Daily Review 26/05/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, May 26th, 2016 - 24 comments
Categories: uncategorized - Tags:

Paula Bennett disgraceful

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standarnistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

24 comments on “Daily Review 26/05/2016”

  1. gsays 1

    Hat tip.. That is one brave cop.

    • Muttonbird 1.1

      Ex-cop, I would say.

    • Gangnam Style 1.2

      Brilliant picture, thank you whoever they are, couldn’t agree more with the sentiments.

      • whateva next? 1.2.1

        absolutely, we need more of that unity and feedback from the masses! good people

      • mickysavage 1.2.2

        Yep I saw it on Facebook and it had multiple shares and yes that is one brave cop.

        I bet Slater has the dirt on him soon and is ready to post multiple posts on his background. Although I am not sure that people care any more.

        It is good that there is this real sense of disbelief in what is happening in our country. We are not meant to have homeless people and beggars. We are meant to be better than this.

    • Anne 1.3

      Touché

  2. Sabine 2

    it is time to stop the bullshit. innit?
    and yes, a brave people.

  3. Ovid 3

    WMBAD is back

  4. Bill 4

    When cops begin to fall in line….and those ANZ protests – no arrests there either (I think).

    • Anne 4.1

      Experience, empathy and understanding written all over his face. We need lots more cops like him in the police force.

    • adam 4.2

      Just in case you missed it, the police in this country are getting shafted right along with the rest of us. And never forget, the majority have families of their own, and all have extended families.

      The cops whilst still having a union, are represented by a very pro-manager tosser. So their pay and conditions over the last eight years has been cut along with all the other public servants.

  5. joe90 5

    Stacked I tell ya, stacked!.
    /

    Taylor added that he was confident that a Trump administration would be stacked with people who “think the way we do” and “read our web pages” and “listen to our podcasts.”

    On the other hand, there is an aspect of this that very few people are talking about. If there actually is a Trump presidency, he will attract, at all sorts of levels in his administration, people who do think the way we do. Even though they’re not publicly associated with racial dissidents, or white advocacy. He will attract people who read our web pages, who listen to our podcasts, and they will work in all sorts of very, very useful ways in all levels of his administration to bring about sensible policies.

    I think I can also imagine that some of them, they will be caught out, oh, saying rude things about blacks or rude things about Mexico, and there will be little scandals here and there. But there will be a great number who will infiltrate his administration, his campaign, his advisers in ways that cannot but be extremely useful both to Trump and to us.

    http://www.rightwingwatch.org/content/leading-white-nationalist-predicts-trump-administration-will-be-stacked-people-who-think-way

  6. Gangnam Style 6

    https://armstrongonpolitics.wordpress.com/

    John Armstrong

    “National has become trapped in its own dogma. Like some kind of mad scientist, Bill English is still conducting his experiment of trying to create a market whereby privately-owned or run housing organisations would compete against one another to be providers of what is now termed as “social housing”.
    Such an ideology-driven reform has required the run down of the existing state provider, Housing New Zealand,. This is in order to ensure the corporation’s current dominance in the provision of housing for beneficiaries does not translate into market-distorting monopoly.
    English’s Treasury-backed scheme has taken the best part of six years to reach even the pilot stage. That time-lag in itself suggests the notion of creating a social housing market for those at the very bottom of the economic heap is fundamentally flawed and impossible implement unless you subsidise private providers to enter the market by handing them Housing New Zealand stock at knockdown prices.
    Such twisted logic is compounding homelessness because the demolition of Housing New Zealand is already under way without the market alternative being in place. Little wonder people are falling through the cracks.”

    • ianmac 6.1

      Strong words from John Armstrong! Very apt though.

      • Anne 6.1.1

        Two of the most telling TV clips during the past fortnight were:

        1) Housing minister Nick Smith seated in what looked like a large, well appointed lounge with a log fire burning in the background (comfortable and warm) discussing the plight of the poor and homeless and in particular denying emphatically there was even a problem.

        2) Social housing minister Paula Bennett standing in the middle of what looked like a very opulent hotel suite also lamenting the plight of the poor and homeless and how “sad” it makes her feel, but promising no substantial solutions.

    • Gangnam Style 7.1

      Saw Campbell hassle thr airport guy when the airport guy started talking about the benefits of ‘trickle down economics’ – ha! & the airport guy was talking about how passionate about the poor Bill English was “one on one”. More Koru Club encounters maybe?

  7. DH 8

    It’s a telling message IMO. National MPs are just laughing at the poor, look at this for an insult….

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/auckland/local-news/manukau-courier/80318339/Manukau-apartments-to-be-built-under-Crown-land-scheme

    A pokey apartment in an 18 storey block which is subject to aircraft noise and high land transport noise is ‘affordable’ at $600,000.

    What a ferking joke, they’re thumbing their noses at us.

  8. AmaKiwi 9

    Watch for a record number of National MPs retiring from parliament BEFORE the election. They know the party is over.

    Thank God!

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Compliance strengthened for property speculation
    Inland Revenue is to gain greater oversight of land transfer information to ensure those buying and selling properties are complying with tax rules on property speculation. Cabinet has agreed to implement recommendation 99 of the Tax Working Group’s (TWG) final ...
    2 days ago
  • Plan to expand protection for Maui and Hector’s dolphins
    The Government is taking action to expand and strengthen the protection for Māui and Hector’s dolphins with an updated plan to deal with threats to these native marine mammals. Minister of Conservation Eugenie Sage and Minister of Fisheries Stuart Nash ...
    2 days ago
  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    2 weeks ago