Daily Review 01/08/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, August 1st, 2018 - 16 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

16 comments on “Daily Review 01/08/2018”

  1. adam 1

    Found about this from a guy who came and saw me today. He’s a subcontractor and looks like he’s going to lose thousands, the worst part he just spent a few thousand upgrading gear with a promise of work from this outfit Ebert Construction going into receivership.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=12098945&ref=CE-NZH-TOPSTORIES-EDM

    • Cinny 1.1

      It’s so wrong, they should be able to take home their tools.

      Wonder if they would get any results if they got the police involved, and charge Ebert with theft of equipment.

      • Pat 1.1.1

        The problem is who gets the tools and materials..as soon as it was known the site was down nothing is secure and the stuff that’ll walk is unbelievable….hard enough to secure stuff on a working site. Better to wait a day or two and at least have a reasonable chance of not having half your gear nicked,

        • Chris T 1.1.1.1

          Tbf it will be secure

          They will be trying to hoard as much stuff to sell as they can

          • Pat 1.1.1.1.1

            yes but not stuff they have no lein on…subbies tools and materials dont fall into that category

    • Chris T 1.2

      Same thing happened when that other even bigger one went down (Mainseal?)

      Everyone got their tools back, but this doesn’t help when they have no tools to try to find some work in the interim.

      Poor fella

  2. greywarshark 2

    Ebert might owe about $40 million.
    It seems to me that the way that capitalists are running NZ is to get the people to take losses while they spirit away enough to keep themselves going nicely thank you.
    The new way of tendering for large construction jobs will be to offer a price, with penalties if not done on time. And also to place in trust, up front, about $10 million, or a considerable sum in accordance with the size of the project. This will show the capacity of the company to carry the job forward and help to ameliorate problems that might occur. Also the lowest or any tender will not necessarily be accepted.

    This will mean that the margins will not be so slim as has been advised on the media as part of the cause of Ebert’s crash.
    This is an indication of how shonky the message is that we have been receiving about the good that comes from competition, better prices, effeciency blah blah. Like all the truthiness we hear about the economy, we should rinse our mouths and ears out after hearing and spit out.

    We have another foreign tramper involving a search. Will the tourist tax go to support these men and women who give up so much of their time to help find these people. And the medical needs that divert stuff from our own drongoes drugged out in the A&E. This all seems very inefficient. Perhaps the efficiency spotlight can turn on the above. Perhaps we will make a feature of having trained dogs escorting these valiant adventurers. They have to buy dogfood, have radio control, pay a hefty returnable payment for the dog’s services, cart everything needed, or take out an insurance policy to cover any misadventure rescues which would come with a free GPS position finder.

    I wonder what money the country is left with from a tourists’s payments after paying out to help him or her? I suppose we have to offset that against the profits from others. But perhaps we could recover costs against the tourist sector that makes money from adventure tourism. That might encourage them not to booze up, to drive their vans more safely, to see that they and their machines are airworthy.

    And Turoa buses show the danger of letting businesses regulate themselves. The bus doesn’t hae to be fancy, but the brakes are pretty important, a strong gearing system that could hold the speed back, safety handles that stay on.

    There are a few ideas for planners who want to enhance our businesses and our image. It must be hard for you to make changes when you are assured about how well we are doing every day that there hasn’t been some disaster somewhere that shakes the confidence of the sensitive business people. I would even donate my little Austrian cottage weather diviner to give you some guidance, I am so concerned for you. And Tegal hope to corner the market in chicken entrails. Would it matter whether they were organic or not? We are all behind you, you know and if you don’t start working well, we’ll edge you over to a cliff and push you.

  3. greywarshark 3

    And that woman up top thanks, I hope a lot of people take in that message. I am sick of seeing black t shirts, black hoodies, black zip jackets etc It is so depressing to see black everywhere, cars too, and then silver as second choice.

    She is telling us something exciting. I think that the Cook Islanders could encourage people afraid of wearing white on some of their lovely patterns from the tivaevae tradition. We will be liberated from black and I will be happy!

    Have a look at what you could be wearing if the women would release some of their designs for tshirts.
    Super tshirts for super people

  4. AsleepWhileWalking 4

    Petition calls for independent monitoring of GPs. Well the HDC are pointless aren’t they?

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12099111

  5. Robert Guyton 5

    “When asked if I am pessimistic or optimistic about the future, my answer is always the same: If you look at the science about what is happening on earth and aren’t pessimistic, you don’t understand data. But if you meet the people who are working to restore this earth and the lives of the poor, and you aren’t optimistic, you haven’t got a pulse. What I see everywhere in the world are ordinary people willing to confront despair, power, and incalculable odds in order to restore some semblance of grace, justice, and beauty to this world.”

  6. AsleepWhileWalking 6

    Eww….bed bugs.

    This response from Work and Income Porirua

    “When I showed [Work and Income] a letter from the doctor they said it wasn’t their problem to help me move to another motel. We had to sleep in the car.”

    Later in the article Work and Income state they responded to the problem as soon as they became aware.

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/national/health/105791908/rock-bottom-bites-mum-and-daughter-driven-out-of-emergency-housing-by-bedbugs

  7. AsleepWhileWalking 7

    I like Trevor Mallard’s Tweet best (bottom of story)

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/national/105939489/one-wellington-bus-driven-up-wrong-road-and-abandoned-another-runs-out-of-fuel

    My anxiety around going into town at this point is very high.

    • greywarshark 7.1

      AWW
      Listen to Radionz from Britain this morning. Kate Aidie? whio tells how awful it can be travelling in Britain. Took 14 hours to get to London from Northumberland. Story would be funny if it wasn’t also serious. And the stories of how the ‘advanced, developed’ countries that we follow are crumbling. But we follow on, the dingy dinghy.

      RadioNZ
      What Love Island contestants make of Brexit
      UK correspondent, Kate Adie joins Kathryn with a bit of Brexit light relief from Love Island contestants; Jeremy Corbyn’s ongoing travails and are the British railways really the envy of Europe?
      https://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/ninetonoon/audio/2018656311/what-love-island-contestants-make-of-brexit

  8. AsleepWhileWalking 8

    https://www.waateanews.com/waateanews/x_news/MTk3NzQ/Killer-drugs-tested-on-homeless

    Developers of synthetic cannabis are giving their new recipes to people on the street to try.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Compliance strengthened for property speculation
    Inland Revenue is to gain greater oversight of land transfer information to ensure those buying and selling properties are complying with tax rules on property speculation. Cabinet has agreed to implement recommendation 99 of the Tax Working Group’s (TWG) final ...
    7 days ago
  • Plan to expand protection for Maui and Hector’s dolphins
    The Government is taking action to expand and strengthen the protection for Māui and Hector’s dolphins with an updated plan to deal with threats to these native marine mammals. Minister of Conservation Eugenie Sage and Minister of Fisheries Stuart Nash ...
    1 week ago
  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    3 weeks ago