nov this yr, so if you live around the Plamy Nth/ Feilding area and if you want to have chat? I’ll make the time to come to you. Never never be afraid to ask for help.

      • Eco maori 4.4.1

        Sorry I did Not realize the topic/ kappa when I put my post up Kia kaha Barfly I try to look for something positive in most situations and the positive here is the awesome support our fellow bloggers are giving you keep up the good work people and get ready for a sore face on Saturday nite

        • Exkiwiforces 4.4.1.1

          Yes, it’s good to see follow bloggers offering support to Barfly and it was the same a me a few mths ago here at the Standard despite my opinions on certain policies here at the Standard. But as we are all a bunch of lefties here, we don’t kick poor bugger down road, we extend our hand out to support our follow human regardless of gender, sexuality, race etc and get he or she back on a even keel so he or she can feel they are a part of society again.

          Being in caring society achieves far more when we work together as team/ collective for the greater good than being a selfish individual who doesn’t give a toss about his or her follow human/ environment as long as I’m ok, or as we called it in the military going Jack on your mates and those type of people tend not to last long in the military.

          So roll on Saturday night and hope I don’t have a sore head on Sunday morning as I’ve my Bush Firefighting training on this weekend.

          PS, I voted last Friday while I was in Darwin.

  3. Eco maori 5

    We mite have to start growing rice with all this unseasonable rain.
    One of my idea”s to minimize nitrogen leaching from cows was if they could be encourage to walk like deer when urinating as this action would spread the urinal patch maybe twice the normal patch and the grass would be able to absorb more of the nitrates and leaching should be lowered maybe a device that gets cows to move I.E when a cow raises its tail that’s the trigger to have a device to encourage her to walk this would only work in theory on a flat farm and the device could train them while they are young.

    • Cinny 5.1

      Farmers should be able to grow weed crops as well as cows, cannabis loves loves loves nitrogen. There is a balance to be found there, some growers companion plant medicine crops next to nitrogen producing plants.

      Eco M, the kids went on a school trip yesterday, and they were fuming when they returned, they saw cows mucking around in the fords, no fencing or cocky in sight.

    • Eco maori 5.2

      When animals are in your care you learn to observe them they ain’t going to tell you when they are crook are they.

      • Cinny 5.2.1

        Animals are similar to babies when it comes to communication.
        However the cows should not have been in the stream coming off the mountain on the way to a pristine lake.

  4. mauī 6

    Paddy. Gower. has. started. speaking. in. one. word. sentences.

  5. ScottGN 7

    James? James? Are you there?

    • james 7.1

      Sorry – was just having a end of week wine with friends (having a long weekend).

      But here I am ScottGN. What did you want?

  6. Anne 8

    Reid Research Poll is similar to CB. Someone will link but in round figures:

    National 45%
    Labour 37%

    Greens 7%
    NZ First 7%.

    The lies win.

    Jacinda’s personal rating tracking downwards. Not enough aggression against a tidal wave of lies and deceit.

    Prediction: Winston… will… go… with… National.

    • Muttonbird 8.1

      Prediction: Winston… will… go… with… National.

      That will be a car-crash of a government.

      • mlpc 8.1.1

        And you really think Lab/Green/NZF wouldn’t be?

      • Hongi Ika 8.1.2

        Doubt NZF will go with National however if NZF do they will have Bill over a barrell ?

        • cleangreen 8.1.2.1

          Agreed with you Hongi Ika.

          Peope watch what winston said here and find the clues it is obvious it will be labour. http://www.radionz.co.nz/audio/player?audio_id=201858966

          I’ll bet on it.

        • Freddo 8.1.2.2

          In tonight’s Newshub poll 37% think NZF will go with Nats and 31% think NZF will go with Lab, but more interestingly to me, in the more detailed breakdown of that, 45% of NFZ supporters think NZF will go with Nats while only 35% think NZF will go with Lab. That doesn’t look promising for your thought that Winnie won’t go with the Nats. I think NZF has likely held onto more disaffected former Nats than it has held onto disaffected former Labourites. I think many of those moved away from NZF and went back to Labour once Jacinda became leader.

      • Anne 8.2.1

        Thanks Cinny. So, the Nats in round figures are 76%. That’s a difference of 9%.

        I received a phone call from the National Party yesterday. Think it was from Farrar’s Curia outfit reminding me to vote.

        Two hours ago I received a recorded call from Bill English telling me that the elderly (I don’t class myself as ‘elderly’ 😡 ) are better off under National. Another gross lie. Presume there are recorded calls going out on landlines nationwide.

    • BM 8.3

      What lies and cheating?

      Funny thing is Little could have probably worked a deal out between Labour/Greens and NZ First.

      Jacinda. not a chance.

      • james 8.3.1

        I dunno …. she use to run the socialist youth that had members from Lebanon, Palestine and Israel – so Labour / Greens / Winny should be a walk in the park

        [lprent: And the US, Israel, and any number of other obnoxious places. There was no point to that comment. You are just trying to start a flamewar. I’d suggest that you get very cautious if you want to carrying on commenting because my finger was on the very lengthy peace for moderators button. ]

        • BM 8.3.1.1

          Good point, also she’s probably had to deal with the odd drunken customer at that fish and chip shop she used to work at.

          I’ve changed my mind, Peters will be no match.

      • Eralc 8.3.2

        Jacinda could always do a captain’s call.

      • What lies and cheating?

        All the well documented ones by National.

        But, then, you already knew that so all you’re here to do is psychopathically defend them – as per ALL RWNJs.

    • james 8.4

      “Prediction: Winston… will… go… with… National.”

      I have been saying that was in the bag since forever ago – the price was JK leaving.

      Not enough stardust for Jacinda – or it wore off too quickly.

      I could be wrong with Winston – but he has always discussed with the largest party first and Labour are dropping back again – too far away from National to be credible.

      • JC 8.4.1

        Playing the safe ground eh.

        What were you saying about Predictions again ? .. And the links to Jacinda’s background?

        PS Still waiting for a reply from an earlier question to you today… Just look in the Reply box.

        But will elaborate here to save you disturbing All your friends over a wine …

        http://thewireless.co.nz/articles/narcissistic-men-are-more-likely-to-troll-on-facebook-study

        Or

        “It goes all the way to people who have a real clinical disorder called the Narcissistic Personality Disorder and that is marked by extreme forms of a desire for attention, grandiosity, lack of empathy, sense of entitlement, a willingness to exploit others and so often a sense of fragility, so that underneath the narcissism is quite an unstable sense of self or self-esteem, so the person is quite brittle and can be easily ashamed and that is when they begin to lash out in rage. There is the grandiosity on the surface, but there can be underneath an underlying fragility or vulnerability and a panic where they are really worth as much as they say.”

        http://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/sunday/audio/201815681/the-new-culture-of-narcissism

    • millsy 8.5

      NZF may be able to keep National from straying too far right. While ACT and the Maori Party are all pro private everything. Not all doom.and gloom

    • Bearded Git 8.6

      Winston is really pissed off about his pension overpayment details being leaked by National…and the health scare attack he believes National leaked last Friday….look forward to Prime Minister Jacinda, probably with the Greens shut out of the coalition.

      • james 8.6.1

        Thats whats makes Winston so much fun – who knows what he will do.

        Still – I doubt he will support a ‘leader’ in the mid to high 30’s

      • Anne 8.6.2

        Baubles trump everything BG. National have no moral principles. They are open to shady deals… if you come with us we”ll let you be PM for the second half and we’ll implement your policies… and we’ll build your bridges in the next 12 months and… a new railway line which we’ll name after you blah blah blah.

        • Bearded Git 8.6.2.1

          Jacinda has just as many baubles to offer, or simply agree to,

          It is a straight choice, and he hates the Nats.

    • Pat 8.7

      prediction:….the poll will not be reflected….it appears the youth vote may have finally mobilised
      http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/election/2017/09/decision-17-youthquake-arrives-in-new-zealand.html

      • Anne 8.7.1

        Nothing could give me more pleasure than to be proved wrong. 🙂

      • McFlock 8.7.2

        Interesting – if all the pollsters are using demographic weights to correct their sample bias, then all of those weights could be off significantly.

        Not opening the lindauer yet, but still…

        • Pat 8.7.2.1

          those weightings are almost certainly off given that a week ago youth registrations were 20 % down on last election and are now apparently 30 % up

          • AsleepWhileWalking 8.7.2.1.1

            That’s huge

            • Pat 8.7.2.1.1.1

              innit…and with such a late surge you would expect a comparable turnout….i.e. they havnt registered and forgotten, probably registered and voted at same time

              • feels surreal

                I’d been working on getting a colleague to vote for the past few months and today at lunchtime he let me drag him to CAB and we voted together – first time at 29. He heard Jacinda singing on Mai FM this morning and said he liked the sound of her and what she said, etc. He’d previously said he ‘went his own way’ and always brushed off my rants that politics wasn’t his place. It seemed to me that deep down he didn’t feel he had permission – until this morning. Anyway, thanks Mai FM. I now have a bit of hope back after last nights shitty poll.

          • Pat 8.7.2.1.2

            correction, 20,000 down a week ago (not 20%)

      • Cinny 8.7.3

        That should always happen…. and just has 😀 Thanks for the link Pat

        “Between writ day [August 23] and September 20, the number of people enrolled has increased by 62,169, which is a 39.2 percent increase on the same period in 2014, when the roll increased by 44,674.”

        Last day to enroll as you vote tomorrow, the start of the Spring Equinox, an auspicious day. Am going to vote then, went to early vote but it was closed, has been happening a bit around the nelson/tasman regions

        Voting only on Saturday no enrollments.

  7. Stuart Munro 9

    Bill’s rump government has finally established a parallel with the last days of the Diem government https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TglBTa32j_k
    A corrupt and ineffectual colonial regime propped up by foreign capitalists but hated by the people they oppress has reached the point where burning oneself alive is a more attractive option that enduring further misery and misgovernance.

    • james 9.1

      “but hated by the people they oppress has reached the point where burning oneself alive is a more attractive option that enduring further misery and misgovernance.”

      Its sick using that poor persons situation for a cheap political shot – but that says a lot about you.

      Funnily enough it seems that all those oppressed people still find it more attractive to support National than voting Labour.

      • Stuart Munro 9.1.1

        The sickness James, lies in trying to construct a defense of a government so bad its people are burning themselves to death.

        But go on – tell us how this is a ‘problem of success’ and leads to an even more aspirational society – you twisted piece of subhuman trash.

      • Ed 9.1.2

        James happy to accept poisoned rivers, increasing poverty and inequality, more mental health issues, worsening health and education services….
        as long as he is alright and gets his flash holidays and flash car.

      • Cinny 9.1.3

        Which oppressed people James? The working poor living in cars who can’t enrol to vote because they have no permanent address?

  8. Ed 10

    40 to 45 % of New Zealanders happy to accept poisoned rivers, increasing poverty and inequality, more mental health issues, worsening health and education services….
    as long as they’re alright and get their flash holidays and flash cars.

  9. Wheels of Misfortune

    Houston was built for cars. What happens when Harvey destroys 250,000 vehicles? Three weeks after Hurricane Harvey hit Texas with the worst rainfall event in U.S. history, many low-income residents are still stuck at home, unable to afford a replacement vehicle and get back to work.

    Prior to the hurricane, 94.4 percent of households in the Houston area owned cars, making it second only to Dallas in vehicle ownership. While people in the city center can commute by bus or bike, it’s much harder for residents in the city’s sprawling suburbs, living far from bus lines, to get into town without their own wheels.

    “I don’t have nothing to do,” one construction worker in northeast Houston told the Texas Tribune. “I don’t have work. I don’t have a car.”

    Car culture and sprawl carried to it’s inevitable end.

  10. millsy 12

    What Cindy needs to do now, is declare that would be open to ditching the water tax in return for Peters’ support.

  11. ianmac 13

    Yesterday an intelligent well educated man said, “It really shook me when I saw the huge full page ad in the press by the Taxpayers Union which shows how we are all going to pay for a change of Government.”
    If he was scared off what about all the others?

    The total for National claims that National will only cost $8.3 billion of new spending.
    The total for Labour was $20 billion.

    Something wrong there.

    I braved their web site and found this proviso near the bottom.
    Note: The Bribe-O-Meter does not include Budget 2017 announcements (for National) as they are seen as the baseline.

    To my mind this denies all the Budget 2017 “promises” that National made at that time.
    Under the Electoral act isn’t that misleading (lying) political advertising on behalf of the National Party via Farrar via the taxpayer Union?

    • Pete 13.1

      The ‘true oil’, no big reveal about a Cabinet Minister happened. In the end that’s all the difference could be. On the other hand the big reveal(s) about Peters could make a significant difference to the make-up in the end.

    • Hanswurst 13.2

      I despise the term “Bribe-O-Meter” and all its variants (Pork-O-Meter, etc.). The implication that any public spending constitutes a “bribe” or some sort of frivolity is simple-minded, neoliberal bullshit.

  12. newsense 14

    Labour or Greens? Would Michael Wood be transport minister or Julie Anne Genter? Swarbrick instead of Seymour. Mariana Davidson. Not sure about Shaw. Do wanna vote Labour, but how many NZF preferring cabinet members are there? Will we zombie walk into a odd TPPA? But Jacinda! Tell me internets. Genuinely unsure

    • weka 14.1

      There’s a zillion posts telling you to vote Green (or Labour) 😉

      The case for the Greens is this. One they’ve got more progressive policies e.g. on climate change they will do more, faster, and with better care for transforming NZ to a post-carbon economy. They really are the experts on this.

      It’s possible they could drop below 5% and be out of parliament. Which would be a tragedy in and of itself, but it also jeopardises Labour being able to form government.

      The more Greens there are the less influence NZF will have and the more likely it is that Labour will choose them as coalition partners over NZF.

      The Greens are packed with talent. This isn’t to say there aren’t good people in Labour, there are. But Labour are going to have a lot of MPs and they have different experience to the Greens. So a higher party vote for the Greens means we get more diversity of experience and in areas that we need (CC, ending poverty, cleaning up rivers).

      The Greens are very opposed to the TPPA. Labour is kind of, but will probably compromise on it.

      Julie Anne Genter should be transport minister. Shaw should be something important (CC I guess, or associate finance). Davidson’s influence on welfare seems crucial. For that to happen the Greens need more votes.

      🙂

      • Cinny 14.1.1

        + 100%

      • newsense 14.1.2

        what does compromise on the TPPA mean?
        seems like a take or leave it deal. With no backsies. and not one with a lot of benefits at that

        • weka 14.1.2.1

          They want to renegotiate a bunch of things. Or they did (there were five). I’m not that clear on what they intend now.

          This is about the Greens, but it has some info about Labour in it, and a bunch of discussion from Labour supporters and those that don’t trust Labour on this,

          Reasons to vote Green: the TPPA

  13. Ross 15

    Meanwhile National have received a free pass over their false and misleading advertising. Lawyer Steven Price isn’t happy.

    http://www.medialawjournal.co.nz/?p=682

    The clear message it sends is that political ads will always be treated as opinion, and that as long as a party has a fleck of a sliver of a shard of justification for its claims, these bodies will not call them out even if their ads are very seriously misleading and misinforming people about issues that are pivotal to the election.

    Oh well, looks like Labour has been given a green light to scare-monger at the next election.

    • Hanswurst 15.1

      Oh good God, no. The immediate prospect in terms of adverse consequences is that they produce negative ads against the Greens if the Left vote gets squeezed. The long-term prospect is that everybody ends up flinging poo left, right, up, down and round and round until even comparatively engaged and informed voters have no idea what any party might do. A better solution would be to raise the standards required in the broadcasting act and of candidates and parties in general.

  14. Eco maori 16

    Good poll Project

  15. greywarshark 18

    Man set himself on fire in front of Parliament. Every second report makes the point that it has been done only two days before the election. Pretty sad that someone doing a desperate act like that can only enter the news spectrum if there is some connection with the election. Ordinarily it would have been quite run-of-the-mill./sarc

    There is a report about the child’s mother being taken away written on a card.
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/97105434/Man-sets-himself-on-fire-outside-Parliament-in-Wellington

    People are desperate – my simple recipe for a better future is the promise and action that all will be done that helps with problems with kindness and practicality. It would make so much difference if 99% of actions were considered quickly to see if they were in line with those words and meanings.

  16. swordfish 19

    The final internal Lab UMR Poll leaked

    National 43%
    Labour 38%
    NZF 8%
    Green 7%
    TOP 2.7%

    https://thedailyblog.co.nz/2017/09/21/latest-umr-poll-national-43-labour-38-nzf-8-green-7-top-2-7/

    • Ed 19.1

      Bomber’s thought on the Reid Research poll.

      ‘The most terrifying part of the last poll before the election is that 45.8% of NZ’s voters support more homelessness, more poisoned rivers, more property speculation, less mental health funding, more experiments in education, no infrastructure investment, more NZers in prisons and 300000 kids in poverty in return for $20 extra a week and half a dozen more bloody roads!’

      • KJT 19.1.1

        Support a party that publically pretends they are going to do something about it, while in reality intending to make things worse.
        Lying is paying off, for National.

    • ianmac 19.2

      That looks OK Swordfish. Still an open door. But of course NZF. Can they agree to Lab+Green+ NZF.
      There appears to be early warnings that a downturn economy is is imminent.

    • Pat 19.3

      MoE?…am guessing around 3%

    • Bearded Git 19.4

      That 45-43 and Winston hating the Nats looks bloody good to me.

      My best cab sauv is on the bench and ready to toast our 3rd female PM.

