web analytics

Daily review 30/06/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, June 30th, 2020 - 59 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

59 comments on “Daily review 30/06/2020 ”

  1. Dennis Frank 2

    Woohoo! Nash drops bomb on Winston. TV3 newsreader: "The New Zealand First leader exploded." Too bad they didn't have pictures of that!

    The story had a secret recording from several years ago, and featured comment from Russel Norman. The guts is who's to blame for the long delay on cameras in fishing boats and the donations from Talleys to NZF also featured. There was a blame zig-zag between Labour & NZF, but by the end it wasn't clear who won…

    • observer 2.1

      After all the hyped up TV3 trailers, the "secret recording" was about as exciting as a wet Wednesday in Westport.

      Nash has form for fruity language, so I was expecting at least "F**k Winston and the rest of them". We got nothing more than a mild-mannered explanation of how a coalition agreement works. Boring!

    • Cinny 2.2

      Good job.

      Did you know that PT went to Winston's 2017 speech at our local RSA…mhmm.

      There is no way PT or young andrew would want camera's on their vessels or fisheries loopholes closed.

      I'd like to see a red and green government with the addition of Tracey Martin, that would be awesome.

      Nash is archetypical as Minister for Fisheries, it's not a role for the meek, that's for certain. He would however, be more effective in helping to bring about much needed change if he didn't have so many other portfolio's.

  2. Dennis Frank 3

    Tova spills Nats internal polling result: https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2020/06/national-party-s-internal-polling-revealed-as-caucus-springs-another-leak.html

    the leadership told MPs Labour is on about 55 percent and National 34 percent. That's less than the 35 percent the party was polling under former leader Simon Bridges the week before Muller rolled him. It follows former deputy leader Paula Bennett's resignation revenge dance with comedian Tom Sainsbury on Monday. Bennett told Sainsbury about her resignation before even telling her boss Muller.

    • Incognito 3.1

      Labour could have been on 60+% if it wasn’t for David Clark and Ardern’s lack of leadership cheeky

      • weka 3.1.1

        Or 60+% if not for Tova 😈

      • anker 3.1.2

        Incognito I am pretty happy with 55%.

        Ardern continues to show incredible leadership throughout this crisis. With phenomenal results. Making her own decision about David Clark is leadership. Not giving in to the whining media calling for blood. As Ardern said early on after the border breach was discovered "Clark is not part of the problem, he is part of the solution". She also said when questioned about Clark early this week, that she knows what's really happening and based her call re Clark on that.

        If you think Ardern is showing a lack of leadership, think again

        • I Feel Love 3.1.2.1

          IKR? To moan that Labour are only polling at 55% …

        • Anne 3.1.2.2

          Yep. This is the tactic. Bully her into an action she will later regret. That is how the Right operates. Basic principles and political honesty is not part of their play book. They genuinely believe anything goes if it brings them closer to power.

          It's the primary difference between National/Act and Labour/Greens.

        • Incognito 3.1.2.3

          I was teasing Dennis Frank, see this thread in OM.

    • SPC 3.2

      Funny bit, was that some still want the police to have a raptor group (this after the …) to show they're a bunch of toughs.

  3. Muttonbird 4

    Simon Bridges lives on.

    I see the government has taken up one suggestion from the opposition, 100% depreciation of business asset purchases in the first year.

    This of course does help small and medium businesses in the short term but it is open to abuse long term which is why it's not law already.

    Not surprised Todd Muller isn't promoting this win – it's not his idea.

  4. Muttonbird 5

    Wow, this infighting in National is showing no signs of abating just 2 months out from the election.

    They are just as unstable and unelectable as they were before. Many careers are about to end…

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2020/06/national-party-s-internal-polling-revealed-as-caucus-springs-another-leak.html

  5. gsays 6

    Bob Mould has a new song.

    American crisis.

    Warning; contains some enthusiastic rock n roll.

    youtu.be/zD7TxGTPsV4

    Makes me think of Beaster era Sugar.

    • riffer 6.1

      Thanks for the heads up. A big Bob Mould fan. Zen Arcade is one of my top 10 albums ever.

      • gsays 6.1.1

        Candy Apple Grey and Warehouse Songs and Stories for me. I also really enjoyed Workbook for a differently paced listen.

    • Gabby 6.2

      Has he gone electric again? I thought he'd given it up. Beaster's 20 minutes of shock and awe.

      • gsays 6.2.1

        It's great to see a 60 yr old still able to tear the roof off.

        I was in the Uk in the early '90s and saw Sugar live a couple of times, JC Auto is incredible.

    • Oh, wow! Angriest song he's done in years, excellent stuff.

      My Bob Mould gig story is seeing him at the Phoenician, a large barn at the top of Broadway, Sydney, early nineties. Just him and a guitar. He wandered on stage with a hoody up, covering his face. No applause because everyone thought he was just a roadie setting up. Also memorable because a bunch of 'straight edge' proto emos chose to sit down en masse in the mosh area in front of the stage. Got trampled, of course.

      btw I cover a lot of Husker Du songs at open mics and gigs around my 'hood. Somebody's got to keep these songs alive, may as well be me.

      • gsays 6.3.1

        I know I shouldn't ask, do you enjoy performing one of the songwriters in Husker Du over the other?

        2541 will be at my funeral.

        • te reo putake 6.3.1.1

          Ah, the favourite child question! To be fair, Grant Hart's stuff goes down best as his were written in a more traditional rock structure, but as a guitarist I love playing Bob's song's more.

          You'll be pleased to know 2541 gets a regular airing, as does The Main. Mind you, I often go with Never Talking to You Again as the opening song in a set. Good warm up for the fingers and always surprises the hell out of the audience!

  6. Dennis Frank 7

    Recycling the old Alliance combo meme, Tim Murphy (co-editor of Newsroom) anticipates "a red-green coalition": https://www.newsroom.co.nz/politics/1287008/the-greens-cunning-plan

    It's a shame the Labour Party leader, Greens' governing partner and Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern damned the plan with the faint, back-handed praise that it relied on 'heroic' revenue assumptions.

    It's a shame National's finance spokesperson Paul Goldsmith didn't read the not-so-fine print in the policy and had to correct himself for condemning the plan for supposedly slapping taxes on anyone with a $1m house.

    But there was no shame for the Greens in being the first party to offer a big, detailed and transformative policy in response to the economic tornado that is Covid-19. This is what political parties should be doing, 80 or so days out from a general election in the context of a major economic downturn.

    • Herodotus 7.1

      Where is this detail you refer to ?? Because there isn't any on The Greens site.

      https://www.greens.org.nz/support_our_poverty_action_plan

      Pity that the 2nd aspect of their announcement on how to fund the policy was lazy and lacked factual support. James Shaw at least should have been well versed on his numbers. Pity he talks around such things in generalisations. So his tax could tax in 12billion per annum and that is only counting the assets that are disclosed in the Household Wealth or IRD, there are many that are excluded from this. So what will he do with the added tax take that he conveniently passes over ? "By 2024 the party expected the new tax changes would net $10.34b a year, mostly from the wealth tax." Someone is being economic with the truth either that or they haven't done their homework.

      He states that valuing peoples assets are easy yet only a few months ago the tax working group commented on the difficulty.

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=ib1XirDHQuY&feature=emb_title

      • Dennis Frank 7.1.1

        Best if you ask Weka or someone else re details of the policy – I don't go there. I'm the kind of person who prefers to wait for implementation & results before forming an opinion about how well it was designed. And note that I was quoting their co-editor, so it wasn't me who referred to it…

        • Herodotus 7.1.1.1

          I prefer to see well thought out policy even if it doesn’t go and achieve all that was intended. Unfortunately many if not all political groups are lazy ( to be kind) and just want to capture the headlines of the moment. This is a case in point , no reason as to $100 &$150k or the $1m and $2m levels. I had some idea that James Shaw has some depth of financial understanding – but the interview dispels that. He didn’t know the details or could not support his numbers. Just as well he wasn’t challenged by the interviewer. Doesn’t give confidence.
          Is there any party that has an idea of a coherent vision and strategy, we are being led by clowns on all sides.

  7. Pat 8

    "All of the above leads to uncomfortable issues for New Zealand to face. With a population that continues to increase rapidly, it becomes puzzling as to where and how New Zealand is going to find the export markets that underpin current per capita living standards in New Zealand."

    https://www.interest.co.nz/rural-news/105757/neither-europe-nor-usa-are-going-do-us-any-trading-favours-says-keith-woodford

    "The blunt reality is that if market forces are allowed to play out unhindered, then the likelihood is that New Zealand’s trade dependence on China is going to further increase. The reason for this is the same natural alignment that has led in recent years to China becoming the most important trading partner for New Zealand.

    Coming to terms with that hard reality requires a conversation that goes well beyond issues of trade. That discussion has to include issues such as immigration policy. It also has to include a discussion as to where New Zealand sits within global geopolitics. And it is no good simply stating the things that New Zealand should not do. It has to be specific about what New Zealand should do."

    NZs forever problem….exports.

    • greywarshark 8.1

      Something to think on pat. Not good to have all our eggs in one basket.

      We used to have a trade department that helped look for overseas business. That should help more, setting up some small bilateral deals outside of the cccppttt trade thing we signed up to. But most of all slow down on imports, bring in customs on everything. I'd hate it on the occasional thing I buy, but encouraging more NZ buying NZ. We need to stop living in airy fairy land. We used to think we were going to work towards being a small copy of the USA, a modern democracy knowing how to do business. But that was a 20thC thing. Now it is a new ball game and it isn't gridiron.

      • Absolutely. If we can shake off the cult of conspicuous consumption, the planned obsolescence of the neoliberal free market and return back to the days of my grandmother where everything had a second use and clothes lasted for decades, then we would be able to cut back on imports while our exports (food in a world growing heavy with people) continue to bring in the revenue.

        It might mean tough times for The Warehouse and other Chinese cheap junk markets, but so what!

        We simply cannot keep using once and discarding the precious world resources like we have been doing since the days of Rogernomics.

        • Pat 8.1.1.1

          much needs to change

          • Janet 8.1.1.1.1

            Yes much has needs to change. Yes much has been waiting for change for a good while now. The Covid situation seems almost “God Blessed” to arrive at this moment when change has been long long overdue. The restraints it puts on us helps us see the change needed. We must trim back excessive unnecessary travel, importation and consumption. We must return to waste not want not. We must close the doors on immigration to just those skills we absolutely do not have ( maybe a lot of needed skills are coming home anyway at the moment).The faster the population grows the less produce we will have to export. Overstocking destroys the environment and finally the people. I am looking for the politics that will immediately address the futures needs for a sustainable, stable and comfortable New Zealand.

        • greywarshark 8.1.1.2

          Don't pick on The Warehouse – I think it is still NZ owned. Try KMart- Australian and open from 8am to 12pm a lot of the 7 days a week it is open like the great big mouth at the gate of Luna Park! And KMart is doing very well. At least we have kept some of that competitive market money in NZ. What we need of course is more going down the road to the shoemaker, and the dressmaker and tailor. I

          t will cost us more initially, but I'm thinking if we had a system of paying out people in part local dollars that could only be accepted at local shops, and have it integrated into the tax dept with just playing 15% GST on the available dollars, then we could gradually refloat the economy into shallower waters. And bring in some of the discarded workers, give them opportunities to help themselves, and support them with working space, small loans to get started. We have to prepare for the tech-cut of jobs with planners telling us how lucky we are that we no longer have to do anything boring but forgetting to say that we will find doing nothing boring, and get verbally thrashed for it by the wolfare system that leaves teeth marks where it hurts.

          • gsays 8.1.1.2.1

            Less about where the peddler comes from, it is what they are peddling is the issue.

    • weka 8.2

      Hopefully our borders will stay closed long enough that we get to have a fuller conversation about this.

    • Macro 8.3

      Stop being such a worry pants. NZ products are in high demand.

      And with the the rest of the world in lock down they are not exporting because they are not producing. Have a look at the shelves in KMart or similar for instance. Empty. But our world is not falling apart because we can't buy a new cake mixer or expresso machine. Car imports are way down. Japan is keeping their old cars – can't afford to buy new ones.

      The result is that NZ had a record Trade Surplus for the first quarter 2020 and we will have another trade surplus this 2nd quarter just finishing.

      https://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/BU2005/S00568/record-monthly-surplus-as-imports-dive.htm

      • Pat 8.3.1

        2 quarters do not a future make.

        In case you didnt realise i wasnt the author of the article (or the many others over the years)….we can stop concerning ourselves with our exports when we either become self sufficient in the demanded necessities or learn to live (or not) without them

    • Draco T Bastard 8.4

      NZs forever problem….exports.

      Nope. Out forever problem is believing that trade will make us wealthy. It won't do that, its not even supposed to. Trade is supposed to balance in a free-market.

      Getting wealthy through trade is Mercantilism.

      Of course, capitalism has never been about everyone getting wealthy – just the few at the top.

      If we want the nation to get wealthy then we need to boost productivity and minimise the imports and exports.

      • Pat 8.4.1

        "Nope. Out forever problem is believing that trade will make us wealthy. It won't do that, its not even supposed to."

        who said anything about trade making us wealthy?

        "Trade is supposed to balance in a free-market."

        not sure where you get that idea

        "If we want the nation to get wealthy then we need to boost productivity and minimise the imports and exports."

        now THAT is mercantilism…..but again why are you obsessing about wealth when it hasnt been mentioned.
        we need to export to earn the currency to provide those things that we cannot provide for ourselves that society expects/requires….”getting wealthy” has sweet FA to do with it

        • Draco T Bastard 8.4.1.1

          who said anything about trade making us wealthy?

          Politicians, economists – you name it, they've said it.

          not sure where you get that idea

          Studying economics. Hell, the whole point of having a floating exchange rate is to balance trade.

          now THAT is mercantilism

          No it's not. Mecantilism is minimising imports while maximising exports.

          but again why are you obsessing about wealth when it hasnt been mentioned.

          Because you quoted it?

          New Zealand is going to find the export markets that underpin current per capita living standards in New Zealand."

          we need to export to earn the currency to provide those things that we cannot provide for ourselves that society expects/requires….”getting wealthy” has sweet FA to do with it

          In other words, maintaining our present wealth.

          And there is nothing that we can't provide for ourselves. The fact that you think that there is is proof that you've swallowed the Kool-aid about the necessity for trade.

          • Pat 8.4.1.1.1

            "In other words, maintaining our present wealth'

            No…in the words used….providing those things expected/required…if i meant to say 'maintaining our present wealth' I would have written such.

            "Studying economics. Hell, the whole point of having a floating exchange rate is to balance trade."

            And if you have studied economics you would know there is no relationship between a floating exchange rate and balanced trade…..like most economic theory the practice does not match the theory.

            "No it's not. Mecantilism is minimising imports while maximising exports."

            Afraid not, that may be the hoped for outcome but it is the method that makes it mercantilism.

            • Draco T Bastard 8.4.1.1.1.1

              And if you have studied economics you would know there is no relationship between a floating exchange rate and balanced trade…..like most economic theory the practice does not match the theory.

              True but that's probably because the exchange rate is left to speculation rather than being trade weighted.

              Afraid not,

              And you'd wrong again.

              https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercantilism

              Mercantilism is an economic policy that is designed to maximize the exports and minimize the imports for an economy.

              I said to minimize both. Its what we need to do to remove our reliance upon trade while still having what we want/expect.

              • Pat

                and how do you propose to minimise both….I expect the method engaged would amount to mercantilism…but youre welcome to explain otherwise.

                and then theres the not insignificant matter of providing all those expectations/needs

      • We need to build sustainable infrastructure and our well being resilience and cultural integrity. All activities should be put through those sieves first. Needs versus wants. IMO

  8. Dennis Frank 9

    How social realities get constructed, lesson 1: https://www.nzherald.co.nz/politics/news/article.cfm?c_id=280&objectid=12343541

    Growing majority of Kiwis support legalising cannabis, new poll finds. Licensed medicinal cannabis company Helius Therapeutics commissioned the independent Horizon Research survey of nearly 1600 Kiwis. It found 56 per cent of respondents plan to vote for legalising cannabis for personal use on September 19.

    Respondents to the latest survey came from Horizon's nationwide research panels and represent the adult population of the 2018 Census with results weighted by factors including age, gender, income and party voted for at the last election. The maximum margin of error is 2.9 per cent. The online survey was conducted between June 10 to 14 and questioned 1593 adults.

    How social realities get constructed, lesson 2: https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/majority-kiwis-still-against-legalising-cannabis-according-latest-1-news-colmar-brunton-poll

    Those polled were asked if they are planning on voting for cannabis to be legalised or to remain illegal at this year’s referendum:

    Legalise: 40% (up 1 from February's poll)
    Remain illegal: 49% (down 2)
    Will not vote: 1%
    Don't know/refused: 11% (down 2)

    Between June 20 to 24, 2020, 1007 eligible voters were polled by landline (404) and mobile phone (603). The maximum sampling error is approximately ±3.1%-points at the 95% confidence level. The data has been weighted to align with Stats NZ population counts for age, gender, region, ethnic identification and mobile or landline access.

    Now given that there's about a week between the two samples, could be that 8% of the public had a sudden change of mind and reversed their stance.

    A more intriguing possibility is that there are two (or more) publics in Aotearoa, as defined by stats polling methodology. I'll leave that to the stats experts to figure out. But a bit of a Schrodinger's cat situation, eh? Which one is real, or are they both simultaneously??

  9. I Feel Love 10

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/travel/2020/06/lloyd-burr-hey-duncan-garner-your-covid-19-border-idea-is-bonkers.amp.html?__twitter_impression=true yep, Duncan is a dunce, and frightening those NZrs overseas, luckily he's about at faraway from the levers of power as anyone could be.

    • observer 10.1

      Well said, Lloyd Burr. Everyone should read that, and not just Garner.

      Armchair assumptions by the simple-minded have been a constant annoyance throughout this pandemic. Monitoring everyone is easy (no), testing everyone is easy (no), quarantine is easy (no), decisions about what is open/closed are easy (no) … in fact there are no practicalities to think about at all, we just reckon something and it magically happens.

      And when Dr Bloomfield explains any of this for the 100th time, he must remain calm and patient. Maybe he really is a saint.

      • Draco T Bastard 10.1.1

        Armchair assumptions by the simple-minded have been a constant annoyance throughout this pandemic.

        This sums it up:

        For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong.

        H. L. Mencken

  10. SPC 11

    The sad tale of a stateside success unravelling – LA faces the prospect of its hospitals being overun.

    https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/29/us/california-coronavirus-reopening.html

    • I Feel Love 11.1

      I've been watching the US Late Shows and Cooper Anderson and Casie DC CNN etc & the despair of the reporting is getting more and more noticeable, they are desperate for some leadership!

      Also to see the Florida and Texas Governor backtracking and pleading for people to wear masks is quite something.

      & now the military & intelligence services are starting to get angry, a perfect storm.

  11. weka 12

    Ardern on Monday sternly warned New Zealanders against recreational travel abroad, despite the European Union’s announcement that the country was on its new list of accepted travellers. She said those leaving New Zealand for non-essential reasons could be forced to pay for their mandatory two-week quarantine upon returning – to the tune of thousands of dollars.

    Sounds reasonable to me. Unless there is a crucial reason for leaving NZ, it should be paid for by the individual. What counts as crucial might need some discussion. Not sure the govt can legally charge people trying to get back in since covid, but those leaving deliberately for a holiday or to travel, yeah, nah.

    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/jun/30/jacinda-ardern-decries-dangerous-calls-to-reopen-new-zealand-borders-coronavirus?

    • observer 12.1

      It's canny politics, and we can see the message control in real time (except the fools who think she's a lightweight, only does the hugs blah blah).

      Ardern discussed the issue at yesterday's post-Cab, knowing it would be picked up. It has become the main "border story" in the past 24 hours. It deflects nicely from the trickier issues – PM doesn't want to be blaming the returners but this is a much softer target. Cue the vox pops on tonight's news, all on side.

      I'd guess potential holiday makers leaving and returning would be a small percentage of the total, but never mind, it plays very well (privileged, unpatriotic, entitled but taxpayer-funded etc). Media manipulation, job done.

      • weka 12.1.1

        I haven't been following. Is there a reason they can't slow down arrivals so that quarantine services can cope (and upscale)?

        • Craig H 12.1.1.1

          Can't refuse entry to citizens or residents and they are starting to expand other groups e.g. partners and children of citizens and residents, a slightly wider definition of essential work.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Prime Ministers’ meeting reaffirms close trans-Tasman relationship
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins and Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese today held their first bilateral meeting in Canberra. It was Chris Hipkins’ first overseas visit since he took office, reflecting the close relationship between New Zealand and Australia. “New Zealand has no closer partner than Australia. I was pleased to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 hours ago
  • Immediate humanitarian support to Türkiye and Syria following earthquakes
    New Zealand will immediately provide humanitarian support to those affected by the earthquakes in Türkiye and Syria, Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta announced today. “Aotearoa New Zealand is deeply saddened by the loss of life and devastation caused by these earthquakes. Our thoughts are with the families and loved ones affected,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    8 hours ago
  • Pākinga Pā site to be gifted back to local hapū
    An historic Northland pā site with links to Ngāpuhi chief Hongi Hika is to be handed back to iwi, after collaboration by government, private landowners and local hapū. “It is fitting that the ceremony for the return of the Pākinga Pā site is during Waitangi weekend,” said Regional Development Minister ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    11 hours ago
  • New initiatives to unlock Māori science and research resources
    The Government is investing in a suite of initiatives to unlock Māori and Pacific resources, talent and knowledge across the science and research sector, Research, Science and Innovation Minister Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Two new funds – He tipu ka hua and He aka ka toro – set to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    12 hours ago
  • Advancing our relationship in India
    Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta departs for India tomorrow as she continues to reconnect Aotearoa New Zealand to the world.  The visit will begin in New Delhi where the Foreign Minister will meet with the Vice President Hon Jagdeep Dhankar and her Indian Government counterparts, External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar and ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Government Northland housing investment to spark transformational change
    Over $10 million infrastructure funding to unlock housing in Whangārei The purchase of a 3.279 hectare site in Kerikeri to enable 56 new homes Northland becomes eligible for $100 million scheme for affordable rentals Multiple Northland communities will benefit from multiple Government housing investments, delivering thousands of new homes for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Government investment safeguards Waitangi Treaty Grounds
    The Government is supporting one of Aotearoa New Zealand’s most significant historic sites, the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, as it continues to recover from the impacts of COVID-19. “The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are a taonga that we should protect and look after. This additional support will mean people can continue to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Battle of Ohaeawai remembered
    A memorial event at a key battle site in the New Zealand land wars is an important event to mark the progress in relations between Māori and the Crown as we head towards Waitangi Day, Minister for Te Arawhiti Kelvin Davis said. The Battle of Ohaeawai in June 1845 saw ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • More Police deployed to the frontline
    More Police officers are being deployed to the frontline with the graduation of 54 new constables from the Royal New Zealand Police College today. The graduation ceremony for Recruit Wing 362 at Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua was the first official event for Stuart Nash since his reappointment as Police ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Further support for upper North Island regions hit by significant weather
    The Government is unlocking an additional $700,000 in support for regions that have been badly hit by the recent flooding and storm damage in the upper North Island. “We’re supporting the response and recovery of Auckland, Waikato, Coromandel, Northland, and Bay of Plenty regions, through activating Enhanced Taskforce Green to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • The Princess Royal to visit New Zealand
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has welcomed the announcement that Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal, Princess Anne, will visit New Zealand this month. “Princess Anne is travelling to Aotearoa at the request of the NZ Army’s Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals, of which she is Colonel in Chief, to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Government and horticulture sector target $12b in exports by 2035
    A new Government and industry strategy launched today has its sights on growing the value of New Zealand’s horticultural production to $12 billion by 2035, Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor said. “Our food and fibre exports are vital to New Zealand’s economic security. We’re focussed on long-term strategies that build on ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Cost of living support extended for families and businesses
    25 cents per litre petrol excise duty cut extended to 30 June 2023 – reducing an average 60 litre tank of petrol by $17.25 Road User Charge discount will be re-introduced and continue through until 30 June Half price public transport fares extended to the end of June 2023 saving ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • More Kiwis in work as rising wages match inflation
    The strong economy has attracted more people into the workforce, with a record number of New Zealanders in paid work and wages rising to help with cost of living pressures. “The Government’s economic plan is delivering on more better-paid jobs, growing wages and creating more opportunities for more New Zealanders,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Government boosts fund for Auckland flooding
    The Government is providing a further $1 million to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced today. “Cabinet today agreed that, given the severity of the event, a further $1 million contribution be made. Cabinet wishes to be proactive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New Cabinet focused on bread and butter issues
    The new Cabinet will be focused on core bread and butter issues like the cost of living, education, health, housing and keeping communities and businesses safe, Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has announced. “We need a greater focus on what’s in front of New Zealanders right now. The new Cabinet line ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Prime Minister to meet with PM Albanese
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins will travel to Canberra next week for an in person meeting with Australian Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese. “The trans-Tasman relationship is New Zealand’s closest and most important, and it was crucial to me that my first overseas trip as Prime Minister was to Australia,” Chris Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government makes first payment to Auckland Flooding fund
    The Government is providing establishment funding of $100,000 to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced. “We moved quickly to make available this funding to support Aucklanders while the full extent of the damage is being assessed,” Kieran McAnulty ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government steps up to assist Auckland during flooding
    As the Mayor of Auckland has announced a state of emergency, the Government, through NEMA, is able to step up support for those affected by flooding in Auckland. “I’d urge people to follow the advice of authorities and check Auckland Emergency Management for the latest information. As always, the Government ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Poroporoaki: Titewhai Te Huia Hinewhare Harawira
    Ka papā te whatitiri, Hikohiko ana te uira, wāhi rua mai ana rā runga mai o Huruiki maunga Kua hinga te māreikura o te Nota, a Titewhai Harawira Nā reira, e te kahurangi, takoto, e moe Ka mōwai koa a Whakapara, kua uhia te Tai Tokerau e te kapua pōuri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Enhanced Task Force Green Approved following Cyclone Hale
    Carmel Sepuloni, Minister for Social Development and Employment, has activated Enhanced Taskforce Green (ETFG) in response to flooding and damaged caused by Cyclone Hale in the Tairāwhiti region. Up to $500,000 will be made available to employ job seekers to support the clean-up. We are still investigating whether other parts ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • General Election to be held on 14 October 2023
    The 2023 General Election will be held on Saturday 14 October 2023, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced today. “Announcing the election date early in the year provides New Zealanders with certainty and has become the practice of this Government and the previous one, and I believe is best practice,” Jacinda ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announces resignation
    Jacinda Ardern has announced she will step down as Prime Minister and Leader of the Labour Party. Her resignation will take effect on the appointment of a new Prime Minister. A caucus vote to elect a new Party Leader will occur in 3 days’ time on Sunday the 22nd of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago