web analytics

Daily review 01/04/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:00 pm, April 1st, 2019 - 46 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

46 comments on “Daily review 01/04/2019 ”

  1. Kat 1

    Finally the fish wrap might be seeing the writing on the wall. Reading it of course is another matter.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12218211

    • Cinny 1.1

      Thanks for the link Kat, that was well worth a read…..

      David Cormack: The hopeless week of Simon Bridges

      “We want an inspirational leader who can take us there. And we have one. It’s not you.”

      LMFAO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. alwyn 2

    I have been overseas for the last fortnight or so. While away I saw almost nothing about New Zealand, except for sports, in the news and I was left in a happy state of thinking that the Government was going to bite the bullet and do a proper job on arms control by banning ALL semiautomatic weapons.

    Instead I arrive back to discover they have completely lost their nerve and are only to ban things like AK47s and the US M4 (or M16) assault weapon equivalents.
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/politics/news/article.cfm?c_id=280&objectid=12218242

    Even then it appears that there will be exceptions to the ban.
    “The Government plans to ban on military-style semi-automatic (MSSA) weapons and assault rifles, though there would be exemptions for guns commonly used by farmers for pest control, as well as hunters.”.

    Why didn’t they have the guts to follow John Howard’s example of 20 years ago and to ban all semiautomatics? There is no need to have any semiautomatic outside the Military and the Police.
    This was the chance to do something meaningful and instead they have simply bowed down before the members of the Gun Lobby.
    Why have they turned out to be such cowards? Has Tsar Winston simply trod on the other two parties again?

    Oh well I suppose it will get one soon to be illegal weapon out of “dickhead” Davis’ possession.
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12215729

    I realise that Lprent coined the description for all such owners but it seems truly appropriate for Kelvin.
    I mean to say. What did a schoolteacher need an AK47 equivalent for? Is he so scared of the pupils that he needs to man up like Rambo just to get from the classroom to the staffroom and back each day?

    Is it really to late for the Government to actually do something meaningful about guns or is it just another case of “all hat and no cattle” as that wonderful Texas phrase describes it.

    • Cinny 2.1

      Edit.. rubbish, we will have the same as Aussie, currently the law in Aussie is….

      Category D – All self-loading centrefire rifles, pump-action or self-loading shotguns that have a magazine capacity of more than 5 rounds, semi-automatic rimfire rifles over 10 rounds, are restricted to government agencies, occupational shooters and primary producers.

      And Nash is proposing the same, as far as I’m aware, which is….

      “Are any semi-automatic firearms exempted from the changes?

      A small number of firearms owners have a legitimate use for weapons with a larger capacity. Semi-automatic firearms which are commonly used for hunting, pest control, stock management on farms, and duck shooting will not be affected. These are:
      • Semi-automatic .22 calibre rimfire firearms with a magazine which holds no more than ten rounds
      • Semi-automatic and pump action shotguns with a non-detachable tubular magazine which holds no more than five rounds ”

      Anyways, discussion in the house tomorrow if you are interested….

      “The Arms Amendment Bill will have its first reading tomorrow, and be referred to a Select Committee for a swift public submissions process. It will return to Parliament next week to pass through its remaining stages. It is intended to come into force on 12 April, the day after the Royal Assent.”

      http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PA1904/S00005/tighter-gun-laws-to-enhance-public-safety.htm

      • alwyn 2.1.1

        The debate is really about what New Zealand is doing.
        However there are a few things you should note about what happened in Australia.

        When Howard got these reforms through the banned weapons included ALL semiautomatic rifles. That included all rimfire weapons as well. We aren’t doing that.

        The seizure/buyback was about 650,000 guns. That was estimated to be 20% of all the privately owned weapons in Australia.
        https://www.vox.com/2015/8/27/9212725/australia-buyback
        We aren’t talking anything like that number.

        Howard had, of course,to get the laws accepted and passed by all the states and territories. That is a hell of a lot harder than we have here.

        The laws have been eased up in the last 20 years as State Governments bow to the pressures of the Gun Lobby and Howard is no longer around to provide the moral impetus.
        For example in NSW we have
        “A 2008 amendment to the firearms act, passed by the Labor government and Shooters and Fishers Party, allowed people to enter a gun club and begin shooting without a licence and the previous 28-day background check”
        https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/gun-control-eroded-since-port-arthur-20160427-gog5u5.html

        No, it is no use making excuses. Our Government has the chance to do something meaningful and they have morally collapsed from fear of the Shooting Lobby. Gutless, the lot of them.
        They are all talk and no trousers.