    • swordfish 19.5

      National Latest Internal Poll

      Nat 43%
      Lab 39%
      NZF 6%
      Greens 6%

      Sources told Newsroom that National’s latest internal polling has it at 43 percent and Labour at 39 percent. NZ First and the Greens were both on six percent. But there were suggestions from those close to National that its figures had softened overnight

      https://www.newsroom.co.nz/2017/09/20/48879/election-2017-live-an-awkward-jet-fuel-crisis

      Still everything to play for – “softened” = Voters swinging back to Left ???

  17. Ed 20

    Im not religious myself, but I don’t see how Bill English can reconcile the social teachings of Jesus and the National Party’s policies on wealth, homelessness, poverty….

    He must get into some convolutions justifying the chasm between the two philosophies.

    • JC 20.1

      10 Bill ion Hail Mary’s

      • Whispering Kate 20.1.1

        What mystifies me is he has admitted opently to being a committed, practising Roman Catholic which means he attends Mass each week. As I know it you cannot receive the sacrament at Mass unless you have attended confession and confessed of your venal or mortal sins. How does he cope with going into the confessional knowing he is dirty and a liar – the deleting of his emails – leaning on the police over the investigation of his MP in Dipton, the backing up of Joyce’s big hole theory which was pure spin and lies and many other transgressions. He doesn’t do the church a service at all and I am surprised the church doesn’t actually come out more vocally over the poverty and disgraceful treatment of unwell fragile people.

        You can see why so many people turn away from their traditional religions and look at them in contempt.

    • joe90 20.2

      Take it away, Mr Hitchens.

      • adam 20.2.1

        It does feel like there is a war within Catholicism sometimes. Between those who accept Second Ecumenical Council of the Vatican, and those who reject it.

        http://vatican2voice.org/

        Those who reject it, generally are on the spectrum of Christofascism. And have natural allies in the far right church groups.

        In NZ that link up is most notable between the exclusive brethren and their relationship with bill english. Also the national party and fundamentalist churches like equippers, the life churches, city impact church, and other wealth theology focused churches who are mainly Pentecostal.

  18. swordfish 22

    Some talk today about ACT possibly creating 121 overhang but I would’ve thought Māori Party the more likely culprit

  19. swordfish 23

    Jeez Louise ! … Greens best not get too complacent … they’re by no means out of the woods yet. Usually over-stated by 1-4 percentage points in final polls

    Greens %
    Last 6 Polls (latest 1st)
    UMR 7
    RR 7.1
    CB 8
    CB 7
    RR 4.9
    RM 9

    • Pat 23.1

      greens have averaged something like 1.3 % below polling over MMP elections so safe enough…plus it appears youth vote up, which likely to favour their numbers
      p.s.
      (is that 1 to 4 or 1 point 4 in your post)

      • swordfish 23.1.1

        1 to 4

        Eg (higher end) Final Reid Research

        2014 14.4 (over-states by 3.7)

        2011 13.4 (over-states by 2.34)

        2008 9 (over-states by 2.28)

        RR 2017 … 7.1% = not quite as rosy as you might initially assume

    • Bearded Git 23.2

      Take out the rogue, add in some tactical voting, and all is well.

    • Cinny 23.3

      Greens gained a seat and nat’s lost a seat after the specials were counted last election

  20. swordfish 24

    Definitely don’t want NZF to fall below the 5% threshold (+ lose Northland). On the latest Colmar Brunton & Reid Research numbers (adjusting slightly for historic Final Poll vs Election Result differentials) that would give the Nats a big enough boost to see them winning a majority of seats and the ability to govern alone.

    The possibility of a Labour-led Government depends on NZF (& the Greens) staying above that 5% barrier. Fortunately, a 5% Colmar Brunton & 7% Reid Research final poll rating probably means 6-9% on Election Night for NZF (also taking into account the previous CB and the last RR from 10 days ago).

    Can’t quite bring myself to strategically Party-Vote for Winnie. But we better hope NZF make it. The declarations (on TS last night) of secret joy at the thought of Winnie’s electoral demise are possibly just a teensy-weensy bit self-indulgent for the Left ? Be bloody careful what you wish for.

    • Bearded Git 24.1

      Agreed Swordfish-can’t believe I’m saying this but I hope Winnie wins Northland.

      • NewsFlash 24.1.1

        I can’t see how he can win the seat again, last time he had Labour and Greens voting for him to “send them a message”, but those voters will be voting for their parties and candidates, he’ll need more than 5%

    • NZF falling below threshold benefits whichever bloc gets the highest number without NZF, as they will get even bigger.

      If you believe Nats are ahead of Labour, Greens, and the Māori Party taken together (or ahead of Labour + Greens and that the Māori Party are as fickle as Peters is) then and only then is NZF going under threshold and losing Northland a bad thing.

      • Antoine 24.2.1

        Matthew, any chance you could take a look at the Green Party manifesto thread? I have some questions over there and wondered if you could answer. Thanks! A.

      • swordfish 24.2.2

        You may have missed the bit where I said

        On the latest Colmar Brunton & Reid Research numbers (adjusting slightly for historic Final Poll vs Election Result differentials) that would give the Nats a big enough boost to see them winning a majority of seats and the ability to govern alone.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Tuvalu language revival and COVID-19
    Te Vaiaso o te Gana Tuvalu 2021 - Tuvalu Language Week moves online due to the uncertainty around COVID-19 said the Minister for Pacific Peoples Aupito William Sio.  “However it is a timely reminder of the power of embracing both traditional and new ways of doing things. It has been ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    9 hours ago
  • United Nations General Assembly: 76th General Debate Statement
    E ngā Mana, e ngā Reo, Rau Rangatira mā o tēnei Whare Nui o te Ao Prestigious people, Speakers of note, Chiefs one and all of this General Assembly Ngā mihi mahana ki o koutou katoa, mai i toku Whenua o Aotearoa Warm greetings to you all from my home ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • APEC 2021 Women and the Economy Forum prioritises women’s economic empowerment
    Minister for Women Jan Tinetti today chaired the virtual APEC 2021 Women and the Economy Forum, which is working to address outstanding issues for women and girls across the region as it recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic. The forum brought together Ministers and representatives from 21 economies to discuss gender ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Upper Hauraki to move to Alert Level 2
    Upper Hauraki will move to Alert Level 2 from 11:59pm tomorrow, 25 September, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. After positive cases were detected in the Upper Hauraki area on Sunday, extra Alert Level restrictions were put in place to immediately prevent any wider transmission of the virus.  “We’ve ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Report into Aotearoa New Zealand’s export controls system released
    Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta today welcomed the findings of an independent review into Aotearoa New Zealand’s export controls system, which regulates the export of goods to foreign militaries, police forces or paramilitaries. Produced by David Smol, a former Chief Executive of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • New District Court Judge appointed
    Attorney-General David Parker has announced the appointment of Brett Crowley of Wellington as a District Court Judge.  He is currently the Wellington Public Defender and started his career as a staff solicitor working in a range of litigation including criminal defence work. He went to the bar in 1999 specialising ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Mental health stocktake shows strong progress
    The first report of the Government’s Implementation Unit has found strong progress has been made since the Mental Health and Addictions Package was announced in 2019. “The report notes most initiatives funded in the Budget 2019 package are on track to deliver what is expected by 2023/24,” Grant Robertson said. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Working together to grow the West Coast
    A project that has been crucial in allowing businesses to continue during the tourism downturn is among a number of initiatives to receive a boost from the Government’s Jobs For Nature programme, Conservation Minister Kiri Allan says. Sustaining South Westland is an extension of an initiative set up last year ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Next steps to improve safety in wake of Whakaari White Island tragedy
    The Government is moving to improve safety in light of the Whakaari White Island tragedy and has released proposals to reinforce safety standards in registered adventure activities. The package of proposals includes: Strengthening requirements for how operators, landowners and the regulator manage natural hazard risks Improving how risks are monitored, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • New Zealand donates more COVID-19 vaccines to COVAX and the Pacific
    Foreign Affairs Minister Hon Nanaia Mahuta and Associate Health Minister Aupito William Sio announced today that New Zealand is donating additional Pfizer vaccines to the Pacific and AstraZeneca vaccines to the COVAX Facility, to support equitable access to COVID-19 vaccines. “New Zealand is donating 708,000 doses of the AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Speech to the Property Council of New Zealand
    Kia ora koutou katoa   Is it a pleasure to be able to speak with you today, and to be able to answer some questions you may have. I would like to acknowledge the organisers of this event, the Property Council. The theme of this year’s conference is City Shapers. Together ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Additional MIQ for Christchurch
    An additional hotel will be added to our network of managed isolation and quarantine facilities, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “I have approved and Cabinet is in the final stages of signing off The Quality Hotel Elms in Christchurch as a new managed isolation facility,” Chris Hipkins said. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • NZ COVID-19 response earns another major digital investment
    Minister for the Digital Economy and Communications Dr David Clark welcomes Amazon’s Web Services’ (AWS) decision to establish a Cloud Region on New Zealand shores, further boosting New Zealand’s growing digital sector, and providing a vote of confidence in the direction of New Zealand’s economic recovery. “Amazon is the second ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • New Zealand invests in cutting edge cancer R&D
    Scaling up the manufacture of CAR T-cell cancer therapy for clinical trials Advancing New Zealand’s biomedical manufacturing capability Supporting future international scientific collaborations Transforming cancer care with targeted, affordable solutions Research, Science and Innovation Minister Hon Dr Megan Woods has announced that the fight against COVID-19 will not stop the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Expert group appointed to lead New Zealand’s future health system
    An outstanding group of people with extensive and wide-ranging governance and health experience have been appointed to lead the Māori Health Authority and Health New Zealand, Health Minister Andrew Little says. “This Government is building a truly national health system to provide consistent, high-quality health services right across the country. This ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Funding to help clean up contaminated sites
    The Government is supporting the clean-up of contaminated sites in Northland, Dunedin and Southland to reduce risk to people’s health and protect the environment. Environment Minister David Parker said the funding announced today, through the Contaminated Sites Remediation Fund, will help us turn previously hazardous sites into safe, usable public ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Predator Free apprenticeships open up new job opportunities
    The expansion of a predator free apprenticeship programme is an opportunity for more people to kick-start a conservation career, Conservation Minister Kiri Allan says. “The Predator Free Apprenticeship Programme is focused on increasing the number of skilled predator control operators in New Zealand through a two-year training programme. “The Trust ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Further NCEA support confirmed for Auckland students
    The number of Learning Recognition Credits for senior secondary school students will be increased for Auckland students, Education Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. This recognises the extended time these students will spend in Alert Levels 3 and 4. “It means students in Auckland will have a fair opportunity to attain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Long-term pathway next step to better mental wellbeing for New Zealanders
    The Government is taking a new approach to support people who experience mental distress, Health Minister Andrew Little says. “Kia Manawanui Aotearoa – Long-term pathway to mental wellbeing (Kia Manawanui) is the first 10-year plan of its kind that targets the cause of mental distress and also sets out how ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Keeping our Police safe to keep our communities safe
    The Government is committed to keeping our frontline police officers safe, so they in turn can keep New Zealanders safe – with one of the largest investments in frontline safety announced by Police Minister Poto Williams at the Police College today.   The $45 million investment includes $15.496 million in ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Clean Vehicles Bill passes first checkpoint
    The Land Transport (Clean Vehicles) Amendment Bill will help New Zealand drive down transport emissions by cleaning up the light vehicle fleet, Transport Minister Michael Wood says. The Bill passed its first reading today and will establish the legislative framework for key parts of the Government’s Clean Car Package, including ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Funding boost supports ongoing Māori COVID-19 response
    The Government is responding to the need by whānau Māori and Māori Health providers to support their ongoing work responding to COVID-19 and to continue increasing rates of Māori vaccination, Associate Minister for Health (Māori Health), Peeni Henare and Minister for Māori Development Willie Jackson announced today.   This increased ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Significant increase to COVID-19 penalties
    Penalties for breaches of COVID-19 orders are set to significantly increase from early November 2021 to better reflect the seriousness of any behaviour that threatens New Zealand’s response to the virus, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Throughout this Delta outbreak we’ve seen the overwhelming majority of people doing ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Counter-Terrorism Legislation Bill returns to Parliament
    The Counter-Terrorism Legislation Bill has returned to Parliament for its second reading in an important step towards giving enforcement agencies greater power to protect New Zealanders from terrorist activity. “The Bill addresses longstanding gaps in our counter terrorism legislation that seek to protect New Zealanders and make us safer,” Justice ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Joint Statement: New Zealand and Australian Trade Ministers
    Hon Damien O'Connor MP, New Zealand Minister for Trade and Export Growth, and Hon Dan Tehan MP, Australian Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, met virtually on Monday 20 September to advance trans-Tasman cooperation under the Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement (CER). CER is one of the most ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Prime Minister’s Post Cabinet Press Conference/COVID-19 Update opening statement
    ***Please check against delivery***   E te tī, e te tā, nau mai rā [To all, I bid you welcome]   As you will have seen earlier, today there are 22 new community cases to report; three of which are in Whakatiwai in the Hauraki area, and the remainder in ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Major milestones for Māori COVID-19 vaccine rollout as new campaign launches
    Whānau Ora and Associate Health (Māori Health) Minister Peeni Henare acknowledges two major milestones in the rollout of the COVID-19 vaccination programme for Māori. “I am very pleased to announce more than 50 percent of eligible Māori have received their first dose and 25 per cent are now fully vaccinated,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government funding to fight infectious diseases
    $36 million for research into Covid-19 and other infectious diseases The investment will improve our readiness for future pandemics Research will focus on prevention, control, and management of infectious diseases The Government’s investing in a new Infectious Diseases Research Platform to boost Aotearoa New Zealand’s Covid-19 response and preparedness for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Quarantine-free travel with Australia to remain suspended for a further 8 weeks
    Suspension to be reviewed again mid to late November Decision brought forward to enable access from Australia to first tranche of around 3000 rooms in MIQ Air New Zealand working at pace to put on more flights from Australia from October    The suspension of quarantine-free travel (QFT) with Australia has ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Extra support for Ethnic Communities to share vaccination information
    Extra support is being made available to Ethnic Communities to help them share COVID-19 vaccination information within their communities, Minister for Diversity, Inclusion and Ethnic Communities Priyanca Radhakrishnan said. “We know we need to get every eligible person in New Zealand vaccinated. A fund being launched today will allow for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • School holidays remain unchanged for Auckland region
    School holidays in Auckland will continue to be held at the same time as the rest of the country, starting from Saturday, 2 October, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “I’ve carefully considered advice on the implications of shifting the dates and concluded that on balance, maintaining the status quo ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government continues crackdown on gangs and organised crime
    Operation Tauwhiro extended until March 2022 Since it was launched in February, Operation Tauwhiro has resulted in:   987 firearms seized $4.99 million in cash seized 865 people charged with a firearms-related offence Gangs and organised crime groups will continue to be relentlessly targeted with the extension of Police’s successful ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Speech to Body Positive 'HIV Treatments Update Seminar 2021'
    E ngā mana E ngā reo E ngā iwi Tēnā koutou katoa Ka huri ki ngā mana whenua o te rohe nei. Tēnā koutou. He mihi hoki ki a tatou kua tau mai nei I raro I te kaupapa o te rā. Nō reira tēnā koutou katoa Acknowledgements It’s a ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Power bill changes bring fairness to charges
    A key recommendation of an independent panel to make electricity charges fairer across all households will be put in place, the Energy and Resources Minister Megan Woods has announced. “Phasing out the regulations on ‘low-use’ electricity plans will create a fairer playing field for all New Zealanders and encourage a ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • NZ economy’s strong momentum will support rebound from Delta outbreak; COVID fund replenished
    The economy showed strong momentum in the period leading up to the recent Delta COVID-19 outbreak, which bodes well for a solid economic rebound, Grant Robertson said. GDP rose 2.8 percent in the June quarter, following on from a 1.4 percent increase in the previous March quarter. This was a ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Projects create benefits into the future
    Making a well-known lake swimmable and helping to halt the decline of the endangered hoiho/yellow-eyed penguins are among a suite of new projects being supported by the Government’s Jobs for Nature programme across the southern South Island, Conservation Minister Kiri Allan says. “It’s no secret that many of our most ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Opening statement for Whāriki Indigenous Small Business Roundtable
      Kei ngā tōpito e wha o te āo e rere ana te mihi maioha ki a koutou nō tawhiti, nō tata mai e tāpiri ana ki tēnei taumata kōrero mo te ao hokohoko arā mā ngā pākihi mo ngā iwi taketake Tēnā koutou, tēnā koutou katoa – Pai Mārire.  ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New members appointed to Kāpuia
    The Government is adding four additional members to Kāpuia, the Ministerial Advisory Group on the Government’s Response to the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the terrorist attack on Christchurch mosques. “I’m looking forward to having Pamela MacNeill, Huia Bramley, Melani Anae and Katherine Dedo  join Kāpuia and contribute to this group’s ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Timeline confirmed for Emissions Reductions Plan
    Cabinet has agreed to begin consulting on the Emissions Reduction Plan in early October and require that the final plan be released by the end of May next year in line with the 2022 Budget, the Minister of Climate Change, James Shaw confirmed today. “Cabinet’s decision allows organisations and communities ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pay parity pathway for early learning teachers confirmed
    Pay parity conditions and higher funding rates for education and care services will come into force on 1 January, 2022, Minister of Education Chris Hipkins confirmed today. The Government signalled this work in Budget 2021. “From 1 January, 2022, centres opting into the scheme will receive government funding and be ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago