Daily Review 11/04/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, April 11th, 2017 - 8 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

8 comments on “Daily Review 11/04/2017”

  1. adam 1

    Why the hell do people who call themselves fans persist with this crap.

    http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-04-11/port-adelaide-investigating-racism-allegations

    On the bright side – The players have had enough.

    http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-04-11/wingards-passionate-call-to-arms-over-racism

    They have the support of the players association. And the AFL is on side. I’m happy by the strong words that Chad Wingard, but racism keeps coming up.

  2. Pete 2

    I saw Amy Adams in Parliament today. A moderate response might be to say it was a display of absolute gall from an arrogant bitch.

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11836445

  3. Just another born to rule tory. In fact the tory “sheilas” try ,and usually succeed to outclass and overshadow in vileness the tory jokers. Jacinda any day for me. All class.

    • AB 3.1

      From the 2016 register of pecuniary interests:

      Hon Amy Adams (National, Selwyn)
      [Category] 6 Real property
      Farm property (owned by trust), Aylesbury
      Bare land (owned by trust), Darfield
      Bare land (owned by trust), Te Kauwhata
      Commercial property (owned by trust), Templeton
      Commercial property (owned by trust), Temuka
      Vacant section (owned by trust), Cromwell
      Residential property (owned by trust), West Melton

      • Katipo 3.1.1

        Wow, With all that land, a state subsidised irrigation scheme and a farm friendly ECAN majority, she should invest in a dairy farm or two.

  4. Muttonbird 4

    Ms Parata said whether schools could lose funding is something “for the future” – but her political future is limited as she retires as Minister in three weeks.

    Her goal is to get this signed off as her last project.

    It is so sad for the kids of New Zealand that Parata thinks she has to force though a poorly researched and unpopular change to funding before she quits.

    This government is pathetic.

    http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2017/04/school-decile-system-to-be-scrapped-for-targeted-funding.html

    As Martyn points out, this will create fear and stereotyping. He also suggested this type of mass surveillance was aimed and children of beneficiaries and not those of affluent white parents but I would say this mass surveillance applies to everyone which is just as frightening in a different way.

    National and their supporters being bereft of any kind of compassion for the community now see fit to label individual children as a risk rather than the community they live in. It is disgusting.

    • Molly 4.1

      Any funding providing support for children at risk in the community should be ably provided by the Ministry for Vulnerable Children (Yes, stupid name but surely should be providing at least what it says).

      The Ministry of Education should provided funding for all learning support systems that are required, whether this stems from abuse, trauma or learning difficulties.

      The Predictive Risk Index, seems a very inaccurate tool to label children with and will likely create a very hostile environment for supportive learning at schools. And it sounds like this only applies to “… students from families on a benefit, with brothers or sisters who have been victims of abuse, or parents that have been in prison.”.

      What about those students who do not have those indicators, but who require higher levels of support for learning?

      Assuming children with those “risk” factors are going to require higher levels of education funding jumps the fact that the MoVC should be providing that from their much publicised “wrap-around” system – should it not?

      Most children with learning difficulties find it very hard to get support at the moment, now not only will they have a vulnerability in a particular learning area, they will be identified with a number on a scale – labelled a “Predictive Risk”. The level of support will be increased the higher up that index they are, and that will have the conflicting result of providing them help while giving them a definitive number on a scale of their likely less-than-positive outcome.

      Some schools, will find themselves in the position of identifying children to be labelled in order to maintain current levels of funding. If you doubt this, look at the rise in Ritalin prescriptions that happened in the US after funding of schools was linked to the number of students on prescription medication for behavioural problems.

      Fairly easy to see how this is going to have a negative effect on creating a supportive positive learning environment.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Bird of the Year – Loving Aotearoa
    I love that I live in a country where there is a competition for ‘Bird of the Year’. Right now, around New Zealand, there are teams and campaigns promoting the attributes of our native birds; from the famous kākāpo creeping ...
    GreensBy James Shaw
    1 day ago
  • A Post Election Update
    It’s the start of another week and I wanted to give you a quick update on what’s happening in relation to our efforts to form a new Government for New Zealand. We’ve been working hard to ensure that the issues ...
    GreensBy James Shaw
    2 days ago
  • Labour welcomes final election results
    Today’s final election count has strengthened the mandate for change, and for negotiations to continue in earnest, says Leader of the Opposition Jacinda Ardern. “We congratulate Angie Warren-Clark on becoming Labour’s 14th additional MP, which expands the Labour caucus to ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Lewis Moeau – he aituā, he aituā!
    Kua tau ngā pōkeao ki runga i te marae o Te Poho o Taharākau ki roto o Manutūkē, oti rā ki runga o Puketapu me Manawaru, ngā maunga tipua o te hautipua kua riro nei. E heke ana ngā roimata me ngā ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Statement on coalition negotiations
    “This morning I spoke with New Zealand First Leader, Winston Peters. We will look to hold a meeting between our respective teams later this week, while we wait for special votes to be counted. “Special votes remain an important part ...
    2 weeks ago