        • mickysavage 2.1.1.1

          This is the urgent part of the reform. There will be a lot more happen later.

          • alwyn 2.1.1.1.1

            No Micky. This is the only chance we have. If all the semi-automatic weapons aren’t banned right now it is never going to happen.
            Look at the history of the last 20+ years since the Thorp Report.
            Nothing at all from either Labour or National Governments. And as the immediate memory of the affair in Christchurch fades the chances of anything significant happening in the future fades with it.
            If the Government can’t find the courage to do it now it will never happen.

    • Peter 2.2

      Now you’re back in the country, maybe instead of writing about lost nerve on here you write to the men in the linked article.

      There are a lot of mental midgets who think they should have all the guns of any type they want. All the pressure in the world mightn’t change their self-obsessed cowboy mentality but is it only Ardern’s job to fight a battle with them. Expect her to have the nerve which we don’t?

      You don’t want certain guns here? A childish rant about Kelvin Davis is easy. What else have you got, what constructive things are you going do, or are you “all hat and no cattle”?

      https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12218204

      • Jilly Bee 2.2.1

        OK guys, what about this – I found it totally gobsmacking, just putting it out there.
        https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12218204

        • The Al1en 2.2.1.1

          “most gun owners were “pretty responsible I would imagine”.”

          And there’s the nub.

          You’d have been as dumb as a sack of mssa to advocate in print for gun ownership now, when you can’t even be certain gun owners aren’t more than “pretty responsible, I would imagine”.

          Someone’s lacking a laser (in)sight.

      • alwyn 2.2.2

        “but is it only Ardern’s job to fight a battle with them. Expect her to have the nerve which we don’t”.

        YES I DO expect her to fight the battle.
        She is the Prime Minister. She can do something about it. I’m not an MP. I can only comment on the subject and tell the people who are in office what I want them to do. Well, quite consistently I believe, I have.
        Ban all semiautomatic weapons. NOW.
        That is about all I can do in response to your question “what constructive things are you going do”. What other options do I have?

        If they don’t have the guts to do it now it will never happen.
        Howard had the courage to do it, even with threats to his life. There was at least one meeting where he was persuaded to wear a bullet-proof vest because his life was believed to be in danger. Luckily the people involved were only talking about killing him.

        Ardern is the PM right now. I can offer you another Americanism about what she has to do. It is “there is a time when you either have to piss or get off the pot”. Nixon even said it to Eisenhower. Well sorry Jacinda. This is the one and only chance we have to get rid of automatic and semi-automatic weapons in the general public’s hands. Do it NOW.

  3. Dennis Frank 3

    Fun politics in Ukraine: “A comedian with no political experience has won the most votes in the first round of Ukraine’s presidential elections, early results indicate.
    With half the ballots counted, Volodymyr Zelenskiy – who plays the president on TV – got about 30%, with current leader Petro Poroshenko on 16%.”
    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-47767440

    “The two – who have expressed largely pro-EU opinions – are set to take part in a run-off election next month. Former prime minister Yulia Tymoshenko appears to have been eliminated.”

    So now they have to choose whether or not to dump a billionaire. Gee, tough choice?? I doubt it, if they wonder whether to be controlled by an oligarch, or entertained!

    “Mr Poroshenko aimed to appeal to conservative Ukrainians through his slogan “Army, Language, Faith”. No, no! That will freak them out! “Mr Poroshenko, a chocolate magnate and one of Ukraine’s wealthiest people, was elected in a snap vote after former pro-Russian President Viktor Yanukovych was toppled in the February 2014 Maidan Revolution, which was followed by Russia’s annexation of Crimea and a Russian-backed insurgency in the east.” There you go, all he needs to do is offer voters a free chocolate fish each. Election bribes normally work well.

  4. Muttonbird 4

    Happy to agree with Bingles here. He’s even borrowed from our Prime Minister.

    This law will make New Zealand a dangerous place for people who are young and suicidal or old and think they’re a burden, or people with disabilities.

    “If they have a bad day, where they wish they weren’t alive, we should be offering them kindness – but what we’re going to offer is to kill them.

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2019/04/end-of-life-choice-bill-will-make-new-zealand-a-dangerous-place-sir-bill-english.html

    • Can you point to the bit in the proposed legislation that bans offering kindness and replaces it with killing people? Specific clauses, please.

      • Sabine 4.1.1

        +1

      • Muttonbird 4.1.2

        You well know you can’t legislate for kindness nor against it. The law is impersonal like that. People do kindness and people withhold kindness.

        • Psycho Milt 4.1.2.1

          Then why bleat about kindness when referring to legislation?

          • Muttonbird 4.1.2.1.1

            The legislation wouldn’t ‘ban’ kindness but it does offer to kill people.

            Like a majority of Kiwis I just worry that very ill people’s lives will be seen as burdensome. You can’t safeguard against that in the legislation.

            • The Al1en 4.1.2.1.1.1

              Faced with getting to the stage of having to have my kid wipe my arse and wipe my drool, or (and not to diminish the good work loads of carers do), leave it to a minimum wage employee who may beat me and steal my possessions, rather than be what I would consider to be a burden, I might well take up the option of legally ending my life.

              I would never say a woman shouldn’t have the right to choose abortion, likewise it’s not anyone’s business but my own should I opt to end my life when the prognosis is dire and or very painful. Taking any liability away from those assisting me would be a cherry on top of the icing on the cake.

              • Muttonbird

                I’m not sure state care not being good enough is a good reason to introduce assisted dying.

                I do think a shrinking of state care services is high on the list of outcomes for the member who introduced this bill. He has form in this area.

                • The Al1en

                  The point isn’t state care, about which I amended in an edit to reflect the good work some wonderful people do, but the fact I would consider it burdensome to be so cared for by family or strangers.

                  If I thought for one minute I’d get dementia I hope I’d have the fortitude to end it at a time of my choosing with family and friends around me.
                  It’s a cold heart to deny that to someone whose fate is so awful and condemn them to one worse than death.

                  • marty mars

                    A big long article worth reading on this subject.

                    “Van Baarsen’s scruples have crystallised in the country’s first euthanasia malpractice case, which prosecutors are now preparing. (Three further cases are currently under investigation.) It involves a dementia sufferer who had asked to be killed when the “time” was “right”, but when her doctor judged this to be the case, she resisted. The patient had to be drugged and restrained by her family before she finally submitted to the doctor’s fatal injection. The doctor who administered the dose – who has not been identified – has defended her actions by saying that she was fulfilling her patient’s request and that, since the patient was incompetent, her protests before her death were irrelevant. Whatever the legal merits of her argument, it hardly changes what must have been a scene of unutterable grimness.”

                    https://www.theguardian.com/news/2019/jan/18/death-on-demand-has-euthanasia-gone-too-far-netherlands-assisted-dying

                • Gabby

                  Just think what it would do for the property market.

              • greywarshark

                Thanks Allen for putting up points relating to assisted dying. It is a
                hard one with numbers of different needs, ideas and ideals to consider.

                Of

                • The Al1en

                  Obviously it’s a very personal subject, and no doubt there are good arguments on both sides of the divide, but I honestly believe it should be a personal choice to end a life with dignity in the face of a horrible, debilitating ending.
                  Taking away any stigma and bringing that decision within the law, is in my mind, a compassionate, humane act.

                  • greywarshark

                    True. At present I would have to send my unhappy family away to have a coffee or such to ensure that they wouldn’t be charged and have to appear in Court as to whether they had helped me or killed me. And I think they would have to sit somewhere in public where they could call on a witness as alibi if needed.

                    The various concerns raised could be controlled with legislation.
                    There would be a required model or models to follow to ensure that the matter was done in a responsible way.

    • The Al1en 4.2

      “This law will make New Zealand a dangerous place for people who are young and suicidal or old and think they’re a burden”

      We’ve all seen the horrendous rates of suicide in NZ. 100% not being insensitive, but clearly these people don’t need an assisted dying law.

      • marty mars 4.2.1

        Uncalled for that.

        Often people who commit suicide are desperately unhappy and want the pain to stop. Temporary pain permanent solution.

        Please don’t try to be flippant about the horrendous suicide rates in this country – it is a sign that people are being pushed too far and nothing whatsoever to do with assisted dying.

        • The Al1en 4.2.1.1

          I don’t think it’s uncalled for, and certainly not flippant. I thought I’d made that quite clear. It’s a valid point.
          Besides, I’m sure any law would involve input from medical staff, and the grounds for assisted death would probably include terminal disease as the only criteria, and would exclude suicidal people with mental issues, temporary of otherwise.

        • Skunk Weed 4.2.1.2

          We need a good Mental Health System which is compassionate towards people with Mental Health Issues, we did have a Mental Health System which may not have been perfect, but we did have one.

          Under the Lange/Douglas Labour Government and the Neoliberal Agenda under Harold Titter an Englishman imported for the job, they dismantled the Mental Health System and released a lot of Mental Health patients back into the community. Then proceeded to sell off the Assets held by the Health Department ?

    • millsy 4.3

      Bill English has no right to bleat about kindness when his track record is anything but ‘kind’.

  5. ScottGN 5

    Erdogan has lost Ankara in the local body elections and his party’s claim to have won Istanbul is being challenged by the opposition. Adds some context to the recent furore over Winston’s trip to Turkey and just what Erdogan was playing at.

    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/apr/01/erdogan-party-loses-ankara-in-turkish-local-elections-blow

  6. marty mars 7

    Audit them forensically and then prosecute to the full extent of the law if appropriate.

    Fishing and Outdoors editor Graham Carter stood by an article in his paper today which called out Ardern and Police Minister Stuart Nash.

    “Our Dumb-as-a-Plank New Zealand Prime Minister and lapdog New Zealand Police Minister have announced a ban on assault rifles that are and have been banned for the last ‘thirty-five years’.

    “Comments made by our PM are disingenuous and misleading the general public.”

    The article, written by John McNab, goes on to say that it was already illegal to fire any rifle which was “full-auto” even if it was a defence force firearm.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12218204

    • alwyn 7.1

      Would you care to expand on what you really mean by your first sentence?
      You sound as if you propose to use the IRD as a Government controlled police force who will aim their powers at anyone who says nasty things about members of the Government.
      You aren’t serious are you?

      • marty mars 7.1.1

        I’d like to know that these guys comply totally with the law and all legal requirements in regards to their firearms licence and any weapons they may have. I don’t want someone to kill other people because of hate. These people have put their heads up with their comments therefore they are first in line. Simple enough even for you. I don’t care about their money or whether they pay enough tax – you’re back here now alwyn get up to speed will ya ffs.

  7. greywarshark 8

    End of Life Choice Bill will make New Zealand a ‘dangerous place’ – Sir Bill English…

    “It’s worse than a slippery slope… once you start saying ‘we’ll drop the ban on killing, some people can choose to be killed’ – how do you stop more and more and more?”

    What else would he say? He is conservative through and through, with his mind totally religion-controlled. NZ will find one excuse after another to avoid any reasoned process on this. And why would more and more rise exponentially? Did he ever worry about the amount of depression in NZ when he was PM and provide better conditions for all people, and for depressed more talking help and widening the scope of therapies? As more people are living longer there may be a growing number wanting to limit the length of the journey – so there may be a growing number. Nothing to worry him though, it’s just a growth in the demographics and I suppose he knows what that means.

    We will be fortunate to get compassionate assistance for the terminally ill, or people who are sick of being sick with constant pain. And I would like for myself the ability to organise arrangements with my family for my own death when I want, and also I would talk to my doctor if willing to be called to give a death certificate. I certainly don’t want anyone else to have the burden of deciding for me when ‘the time is right’. I would like a ‘managed demise’. That is all hypothetical anyway, I don’t expect much from NZ legislators now and if I am wrong in that then that will be a nice surprise.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Worsening housing crisis must prompt action
    A growing public housing waiting list and continued increase of house prices must be urgently addressed by Government, Green Party Co-leader Marama Davidson said today. ...
    6 hours ago
  • Twenty highlights of 2020
    As we welcome in the new year, our focus is on continuing to keep New Zealanders safe and moving forward with our economic recovery. There’s a lot to get on with, but before we say a final goodbye to 2020, here’s a quick look back at some of the milestones ...
    3 weeks ago

  • Jobs for Nature funding will create training and employment opportunities
    A major investment to tackle wilding pines in Mt Richmond will create jobs and help protect the area’s unique ecosystems, Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor says. The Mt Richmond Forest Park has unique ecosystems developed on mineral-rich geology, including taonga plant species found nowhere else in the country. “These special plant ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Pre-departure testing extended to all passengers to New Zealand
    To further protect New Zealand from COVID-19, the Government is extending pre-departure testing to all passengers to New Zealand except from Australia, Antarctica and most Pacific Islands, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “The change will come into force for all flights arriving in New Zealand after 11:59pm (NZT) on Monday ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Bay Cadets learn skills to protect environment
    Bay Conservation Cadets launched with first intake Supported with $3.5 million grant Part of $1.245b Jobs for Nature programme to accelerate recover from Covid Cadets will learn skills to protect and enhance environment Environment Minister David Parker today welcomed the first intake of cadets at the launch of the Bay ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Cook Islanders to resume travel to New Zealand
    The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern and the Prime Minister of the Cook Islands Mark Brown have announced passengers from the Cook Islands can resume quarantine-free travel into New Zealand from 21 January, enabling access to essential services such as health. “Following confirmation of the Cook Islands’ COVID ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Supporting communities and landowners to grow employment opportunities
    Jobs for Nature funding is being made available to conservation groups and landowners to employ staff and contractors in a move aimed at boosting local biodiversity-focused projects, Conservation Minister Kiritapu Allan has announced. It is estimated some 400-plus jobs will be created with employment opportunities in ecology, restoration, trapping, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Border exception for some returning international tertiary students
    The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began. The exception will allow students to return to New Zealand in stages from April 2021. “Our top priority continues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Tiwai deal gives time for managed transition
    Today’s deal between Meridian and Rio Tinto for the Tiwai smelter to remain open another four years provides time for a managed transition for Southland. “The deal provides welcome certainty to the Southland community by protecting jobs and incomes as the region plans for the future. The Government is committed ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • New member for APEC Business Advisory Council
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has appointed Anna Curzon to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). The leader of each APEC economy appoints three private sector representatives to ABAC. ABAC provides advice to leaders annually on business priorities. “ABAC helps ensure that APEC’s work programme is informed by business community perspectives ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Govt’s careful economic management recognised
    The Government’s prudent fiscal management and strong policy programme in the face of the COVID-19 global pandemic have been acknowledged by the credit rating agency Fitch. Fitch has today affirmed New Zealand’s local currency rating at AA+ with a stable outlook and foreign currency rating at AA with a positive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Additional actions to keep COVID-19 out of NZ
    The Government is putting in place a suite of additional actions to protect New Zealand from COVID-19, including new emerging variants, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Given the high rates of infection in many countries and evidence of the global spread of more transmissible variants, it’s clear that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • 19 projects will clean up and protect waterways
    $36 million of Government funding alongside councils and others for 19 projects Investment will clean up and protect waterways and create local jobs Boots on the ground expected in Q2 of 2021 Funding part of the Jobs for Nature policy package A package of 19 projects will help clean up ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand Government acknowledges 175th anniversary of Battle of Ruapekapeka
    The commemoration of the 175th anniversary of the Battle of Ruapekapeka represents an opportunity for all New Zealanders to reflect on the role these conflicts have had in creating our modern nation, says Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Kiri Allan. “The Battle at Te Ruapekapeka Pā, which took ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Better care for babies with tongue-tie
    Babies born with tongue-tie will be assessed and treated consistently under new guidelines released by the Ministry of Health, Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Around 5% to 10% of babies are born with a tongue-tie, or ankyloglossia, in New Zealand each year. At least half can ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison over
    The prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison is over, with all remaining prisoners now safely and securely detained, Corrections Minister Kelvin Davis says. The majority of those involved in the event are members of the Mongols and Comancheros. Five of the men are deportees from Australia, with three subject to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pre-departure COVID-19 test for travellers from the UK and the US from 15 January
    Travellers from the United Kingdom or the United States bound for New Zealand will be required to get a negative test result for COVID-19 before departing, and work is underway to extend the requirement to other long haul flights to New Zealand, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. “The new PCR test requirement, foreshadowed last ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago