web analytics

Daily review 28/02/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, February 28th, 2020 - 17 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

17 comments on “Daily review 28/02/2020 ”

  1. Cinny 1

    That is by far the best election quote I've read in sometime. Awesome. Going to use that, thanks so much for posting.

    Edit…Just did a google and there’s garments and bags 👜 etc with that quote on it, that should ALWAYS happen 😃

  2. Cinny 2

    BREAKING

    NZ's first case of Coronavirus…
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/119899280/ministry-of-health-gives-latest-update-on-novel-coronavirus

    “Prime minister Jacinda Ardern has confirmed that a patient being tested for coronavirus has the illness. It is New Zealand’s first confirmed case.

    The patient – a woman in her 60s – is in a stable and improving condition in hospital in Auckland, she said.

    She said the woman was a citizen of New Zealand who had been to Iran and travelled back to New Zealand via Bali on Tuesday.

    She said New Zealand’s pandemic plan is now being fully put into place as a result of the positive result.”

    • McFlock 2.1

      Fortunately it's only two days since she came in on the plane.

      • Cinny 2.1.1

        Yes, and it appears her family helped to manage the situation and the lady concerned is recovering which is good news.

    • mauī 2.2

      So the Min. of Health approach is to hand out pamphlets to arrivals from virus hotspots like China and Iran and ask them to self isolate.

      Putting the onus on an infected individual to stop an outbreak. I mean… what could go wrong..??

  3. RedLogix 3

    As predicted Morrison tells Ardern to fuck off.

    Time for a nice little extra tax on the Australian banks.

    • Muttonbird 3.1

      I haven't watched the press conference but reading the quotes it feels rehearsed and pre-agreed.

      Ardern gets to say 'don't export your misery' and appears strong to the NZ public, and Scomo gets to say 'there's no way the policy is changing' and appears strong to the AUS public.

      Would have preferred them saying these things not standing side by side.

  4. Ad 4

    A nice little provocation from the ABC China specialist:

    What if China recovers from the virus outbreak far faster than any other country, and was shown to control it better than the liberal democracies.

    That would show Chinese authoritarianism to have reversed the Chernobyl Moment, and the liberal democracies to be weak and inferior.

    https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-02-27/what-if-china-emerges-even-stronger-after-coronavirus/12005608

    • Graeme 4.1

      Lets just wait and see. China has put the people ahead of the economy, because without the people you don't have an economy.

      What's going to happen when this gets into the neo-liberal west where we put the economy ahead of the people, then add in a for profit health system.

      We, in New Zealand might have a chance, as might Australia, but distance will help them. Europe and USA, that could get tricky.

      I can see the Chinese people coming out of this quite well, what they'll come out too is another matter.

    • SPC 4.2

      They will not contain it, it'll go around until there is a vaccine. People are going back to work in March (albeit Hubei will be locked down another month) as the centre requires an end to the prolonged New Year break. Regions will under-report so this does not look bad.

      The authoritarian response was to paper over the initial failure to act in Wuhan and Hubei.

      If the West does not contain it, then China will have its supply chain back in balance with orders more quickly but then face a decline in subsequent demand.

      It's ultimately a balance between ethics (safety for the aged and infirm) and utilitarianism – the well being of the economic society of the many.

      Slowing spread is priority, as is the security of the health care system – the best outcome is this being successful until a vaccine is available, there is no right option otherwise.

    • Graeme 5.1

      Go Compost

      Couldn't have happened to a more earnest muppet

      It’s a pity about this guy, he seemed like a good provincial Nat MP, but then he moved to Queenstown and started barking at any and every passing car. Now in the eyes of Southland, and Clutha, he’s from Queenstown, and doesn’t represent their electorate any more. Just like Todd.

  5. Observer Tokoroa 6

    Be not Amazed

    The Christian Prime Minister of Australia is unlikely to do anything that assists any person other than himself .

    As a result of his Pentecostalist Commitments, we should advise all New Zealanders resident in Australia, to urgently leave Australia beginning April 2, 2020 – and ending by November 2, 2020.

    Should Kiwis fail to return to New Zealand they will lose all their rights and their NZ Nationality. As required by the Holy Spiritual Prime Minister.

    To compensate for the Pentecostalist Spiritual instruction to remove all Kiwis, all Australians living in New Zealand will be forwarded to where they belong – namely – Australia. Regrettably, they will have no possessions of any kind. We will miss the Aussies. They are going to a mad man preacher and Prime Minister.

    Our Government will also seek to Declare the ANZ Bank as a known Fraudulent Alien, and prevent it from any further transaction in or about New Zealand.

    • Ed1 6.1

      So you think Morrison is so bad that New Zealand should copy him, and also tell New Zealand citizens where to live. Can we expect another post telling us all that we must by law vote for Simon Bridges? You may have a better reception at another blog where dogs are fed with whistles.

  6. Observer Tokoroa 7

    Thanks for calling me a dog Ed1

    You are clearly a believer in the Prime Minister of Australia and favour his techniques. You also support the arrogance of the Australian Banks.

    You are yet another person not willing to serve your Nation and support our Prime Minister Ardern.

    What I was doing was trying to bring attention to the outrage that Scott Morrison is perpetrating against Australians and New Zealanders.

    Australia is not a nation of credibility. I think you know that. Ed1. Malcolm Turnbull is the only person in Aussie Politics who can carry his head high.

    now go feed your dogs mate.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago