Daily Review 16/06/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, June 16th, 2017 - 46 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

46 comments on “Daily Review 16/06/2017”

  1. adam 1

    As always No right turn sums it up in a very sensible manor. Too which I totally agree. The Tories in this country are running scared, and they should be, austerity has created a bloody shambles.

    http://norightturn.blogspot.co.nz/2017/06/the-boomers-are-afraid.html

    I’d like to add, around the wharves, you may have had stuff nicked from the wharf when you imported it, (which you’d get your money back if it happened – never happened to me so I think van Beynen is full of it on this one) now we just have thieves with their hands out taking you money off you when you import anything via a process called ‘handling’. Biggest rout around, they same companies who unload your products are now got their hands in the pot charging you more.

    • RedLogix 1.1

      Really this pretend division between the generations is just another round in the tired old game of divide and conquer.

      Beynen is full of it; but so is the idea that all Boomers somehow set out to fuck up their own children. On the face of it this has to be an absurdist notion.

      What many of us do see, and does concern us deeply … is a world in which our children and grandchildren are not doing as well as us. Yes in many ways we were a fortunate generation and I’ll not duck that. But the idea it was all handed to us on a silver plate is a risible nonsensensical delusion.

      The real divide in this world is between the tiny handful of uber-wealthy who control the vast majority of the world’s wealth and exert a grossly disproportionate political influence … and the rest of us unwashed plebs of any age. There lies your real inequality, one that will persist and perpetuate long after my generation has died out. Anything else is a distraction.

      Worth a read. I bookmarked this a while back:

      https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/mar/12/millennial-baby-boomer-trade-places-stab-envy

      • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1

        Beynen is full of it; but so is the idea that all Boomers somehow set out to fuck up their own children. On the face of it this has to be an absurdist notion.

        You did see this graph didn’t you?

        It’s hard to say that the Boomers aren’t actively working against the young on the stats of who votes for whom.

        But the idea it was all handed to us on a silver plate is a risible nonsensensical delusion.

        It wasn’t all handed to the oldies on a silver platter but they’re definitely pulling up the ladder behind them. They may not mean to do that but that is what they’re doing when they vote National.

        The real divide in this world is between the tiny handful of uber-wealthy who control the vast majority of the world’s wealth and exert a grossly disproportionate political influence … and the rest of us unwashed plebs of any age. There lies your real inequality, one that will persist and perpetuate long after my generation has died out.

        But it shouldn’t last and the Boomers should be the ones trying hardest to get rid of it rather than perpetuating it. They’re supposed to know better but the majority prove that they know far, far less and vote with that ignorance.

        • BM 1.1.1.1

          Do you realise how many “boomers” have put their mortgage free properties up as security so their kids can buy a grossly overvalued house?
          How do you think the property market has been propped up for so long?

          When this property bubble bursts it’s going to affect so many people it’s not funny,

        • RedLogix 1.1.1.2

          It’s quite normal for some people (by no means everyone, or even a majority of people) to become more politically conservative as they get older. This happens regardless of what ‘generation’ you are born into.

          Keep in mind that if 60% of us voted progressive as young things, it only takes 20% of us to shift over the years, for 60% to be voting conservative in later life. That’s just people for you, it’s not some weird conspiracy to fuck over our children.

          Also I have to say it, there are too many of my generation who still remember Rogernomics and are still waiting for Labour to make an unequivocal break with it’s toxic past. It’s this legacy that Winston dines out on.

          And if all of us boomers were to die tommorrow, do you imagine the world would suddenly be a wonderful perfectly equitable place?

          Also what BM said.

          • Peter 1.1.1.2.1

            (Also I have to say it, there are too many of my generation who still remember Rogernomics and are still waiting for Labour to make an unequivocal break with it’s toxic past. )

            I could not agree more. When they return to a true left wing party they will get my vote again until then no chance.

        • Carolyn_nth 1.1.1.3

          There are also class differences between boomers, as with all generations. The life expectancy of low income people, the 10% of the population on lowest incomes, in the UK is on average about 62 years – so more wealthy people are living longer. That will also be impacting on voting stats for the elderly.

        • Philj 1.1.1.4

          I vote for what I see as best for All the people of the country, nor what is best for me. If more folks looked at voting in this way we may have a different country /world.

          • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1.4.1

            I vote for what I see as best for All the people of the country, nor what is best for me.

            What is best for the community is what’s best for you.

            The problem is that we’ve been trained over the centuries to believe that what the individual wants is what’s best for the community and that’s not actually true.

    • Carolyn_nth 1.2

      Well, this:

      Still, van Beynen is right about one thing. If you’re under 40 (or even 45), you’ve never really known anything but NeoLiberalism and austerity. And its pretty clear that those don’t work for anyone but greedy old Boomers. Boomers like van Beynen would like us to accept this as unchangeable, but its not. Low wages are a political choice.

      I should also like to point out that Corbyn (and the likes of Diane Abbott) are also boomers. While the majority of older folks voted Tory, the likes of Corbyn, Abbott, and many of us boomers who have always voted left, are glad others are picking up some of the values we have subscribed to most of our lives.

      I’m very glad to see large numbers of young people picking up on those values, and adapting them to the 21st century context.

  2. Anne 2

    Tom Walker aka Jonathan Pie talks seriously – post UK election and pre Grenfell Tower fire.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtPWRHz7kCw

    Good stuff.

  3. The Chairman 3

    Property watchdog warning from Hobanz president John Gray: NZ buildings have fire risk due to cost cutting.
    https://soundcloud.com/nzherald/john-gray-speaks-to-newstalk-zb

    • The Chairman 3.1

      An interesting interview. Hobanz president John Gray puts it down to “willful negligence”.

  4. BM 4

    “Constantly anxious” should not be the default mindset for a deputy leader

    I expect to see Ardern bow out of politics after this year’s election, leadership material she most certainly isn’t.

    http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2017/06/poll-jacinda-ardern-s-popularity-plummets.html

    • Draco T Bastard 4.1

      “Constantly anxious” should not be the default mindset for a deputy leader

      Depends upon where you are on the Dunning-Kreuger effect I suppose. RWNJs who are too stupid to realise that they’re ignorant schmucks probably won’t have any while while everyone else would.

      • BM 4.1.1

        If you’re not confident or riddled with self-doubt you’re no leader.

        I think Jacinda has realised she’s not leadership material and is currently in a position where she’s not comfortable being, nothing wrong with that though being honest with your abilities and knowing what your skills and weaknesses are is a very valuable skill to have.

        • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1.1

          If you’re not confident or riddled with self-doubt you’re no leader.

          You can be anxious and confident at the same time.

          • BM 4.1.1.1.1

            Self-doubt is not a desired skill to have in a leader.

            • Robert Guyton 4.1.1.1.1.1

              Compassion is though. So is self awareness and a willingness to see things from the point of view of those who are most disadvantaged by one’s actions. Key, English et al lack these qualities entirely.

              • BM

                Too much compassion and empathy can end up crushing an individual if you’re that way inclined.

                Sometimes a leader has to make hard decisions and make them quickly, people that get too emotionally involved are not people you want as leaders.

                • Nah its the other way round. True leadership involves the emotional aspect. We generally make decisions emotionally then justify them rationally.

                • Who said, “too much”?
                  Keep it real, BM. Your use of absolutes is disingenuous and a time-waster for those who want to talk about the real world.

            • Ed 4.1.1.1.1.2

              You rarely discuss homelessness, child poverty and inequality, but always talk polls and personality politics.
              Does this show what you care about?

            • Grafton Gully 4.1.1.1.1.3

              What is “self-doubt” apart from a worry the mask might slip ?

            • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1.1.1.4

              She’s anxious about letting people down which is actually an attribute that you want in someone in power. There’s no self-doubt.

              People who don’t give a shit, the people who aren’t anxious about anything, are the people who will trample over anything and everything to get things the way they think they should be – and the end result will be atrocities and an oppressive regime.

            • Incognito 4.1.1.1.1.5

              Let me guess, you read that in Reader’s Digest.

        • Stuart Munro 4.1.1.2

          Spoken like a confidence man.

        • Grafton Gully 4.1.1.3

          Who’s talking about Ardern as a leader ?

        • weka 4.1.1.4

          anxiety and self-doubt aren’t the same thing.

    • Gabby 4.2

      Neither should fatuous and callous, to be fair.

    • Cinny 4.3

      Crikey BM, this kind of fishing reminds me of the nosey gossip that lives around the corner, real sad. Anyways thought I’d shine a lil light on your bait.

      After Jacindas highest preferred PM polling last time around even she said her popularity would drop, she said the only reason she was polling high was because of the spot light being on her re Mt Albert byelection. Paddy Gower mentions it at the start of the clip you posted.

      2. Jacinda doesn’t want to be the PM and has made that clear more than once.
      Not everyone wants to lead BM, some are more than content to help a leader, it’s not a race dude, not everyone models themselves on Frank Underwood. Often the best leaders are the ones who do not want the job.

      3. BM, are there any other deputy party leaders even featuring on the preferred PM poll? Mhmm Jacinda is the only one, kudos to her for that achievement. I have never ever seen Paula feature on that poll not ever. JS

      4. Heaven forbid politician answered a question honestly, can’t have that can we? And by crikey no common ground, please, politicians aren’t supposed to show feelings, showing feelings of an almost human nature.. this will not do.

      Who is your favourite deputy leader BM and why?

  5. Draco T Bastard 5

    China’s quantum satellite in big leap

    Before sensitive information is shared between shopper and online shop, the two exchange a complicated number that is then used to scramble the subsequent characters. It also hides the key that will allow the shop to unscramble the text securely.
    The weakness is that the number itself can be intercepted, and with enough computing power, cracked.
    Quantum cryptography, as it is called, goes one step further, by using the power of quantum science to hide the key.

    Quantum communications takes another step toward practicality.

  6. Draco T Bastard 6

    More crony capitalism from Trump:

    She’s arranged tournaments at Trump golf courses, served as the liaison to the Trump family during his presidential campaign, and even arranged Eric Trump’s wedding.

    Now President Trump has appointed longtime loyalist Lynne Patton — who has zero housing experience and claims a law degree the school says she never earned — to run the office that oversees federal housing programs in New York.

  7. Macro 8

    Perhaps the Donald shouldn’t have hung up….
    Aussies M T on “Winning in the Polls”

    Malcolm Turnbull’s told a room of journalists, advisers, and politicians that “the Donald and I, we are winning and winning in the polls. We are winning so much! We are winning like we have never won before. We are winning in the polls. We are! Not the fake polls. Not the fake polls. They’re the ones we’re not winning in. We’re winning in the real polls.”

    “You know the online polls. they are so easy to win. I know that. Did you know that? I kind of know that. They are so easy to win. I have this Russian guy. Believe me it’s true, it is true,”

    Well at least he has a sense of humour.
    http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/15/asia/turnbull-trump-australia-speech/index.html

  8. Muttonbird 9

    Is this the laziest government in New Zealand history?

    The number of instances where National Party ministers have no idea what is happening in their ministries and offices is unbelievable.

    Two more today. Coleman distancing himself from bad news by ‘berating officials’ apparently in the dark on figures, and Bridges also conveniently knowing nothing about what his own office is doing on OIA requests.

  9. Ed 10

    Why is it you have to read the foreign media to find the truth about New Zealand?

    What’s behind New Zealand’s shocking youth suicide rate?

    Think of New Zealand and what likely comes to mind is beautiful nature – fjords, mountains and magnificent landscapes, vast, empty and endless.
    But for years already, the country has been struggling with another form of isolation – depression and suicide.
    A new report by Unicef contains a shocking statistic – New Zealand has by far the highest youth suicide rate in the developed world.
    A shock but no surprise – it’s not the first time the country tops that table.
    The Unicef report found New Zealand’s youth suicide rate – teenagers between 15 and 19 – to be the highest of a long list of 41 OECD and EU countries.
    The rate of 15.6 suicides per 100,000 people is twice as high as the US rate and almost five times that of Britain.

    Why New Zealand?
    There’s a combination of reasons, and it’s important not to only focus on one statistic, warns Dr Prudence Stone of Unicef New Zealand.
    The high suicide rate ties in with other data, showing for instance child poverty, high rates of teenage pregnancies or families where neither of the parents have work.
    New Zealand also has “one of the world’sworst records for bullying in school”, says Shaun Robinson of the Mental Health Foundations New Zealand.
    He explains there is a “toxic mix” of very high rates of family violence, child abuse and child poverty that need to be addressed to tackle the problem.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-40284130

  10. swordfish 11

    ITV’s Robert Peston

    DUP BACKS MAY’S BREXIT VISION, NOT CHANCELLOR’S

    The announcement that the Queens Speech is next Weds is about the only good thing to have happened to Theresa May since she squandered David Cameron’s majority in the Commons last Thursday.

    Because it is confirmation of a blood oath by the DUP’s 10 MPs to sustain the Tories in power – the Tories, NOT her – and keep Labour out, for the next five years.

    Now to be clear I am not saying it is remotely likely this government will survive five years. I give it two years at best.

    But I am saying the DUP has committed to do its darnedest to prop up the Conservatives until 2022 – including by more-or-less integrating the two parties’ respective whips offices (which manage how their MPs vote, to minimise the risk of defeats).

    There is a double bonus for May in the deal, which is that a DUP source told me – and was very keen to be quoted on this – that his party completely backs her vision of Brexit.

    He wanted to knock down speculation that the DUP would like the UK to stay in the Customs Union, the arrangement that obviates the need for border checks on goods leaving the country.

    He said the DUP was 100% committed to the UK leaving the single market AND the customs union – which is music to the ears of May and her Brexit minister David Davis, and a slap to the chancellor Philip Hammond …

    … But it will be Tuesday or Thursday that we will get a short statement about what the DUP has extracted by way of dowry for Northern Ireland from the marriage of convenience.

    You can assume there’ll be lots of lovely investment in public services and infrastructure. So at least one part of the UK will enjoy an end to austerity!

    http://www.itv.com/news/2017-06-15/dup-backs-theresa-mays-vision-of-brexit-not-philip-hammonds/

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • U.S. Federal Communications Commissars say ‘neyt’ to net neutrality.
    The Internet has faced many threats. Dictatorships building cyber walls, a hostile takeover bid by the International Telecommunications Union and states and companies trying to block websites, but last night the U.S. Federal Communications Commission repealed U.S. net neutrality rules. ...
    GreensBy Gareth Hughes
    15 hours ago
  • Nga hapū o Ngāpuhi, kōrero mai!
    Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Andrew Little continues his Ngāpuhi listening tour throughout Te Tai Tokerau following the announcement of six more hui this weekend.  ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Pike River Recovery Agency advice released
    Minister Responsible for Pike River Re-entry Andrew Little has released advice on the establishment of the Pike River Recovery Agency, Te Kāhui Whakamana Rua Tekau mā Iwa. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • When gaming becomes gambling
    I was really looking forward to playing the new Star Wars: Battlefront 2 game. It looked pretty cool and I liked the first instalment. But when I checked out the reviews online, nobody was talking about the new game; they ...
    GreensBy Gareth Hughes
    2 weeks ago