Daily review 17/06/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:34 pm, June 17th, 2019 - 52 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

52 comments on “Daily review 17/06/2019”

  1. Robert Guyton 1

    Glazed, like a pig on a spit.

  2. ianmac 2

    Poor little Sir John. Held to account over the doubtful running of his Bank by Lisa Owens. She is so mean. After all Key is beyond reproach and anyway it was just a few tens of thousands at stake.

  3. Rob 3

    Seems like a severe punishment for what may be a relatively minor indiscretion 

    but I do think Sir Johns lips were moving!

    • higherstandard 3.1

      Minor discretion ?

      Not what I hear from an insider, I think he's gone to spare the company and him a great deal of embarrassment.

  4. Ankerrawshark) 4
    • Yes sir john don’t look well.  Oh dear, what a shame. Oh well never mind
  5. gsays 5

    I involuntarily washed my hands after that interview.

  6. Roast pork anyone?

    Never mind, don't eat it ,… it tastes bad.

    Been raised and fed on dirty money gleaned from poor peoples minimum wages, thus tastes and looks like old cardboard.

  7. Marcus Morris 7

    A junior staffer at fault. Now where have we heard that before?

    • Those sneaky junior staffers !

      Where can a CEO capitalist or politician neo liberal rorter get a decent junior staffer these days?

      One who knows how to shut their mouths?

      • Marcus Morris 7.1.1

        I was starting to wonder that myself. Is there a union for "junior staffers".

  8. greywarshark 8

    Radionz

    ANZ CEO leaves due to 'blind spot' on recording expenses – John Key https://www.rnz.co.nz/national/programmes/checkpoint/audio/2018700014/anz-ceo-leaves-due-to-blind-spot-on-recording-expenses-john-key

    There are very adequate medical interventions for blind spots, but quite a queue at Eye Clinics but no doubt bank directors can pull strings, or silken cords.    Register at once I would suggest, before similar difficulties arise at your bank or place of business.

    • Matiri 8.1

      Do you think 'blind spot' will wash with the IRD when I file my tax return this week?

      • greywarshark 8.1.1

        They will look tell you to 'wash' your eyes and get the 'sleep' out, and give you one day to pay or it's  to the salt mines for you.

  9. Ankerrawshark) 9

    Omg what a slippery slimy bastard Key is.  So glad he is not our PM.   Owen sounded disgusted at the end of the interview.

     

    so this bastard still gets the rest of his years pay and doesn’t have to pay the incorrectly itemised “business” expenses back.  What f..ing planet do we live on.  Beneficiaries on the breadline in court for not declaring relationships.  We sure as hell don’t call it a blind spot.  I hold key and his elk in contempt 

     

     

    • ianmac 9.1

      Beneficiaries on the breadline in court for not declaring relationships.  We sure as hell don’t call it a blind spot. 

      Me too Anker. One rule for the rich etc…

  10. Rosemary MCDonald 11

    Then there's the bach that whatshisface sold to Hisco…maybe(?) before he became a director…(on Stuff)

    • ianmac 11.1

      It was sold in January 2018. Key was a bit vague about that but it was checked out. About $3million +.

  11. Kat 12

    "But Sir John…….but but but….."

    "But Lisa on the other side of the coin…….."

    "But Sir John why haven't you resigned……."

    "Well Lisa I may have got a parking ticket this morning…..but someone else got one yesterday…….."

    "But Sir John……but but but….you are the head honcho……..and and………..your in charge of the only bank that is censured and barred from valuing its own capital……..Sir John…….

    “Well Lisa Westpac did the same thing 17 times……….”
    “But Sir John……….”

    “I’m comfortable with it all…..here have a beer……….”

    • I feel love 12.1

      We all charge our wine storage fees to our employers after all…I find it amazing that the left (esp Greens) are often ridiculed for not "living in the real world" but what kind of people live in worlds where "wine storage" is something you think is normal to invoice your company for, far fucking out. 

      • greywarshark 12.1.1

        The business world is a different country.   In one of my courses relating to business I read about a discussion on those with higher salaries, and the word 'hygiene' connected with them.   Strange I thought.   And part of the problem was how to lay the appreciation levels on them once they had got so much remuneration that extra was no hook for them.    Then the extras like paying for their wine storage would be part of the package.

        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Two-factor_theory
        The two-factor theory (also known as Herzberg's motivation-hygiene theory and dual-factor theory) states that there are certain factors in the workplace that cause job satisfaction while a separate set of factors cause dissatisfaction, all of which act independently of each other.

        https://study.com/academy/lesson/hygiene-factors-definition-lesson-quiz.html

  12. WeTheBleeple 13

    A wee word for our dolphins and new sanctuaries. The minister is right that these sanctuaries will also improve the fisheries overall. Just go diving around some of the sanctuaries already in place, you'll see a startling difference in many fish stocks. Ask the locals, the divers, the local fishermen, they know.

    Dolphins – they do not hit set-nets, and, if there is catch in it, they do not hit set-nets being pulled out. The worse problem is drift nets. But…

    A set net dropped from a boat is akin to a drift net: as it settles to the bottom it will catch dolphins (if they are happening by). It could be that a sonar device that sounds as the net drops (and lifts, in case it is empty) might help avoid this window where the dolphins do not detect the set nets while moving. The point is, you need the dolphins to be able to detect a net in motion, however that is achieved.

    And drift nets should be outright banned.

    If you get enough fishermen who run set nets to tell the truth, the very infrequent dolphins pulled up are typically well dead – caught on the way down, on the day before when the net was set.

    • Stuart Munro. 13.1

      Think your wires may be a bit crossed there WTB – dolphins can't see monofilament with their sonar. A drift net is something else:  "Drift nets hang vertically in the water column without being anchored to the bottom." Set nets as we use the term in NZ lie along the bottom as we do not generally target pelagic species. Contemporary driftnetting targets pelagic species in international waters, with significant bycatch of seabirds. Dolphins prefer pelagic feedfish (they're oilier) especially pilchards. Common dolphins are caught as bycatch when trawling for jack mackerals in shallow water or purse seining. Hectors fish very close to shore and are liable to be taken in set nets in places like Akaroa or Moeraki.

      • WeTheBleeple 13.1.1

        No my wires aren't crossed I'm relaying the above after fishing set-nets from the port of Taranaki. Working as, drinking with, and talking with fishermen.

        Nobody wants to catch dolphins, but it does happen. We were six miles out when we caught one. It led the discussion to learn of others.

        I was describing a set-net ‘adrift’ as it falls to the bottom. We drop an anchor for it then it spools out and down, essentially drifting.

    • weston 13.2

      Personally id like to see all inshore nets banned on the grounds that they are just far too indiscriminate killers of sea life .I think if we,re to have a hope of retaining healthy fishstocks nets are one of the things we,re gonna have to give up .We can still be hunter gatherers without nets and undoubtedly wild fish would be better off .

      • WILD KATIPO 13.2.1

        Pertaining to commercial fishing within a certain number of nautical miles inshore yeah. But we will still need net fishing of some form for commerce and food production.

        As for the family who sets a net in a bay to catch a feed for example , …that should be far more generous and less policed , however.

        I was always taken by the Japanese way of encouraging breeding grounds off their coasts by the submersion of old tires linked by chain or the even better method of hollow cubed concrete – both forming artificial reefs. These areas could also be designed so they pose no risk to shipping or small private sporting / fishing craft. 

        What are we surrounded by like Japan?- thousands of kilometers of coastline.

        And we can say commercial fishing does not go on around ALL of that and we can also say that most commercial fishing is not conducted immediately off the coast…

        Therefore surely we can enhance our fish stocks by creating large areas of artificial reefs and enclaves , and make those areas designated areas and a no go zone for fishing. We have coastline to spare, and we could target those areas where the Maui and Hectors dolphins are generally.

        Off course this would be old news to the powers that be and environmentalists, but has any real efforts been made along these lines, – as in mass production of artificial submerged reefs and designated areas etc ?

        • greywarshark 13.2.1.1

          That's all interesting on fishing and our endangered dolphins or porpoises and I have transferred it to How to… to have on hand.   Please everyone, if you are wondering what to do in the future, and various views on things, go back to past How to Get Theres and browse through the archives!    It's under DEEP STUFF in Politics.

        • weston 13.2.1.2

          Agree with ya on the reefs idea wild seems like a no brainer to me too .Not keen on nets tho as ive said above theyre indiscrimanate you could catch one fish or one hundred .IF fish are scarce your gonna worsen that shortage by using nets and since theres virtually nothing you cant catch on a line i think its better to target specifically the fish you wanna catch an just take what you need no free passes for families or non commercial fishers we,re all in this togeather imo

        • Hamish Stevenson 13.2.1.3

          It sounds good. However, artificial reefs are not that easy. An enterprise company tried it at Opunake in Taranaki with the purpose of creating a permanent break for surfers. There was a lot of funding, including from South Taranaki District Council. They spent years and megabucks on it, but the project never succeeded. And this was in a nearshore setting.

  13. JustMe 14

    Is this proof that it's not what you know but Who You Know?  Meaning when it comes to the wealthy compared to the poor there are two different sets of rules and that is the wealthy get more lee-way and chance of getting away with wrong-doings than the poor?

    Is John Key's 'eagerness' to protect Hisco because some of the money Hisco 'received' was automatically donated to the NZ National Party?

    It puzzles me that Key is so eager to protect his 'mate' Hisco compared to his obsession to get Kim Dotcom to be held accountable in a court in Key's beloved America??!!!!

     

     

     

     

     

     

  14. Exkiwiforces 15

    Hi everyone, 

    Has anyone heard of this group called the “The 42 Group”? I haven’t yet read there Defence Policy yet as I’m about to go out?

    http://img.scoop.co.nz/media/pdfs/1906/42_Group__Independent_Strategic_Defence_Policy_Assessment_for_NZ__2018__v1.0.pdf

    • Graeme 15.1

      I got a quick look at their recommendations before I ran out the door this morning and they don’t have a terribly optimistic view of our strategic environment. 

      I look forward to trading the lot and your and Wayne’s views. 

      • Exkiwiforces 15.1.1

        Been chatting to a few people via the internet in between putting power into my "Tank Hanger" and man cave today and we agree that they contradict themselves quite a lot of time.

        They also don't seem to understand or meaning of what an Integrated Air Defence System is?

        Appear to have no understanding or background of CBRN warfare? I for one wouldn't use a Nuke or a Dirty Bomb on NZ as there is another way of screwing over NZ more effectively and a whole cheaper in equipment and manpower.

        They seem to forget that Aircraft limited to so many hrs aka the Hec's and the P3K's are running out of Airframe Hrs rather fast and even Lockheed have said to the MOD/ RNZAF you are about to hit the max's design life of these A/C to a point we can't say what would happen if you go past its max design life hrs.

        The Figures quoted for the Frigate replacement are way of the mark and they even added pic's of the RN/RAN Type 26 Frigate which hasn't even left the Slipway and it comes with a Rolls Royce price tag as well (well outside of NZ's price range based on last weeks updated DCP). There are a number of cheaper Frigates the would suit NZ which I post later on.

        No mention of NZ's vulnerable Sea Lanes Of Communications which are essential to the well being of nation and generate its wealth via its import and exports especially since our heavy manufacture has gone the way of the dodo and light to medium manufacture industries are struggling to survive in a free market Neo Lib/ Con economic B/S theory.

        Lastly this really concerns me "This assessment, therefore, advocates a shift in New Zealand’s military policy; from one that tends to emphasise the purchase of assets designed for ‘force projection’, to one that favours a genuinely defensive military posture, the purpose of which is to protect New Zealand and its diverse peoples from external aggression." They seem to forget that Peacekeeping  and Peace enforcement is Force Projection and they have seem to forget the NZDF actions in Timor-Leste in 99 during INTERFET, Bosnia, the Solly's and PNG. In fact to me and others the bench mark for all future Peacekeeping  and Peace enforcement missions Chap1 to Chap7 should be on the INTERFET deployment and the lessons learnt from that deployment should be adopted which in this case Ronnie has finally done with release of last weeks updated DCP which is almost 20yrs after the fact.

        Anyway I've printed the article off and I'll go though it with a red and hopefully I can do a post without turning it into a War and Peace essay IOT post it on the Standard for deeper discussion.       

  15. mary_a 16

    Key can't remember if he was on the ANZ board (joined Oct '17) when he sold his Omaha beach house to Hisco. Hazy if he was ANZ chairman (became chairman Jan '18) when the beach house sold (Feb '18)!

    Former PM still having dodgy and ever so convenient brain fades!  Be interesting to see how this one pans out!

    • Blazer 16.1

      there is NO corruption in NZ..just a malaise of selective amnesia when it comes to the old boy network.

      • WILD KATIPO 16.1.1

        Arrrgh me hearty , I loves yer Skull n' swords, reminds me of me old cohort Eddie Teach… I want one just like it for the Black Pearl…

        As for your take on the scoundrels callin' themselves the old boys network,… I hear they be havin' it in for us all so I'd best be hoistin’ the anchor and unfurlin’ th' canvas… til we get an honest Governor at least in these here waters…

    • Rosemary McDonald 16.2

      "Brain fade". ..poor fellow, still suffers from that does he?

      What a wonderfully kind and incredibly inclusive world is banking where a person with such obvious deficits can be Boss of the Board!

       

  16. mauī 17

    All that riding in chauffeur driven limousines isn't very good for your back actually – the leather is too soft. Then there's the knowledge you have a cellar load of Chateau Lafite Rothschild waiting to be quaffed back in Sydney. No wonder he fell ill.

  17. CHCoff 18

    Oh yes, the chauffeured cars & wine scandal, never mind the back door money laundering ring or what have you has been going on …

  18. A 19

    Another WTF moment for Tamariki Ora.  I found just listening stressful, but then I'm Maori so the 3 Maori babies each week being uplifted affects me more.

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/national/programmes/checkpoint/audio/2018700025/advocacy-group-inundated-with-messages-about-oranga-tamariki

     

     

    • Brigid 19.1

      I don't care what creed or race the mother and baby are, if the resources are made available to support the mother there are very very few instances where a child should ever be taken from its parents.

      Thing is the government is not prepared to invest in these people because most voters believe the family unit must survive without support from the community. That's what neo-liberalism and the market driven philosophy has taught them to believe.

      There, but for the grace of luck, goes us all.

      • Chris T 19.1.1

        Oranga Tamariki are damned if they do or damned if they don't.

        With all due respect we don't know the circumstances and if a kid dies AGAIN people would be saying the complete opposite.

        Yes the system looks like it doesn't work support wise in some cases and needs looking at, but a bit of empathy for what the workers have to deal with in a lot of cases wouldn't go amiss.

        • SHG 19.1.1.1

          Summary: this government likes brown people when it wants their votes, but washes its hands when the kids who are dying are brown.

          • WILD KATIPO 19.1.1.1.1

            Like National did when children died of preventable third world respiratory illnesses when they deliberately ran down state housing , letting them become cold, damp , moldy shitholes to try to sell them off to private investors…

        • Stuart Munro. 19.1.1.2

          Taking babies is going where angels fear to tread.

          If it becomes normal, you're a problem.

        • greywarshark 19.1.1.3

          I think Chris T that those of us who follow social welfare matters and have done so for this and the past century from study and observation are not impressed by your kindness to Oranga Tamariki and willingness to put your faculties on hold.

  19. The extinction of the Australian pygmies – Quadrant Online
    https://quadrant.org.au/opinion/history…/06/the-extinction-of-the-australian-pygmies/

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    6 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    7 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    7 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago