web analytics

Daily review 30/12/2021

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, December 30th, 2021 - 56 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

56 comments on “Daily review 30/12/2021 ”

  1. Patricia Bremner 1

    May 2022 be a better year for all of us. Good health and may you have good company too.

  2. The Chairman 2

    How well is your news media severing you?

    Has anybody here viewed The Joe Rogan – Dr Peter Mccullough interview (which has gone viral online) or seen any news coverage of it?

    It's one hell of an interview. Dr Peter Mccullough really is a totally amazing source of knowledge.

    I highly recommend viewing the full interview and can provide a link if anyone requires assistance locating it online. Moreover, happy to further discuss this if anybody here has any questions or interest in learning more

    Has anybody here heard of The World Council for Health?

    It's a recently formed global umbrella organization made up of a rather impressive group of globally renowned medical experts, health-focused organizations and civil society groups. An organization free from pharmaceutical industry ties.

    These are rather large news worthy stories and if your usual media source is not covering them you've got to wonder why. Moreover, one has to start to wonder what else one is missing out on.

    • millsy 2.1

      I wouldn't listen to the conspiracy theory industrial complex if you paid me.

    • observer 2.2

      Fact-check: wrong about pretty much everything.

      https://healthfeedback.org/claimreview/joe-rogan-interview-with-peter-mccullough-contains-multiple-false-and-unsubstantiated-claims-about-the-covid-19-pandemic-and-vaccines/

      To give just one example: the claim that you cannot get Covid twice. Disproved by cases every day.

      https://www.reuters.com/article/factcheck-coronavirus-reinfection-idUSL1N2TC0PH

      So to answer your "wonder" question, they are not covered for the same reason that astronomers claiming lunar cheese content are ignored.

      • The Chairman 2.2.1

        An interesting reply you've put forward, observer.

        I'll look into your factcheckers assertions and share my opinion on them a bit later on.

        Thanks for your interest.

        One quick question for you. Have you seen the interview or do you merely rely on the opinions of the factcheckers to form your opinion?

        I like to look at both and form my own. So thanks for sharing.

      • Bill 2.2.2

        Are those cases verified by way of follow up testing? Or is one +ve PCR test enough to designate the person as being a covid 'case'? Because given the huge number of false positives, it's not beyond the realms of belief that some people who believe they've been infected with a particular strain twice, in fact have only had it once.

        There's possibly a similar thing happening with the so-called asymptomatic 'cases'. My garden variety common sense suggests if I have a respiratory infection, then I'll have some measure of symptoms. The idea (for example) that I can not have a cold but nevertheless actually have a cold just strikes me as a bit weird.

        • The Chairman 2.2.2.1

          Because given the huge number of false positives, that some people who believe they've been infected with a particular strain twice, in fact have only had it once.

          That's right, Bill. Moreover, I don't think it is also beyond the realms of belief that some may also be suffering from long Covid and have mistaken that as possibly
          being infected again. Especially in the early days, when little was known about long Covid.

          • observer 2.2.2.1.1

            The mental gymnastics to live in denial are quite incredible. Not based on evidence, but purely on the need to change facts to fit. For example …

            You would have to believe that this famous case in March 2020 continued for the next 21 months undetected, despite the fact that the coach at a major professional sporting institution has been regularly tested, countless times over those 21 months. Then suddenly it is detected again?

            https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/59818457

            In the end it's your choice, of course. If promoting a falsehood means reality must be explained away, in order to keep the faith, then that must outweigh any evidence to the contrary. A thousand Covid tests would not persuade you. It no longer matters what is verifiable or falsifiable. Nothing matters beyond the need to believe.

            • The Chairman 2.2.2.1.1.1

              Dr Rob Shorten, Chair of Microbiology Committee, Association for Clinical Biochemistry & Laboratory Medicine says:

              “The specific nature of these sequences means that someone with flu or a common cold virus is highly unlikely to test positive for COVID-19,” he told Reuters.

              https://www.reuters.com/article/uk-factcheck-swab-idUSKBN26R3DH

              Highly unlikely does not equate to it being totally impossible.

              Therefore, it seems it is possible (albeit in rare occurrences) that the common flu can be mistaken for Covid.

              This would help explain the small number of so called reinfection cases to date and seems to also stack up well with Dr Peter McCullough reasoning on this.

              Therefore, after all this time of continuing testing it could be the coach could have fallen into one of these rare occurrences.

          • Bill 2.2.2.1.2

            Regardless, it's one small, possibly contentious detail from a comprehensive hour and a half long interview (or however long it was).

            Covid isn't the only issue that's been/is surrounded by disturbing dynamics revolving around crude tribalism. Given that, all I can do is wish you luck with this endeavour of yours to introduce people to some broader or deeper perspectives beyond the bounds of "their tribe"

            • The Chairman 2.2.2.1.2.1

              Regardless, it's one small, possibly contentious detail from a comprehensive hour and a half long interview (or however long it was).

              Indeed, Bill. Though I'm sure you are aware of the tactic at play. Find the weakest argument and use that to discredit all else that was said.

              Thanks for wishing me luck, Bill. I'd also like to thank you for your efforts of late.

        • KJT 2.2.2.2

          W've already established why there isn't a "huge number of false positives".

          And. "Confirmed cases" are "confirmed" on more than the basis of just one test.

          Repeating your misunderstandings, i’m trying to be charitable here, doesn’t make it true.

          Open mike 23/12/2021 « The Standard

          • Bill 2.2.2.2.1

            W've already established why there isn't a "huge number of false positives".

            You convinced yourself against the pretty clear cut and simple to follow evidence laid out by Norman Fenton (and expanded on somewhat by Red) by ignoring some bog standard basics in Fenton's presentation and going on to spout some nonsense about who gets tested in NZ.

            People being told to isolate for a period of time after a +ve test aren't subject to a confirmatory test. My family who tested positive and who had to isolate weren't – though I guess it's possible they were an exception and everyone else undergoes a confirmatory test.

            • KJT 2.2.2.2.1.1

              I gave clear cut and easy to follow reasons why you were repeating a load of bullshit.
              Along with RL’s similar assertion that “80% of people who test positive for covid in New Zealand don’t have covid”.
              Both bollocks.
              I showed why it was bollocks, but you obviously don’t have the capability to understand.

            • KJT 2.2.2.2.1.2

              People who go to hospital are.

              • RedLogix

                At the point someone is hospitalised we can be reasonably sure they have COVID because:

                • They will be presenting with active symptoms
                • They will have at least one confirming PCR test
                • And at some point they will probably get a confirming antigen test.

                This is the group that you know have COVID almost for certain and are being seriously impacted by it. But it's way smaller in number than the 'positive tests' metric that keeps getting touted in the media.

                • KJT

                  Already explained why your statement that of a number tested for covid 80% "do not have covid" is bollocks.

                  Like Bill, It seems you were unable to follow the discussion

                  • RedLogix

                    How about you go and collect your Fields Medal in Mathematics for disproving Bayes Theorem and get back to us on that.

                    On the other hand I should thank you for prompting my curiosity to dig into an area I've not encountered before called Causal Inference. What I'm beginning to see is a very different picture.

                    • KJT

                      I applied it. You didn't understand it.

                      What you didn't understand, that your comments, would apply if we were testing a random selection of New Zealand's entire population.

                      But. We are not!

                      A prime example of something that outwardly seems plausible, on first glance, is not.

                    • RedLogix

                      What you didn't understand, that your comments, would apply if we were testing a random selection of New Zealand's entire population.

                      The apriori estimate of prevalence that we calculated for NZ of about 1 in 218 was derived from these same tests.

                      I agree that if we we sampled the whole population of NZ at random this estimated prevalence would be lower – but that would only increase the overall rate of false positives due to the Bayes effect.

                    • KJT

                      What I said.

                    • RedLogix

                      What I said. (Yes I can play idiot too.)

                      On the other hand – scan this – and get a sense of how hard this topic really is.

                      In an attempt to wrap this up – I would strongly suggest that the only metrics of any real comparative value are ‘number of confirmed cases in hospital‘ and ‘number of deaths from covid‘. These are reliable, well defined numbers and if everyone had stuck to using them, there would not be this level of contention going on.

                      As an interesting tangent the ‘dimensionless recovery rate’ is going to be (Recoveries/(1+ Deaths). This number is dimensionless because its a ratio between two numbers from exactly the same ‘hospitalised’ population – which rather magically eliminates almost all confounding factors across countries, populations, demographics, geography – almost everything.

                      Reveals all sorts of interesting information a lot of people will not want to understand.

                    • KJT

                      Still don't get it. Eh?

                      Persisting with the fiction that. “The MOH doesn’t know how many people actually have covid”. As if no one in the MOH knows how to do statistical analysis.

                      “Yes I can play idiot too”. Yes you can. Especially when you try to cover it up with big words.

                    • RedLogix

                      “The MOH doesn’t know how many people actually have covid”

                      What makes you so certain they do? As we've shown quite conclusively – that unless they tested everyone in NZ and retested all the positive cases at least once – then they cannot know. Not because they cannot do statistics, but due to the fundamental limitations of what testing tells us.

                      And as others have shown typically the positive tests that get re-tested are the relatively small fraction that get sick enough to be admitted to hospital. At which point they become a 'confirmed case' – which is a useful metric.

                      Worse still this process of getting from a 'positive test' to a 'confirmed case' will vary from country to country and over time – which makes comparisons even more meaningless.

                    • KJT

                      Already explained why your statement is incorrect.

                      We already know the range of false postives and negatives for each individual test.
                      And the range of results a sampling of populations with different rates of covid give.

                      The maths is not difficult.

                      “We cannot know” suits the narrative of those who think that covid is one big Government and scientific conspiracy. But it is not, true!

                    • RedLogix

                      Already explained why your statement is incorrect.

                      You may want to try again.

                    • KJT

                      That requires a degree of ability, or wish to comprehend, on the part of the person I am talking to.

                      Try re-reading.

                      It is what analytical statistics is for.

                    • RedLogix

                      You have implied at least three times now that I am too stupid to understand your superior logic.

                      Alternatively you may want to consider that you have not explained yourself very well.

                      Which do you think is more likely?

                    • KJT

                      I'll leave it there.

                      Because I don't think you want to understand.

                      The answers are in your own explanation of the statistics. There is a low occurance in the whole NZ population. There is a much higher occurance rate in the population we are actually testing.

                      You actually explained it, yourself.

                    • RedLogix

                      And my response to this was made here.

                      Maybe I was too brief. The point is that Bayes Theorem requires that to interpret the data correctly we need to estimate the actual prevalence of COVID in the population we are testing. This is necessary to correctly understand the impact of false positives.

                      Your claim is that we're testing a subset of NZ that is more likely to have COVID – in other words they have a higher prevalence than the general population. And from our actual testing of this group, we have estimated an apriori prevalence of about 1 in 218. Which we then applied to the 'positive tests' data from this group, tells us that about 80% of these will not actually have COVID.

                      Following your logic, which I think is reasonable, if we tested all of NZ at random, we would be testing a much larger population with a much lower prevalence, maybe 1 in 1000. And this would mean the Bayesian false positives would be an even higher percentage.

                      What you cannot do however is use the apriori estimate from one group and apply it to the test data from another. Which I suggest is what you're effectively doing here.

                  • KJT

                    Have another look at your calculation.

      • The Chairman 2.2.3

        In addition to Bill's reply and mine to his, Dr Peter Mccullough also alludes to people having Covid then later getting sick again but this time from the common cold which is then mistaken as Covid due to pervious traces still being detected in their system

    • Blazer 2.3

      Joe Rogan is a comedian and his YT videos on boxing …reinforce..that.

  3. Dennis Frank 3

    It started like this:

    In 1879 the government pushed through a survey of lands on the Waimate Plains which had been nominally subject to confiscation four­teen years earlier but in practice occupied and used by Māori.

    That May, the people of Parihaka began ploughing up surveyed lands in the area in an act of non-violent resistance led by prophets Te Whiti-o-Rongomai and Tohu Kakahi. The pair had founded the settlement of Parihaka in the 1860s as a place of refuge for all those affected by war and confiscation… in June the arrests began. By August around 200 men had been arrested. That same month the Maori Prisoners’ Trials Act, suspending the right of the accused to a speedy trial, was passed by Parliament. The first group of prisoners was sent to Dunedin that same month… A West Coast Commission was established to investigate any unful­filled promises to Taranaki Māori. Native Minister John Bryce declared there were none. His uncompromising approach was too much for his fellow Cabinet ministers, and in January 1881 Bryce resigned.

    The settler govt was unable to resolve the situation – so they recalled the bugger later the same year!

    On 19 October 1881 a proclamation was issued, giving the Parihaka community two weeks to submit to the law or lose any lands they still held. Bryce was immediately sworn in as Native Minister to make preparations for the forthcoming confrontation.

    All of this took place as the Governor, Sir Arthur Gordon – a known critic of the gov­ernment’s actions in Taranaki – returned to Wellington after visiting Fiji, landing just two-and-a-quarter hours after the signing of the proclamation. He was furious that the government, knowing he would never sign such a document, had rushed it through in his absence.

    https://www.newsroom.co.nz/voices-from-the-new-zealand-wars-the-invasion-of-parihaka

    So how the hell could it possibly be legal without his signature??? Newsroom deserves our thanks for illuminating our history. Yet these investigative journos don't seem to feel any need to focus on the key point. Govt legislation isn't legal until the legal representative of the head of state signs it!!

    • Gezza 3.1

      So how the hell could it possibly be legal without his signature??? Newsroom deserves our thanks for illuminating our history. Yet these investigative journos don’t seem to feel any need to focus on the key point. Govt legislation isn’t legal until the legal representative of the head of state signs it!!

      Never underestimate Wikipedia re Kiwiland’s history, Dennis. It’s a superb resource on both Māori hapu iwi AND Pākehā histories of New Zealand. And it just keeps getting better, imo.
      ….. …. …… ….

      “In mid-September 1881 Gordon sailed for Fiji, leaving Chief Justice Sir James Prendergast as acting Governor. In his absence, and with an election looming, Hall’s ministry completed its plans to invade Parihaka. Bryce’s replacement as Native Minister, Canterbury farmer William Rolleston, secured two votes worth a total of £184,000 for contingency defence against Taranaki Māori and the government significantly boosted the number of Armed Constabulary on the west coast.

      On 8 October Rolleston visited Parihaka to urge Te Whiti to submit to the Government’s wishes. If he refused and war ensued, Rolleston explained, “the blame will not rest with me and the government. It will rest with you.”

      When news of the Hall government’s plans reached Gordon, he terminated his Fiji visit and hurried back to New Zealand. At 8pm on 19 October, two hours before the Governor returned to Wellington, however, Hall convened an emergency meeting of his Executive Council and Prendergast issued a proclamation berating Te Whiti and his people for their “threatening attitude”, their rebellious speech and their resistance of the armed constabulary.

      It urged the people of Parihaka to leave Te Whiti and for the visitors to return home. It gave them 14 days to accept the “large and ample” reserves on the conditions attached to them by the government and willingly submit to the law of the Queen or the lands would forever pass away from them and they alone would be responsible for this and “for the great evil which must fall on them.”

      “As usual,” observed historian Hazel Riseborough, “it was a question of mana.” The proclamation was signed by Rolleston late on 19 October—his last act as minister before Bryce was returned to Cabinet and just two hours before Gordon arrived back in New Zealand. The Governor, though angry at the issuing of the Proclamation, acknowledged it would be supported “by nine-tenths of the white population of the colony” and allowed it to stand.

      https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parihaka#Invasion

      You might want to mention it to newsroom?

      • Blazer 3.1.1

        So who..cares?

      • Dennis Frank 3.1.2

        Cool, thanks for that Gezza. Yeah the notion of a wiki on Parihaka never crossed my mind. So the devious bastards outwitted the governor, huh?

        Dunno if I can go along with the gov wimping out on the basis of a 90% settler consensus though. The monarch wasn't really served by settler disregard of Te Tiriti, and her rep ought to have been able to figure that out.

        And on the technicality of law, I wonder if other instances of chief justices acting to represent the head of state when he went on holiday have also happened. Must've been a clause in the royal appointment charter enabling that, I guess.

        • Gezza 3.1.2.1

          Wikipedia’s nowadays my first source to check on anything related to NZ’s land wars, or NZ places/towns/cities/history/significant historical events or incidents, or anything to do with Māori. It’s extensively cross-referenced. One can spend hours just following various cross references & reading the linked articles.

          A typical example is Battle Hill Forest Park, where I once hiked to the top for lunch & read the history of the place.

          https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_Hill_Farm_Forest_Park

          If you follow all the links in that & the cross links in those to iwi & nga Rangatira you get a really good overview of the history of the early settlement of North Wellington & the Māori resistance to it.

  4. The Chairman 4

    Back in June the FLCCC announced a Treatment Protocol for Long Covid.

    If anyone is interested I'll be happy to point you towards it

  5. Jester 5

    It seems pretty unfair to me that this bloke has been able to get in to NZ three times since the pandemic started, and yet NZers that actually live here have not been able to.

    Covid-19: DJ Dimension on third border exemption to NZ since December 2020 | Stuff.co.nz

Leave a Comment

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • What’s Labour achieved so far?
    Quite a bit! This Government was elected to take on the toughest issues facing Aotearoa – and that’s what we’re doing. Since the start of the pandemic, protecting lives and livelihoods has been a priority, but we’ve also made progress on long-term challenges, to deliver a future the next generation ...
    4 days ago
  • Tackling the big issues in 2022
    This year, keeping Kiwis safe from COVID will remain a key priority of the Government – but we’re also pushing ahead on some of New Zealand’s biggest long-term challenges. In 2022, we’re working to get more Kiwis into homes, reduce emissions, lift children out of poverty, and ensure people get ...
    5 days ago
  • Happy new year, Aotearoa!
    Welcome to 2022! As we look ahead to another year of progress on the big issues facing our country, we’re taking a look back at the year that’s been and everything the team of five million achieved together in 2021. ...
    2 weeks ago

  • Aotearoa New Zealand stands ready to assist people of Tonga
    The thoughts of New Zealanders are with the people of Tonga following yesterday’s undersea volcanic eruption and subsequent tsunami waves, Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta says. “Damage assessments are under way and New Zealand has formally offered to provide assistance to Tonga,” said Nanaia Mahuta. New Zealand has made an ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Record high of new homes consented continues
    In the year ended November 2021, 48,522 new homes were consented, up 26 per cent from the November 2020 year. In November 2021, 4,688 new dwellings were consented. Auckland’s new homes consented numbers rose 25 per cent in the last year. Annual figures for the last nine months show more ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Report trumpets scope for ice cream exports
    Latest research into our premium ice cream industry suggests exporters could find new buyers in valuable overseas markets as consumers increasingly look for tip top quality in food. Economic Development Minister Stuart Nash has released a new report for the Food and Beverage Information Project. The project is run by ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Honouring the legacy of legendary kaumātua Muriwai Ihakara
    Associate Minister for Arts, Culture, and Heritage Kiri Allan expressed her great sadness and deepest condolences at the passing of esteemed kaumātua, Muriwai Ihakara. “Muriwai’s passing is not only a loss for the wider creative sector but for all of Aotearoa New Zealand. The country has lost a much beloved ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Have your say on proposed changes to make drinking water safer
    Associate Minister for the Environment Kiri Allan is urging all New Zealanders to give feedback on proposed changes aimed at making drinking water safer. “The current regulations are not fit for purpose and don’t offer enough protection, particularly for those whose water comes from smaller supplies,” Kiri Allan said. “This ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Planting the seeds for rewarding careers
    A boost in funding for a number of Jobs for Nature initiatives across Canterbury will provide sustainable employment opportunities for more than 70 people, Conservation Minister Kiri Allan says. “The six projects are diverse, ranging from establishing coastline trapping in Kaikōura, to setting up a native plant nursery, restoration planting ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New Zealand congratulates Tonga's new Prime Minister on appointment
    Minister of Foreign Affairs Nanaia Mahuta today congratulated Hon Hu'akavameiliku Siaosi Sovaleni on being appointed Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Tonga. “Aotearoa New Zealand and Tonga have an enduring bond and the Kingdom is one of our closest neighbours in the Pacific. We look forward to working with Prime ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • High-tech investment extends drought forecasting for farmers and growers
    The Government is investing in the development of a new forecasting tool that makes full use of innovative climate modelling to help farmers and growers prepare for dry conditions, Agriculture Minister Damien O'Connor said.  The new approach, which will cost $200,000 and is being jointly funded through the Ministry for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Support for fire-hit Waiharara community
    The government will contribute $20,000 towards a Mayoral Relief Fund to support those most affected by the fires in Waiharara in the Far North, Minister for Emergency Management Kiri Allan says. “I have spoken to Far North Mayor John Carter about the effect the fires continue to have, on residents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Manawatū’s ‘oases of nature’ receive conservation boost
    The Government is throwing its support behind projects aimed at restoring a cluster of eco-islands and habitats in the Manawatū which were once home to kiwi and whio. “The projects, which stretch from the Ruahine Ranges to the Horowhenua coastline, will build on conservation efforts already underway and contribute ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand to continue Solomon Islands support
    A New Zealand Defence Force and Police deployment to help restore peace and stability to Solomon Islands is being scaled down and extended. The initial deployment followed a request for support from Solomon Islands Government after riots and looting in capital Honiara late last month. They joined personnel from Australia, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Our Pacific community shares in New Year’s Honours
    Prominent Pacific health champion Faumuina Professor Fa’afetai Sopoaga has been made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Year’s Honours list. Professor Sopoaga has been a champion for Pacific Health at Otago University, said Minister of Pacific Peoples Aupito William Sio. “She’s overseen changes in ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Congratulations to Māori New Year’s Honours stars of 2022
    Kei aku rangatira kua whakawhiwhia koutou ki ngā tohu ā tō tātou kuīni hei whakanui nui i ā koutou mahi rangatira i hāpai i te manotini puta noa i a Aotearoa. Ko koutou ngā tino tauira. I whanake i ngā hapori, iwi, hapū, whānau me te motu anō hoki. Mauri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Top honours for women in sport
    Minister of Sport and Recreation Grant Robertson has congratulated Olympian Lisa Carrington and Paralympian Sophie Pascoe on being made Dames Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (DNZM) in the 2022 New Year Honours. Lisa Carrington is New Zealand’s most successful Olympian, having won five gold and one bronze ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • PM congratulates 2022 New Year Honours recipients
    The New Zealanders recognised in the New Year 2022 Honours List represent the determination and service exemplified by so many New Zealanders during what has been another tough year due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said. “I never fail to be amazed by the outstanding things ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago