Daily Review 30/07/2015

Written By: - Date published: 6:06 pm, July 30th, 2015 - 31 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

keyfrown

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other

31 comments on “Daily Review 30/07/2015”

  1. b waghorn 1

    http://www.futureofwork.nz/technology?utm_campaign=150730_techppr&utm_medium=email&utm_source=nzlabour
    This is the reason I recently joined labour Mr Little and his leadership around the future of work shows labour is looking ahead to a major issue people will face which is machines and software taking peoples reason to get up in the morning.

    • Colonial Viper 1.1

      Although far sighted, I think this is going looking the wrong track. The future of work must be centred around getting ready for climate change, fossil fuel depletion and recreating social + community relations.

      The whole “everyone is going to be web developers and telecommute” is so year 2000.

      • Molly 1.1.1

        “The whole “everyone is going to be web developers and telecommute” is so year 2000.”

        Must admit, had to chuckle when I read this as that is my perspective too.

        There seem to be no real innovators or changemakers in this country at the moment.

        I do think we will get them, and I am looking forward to the consternation they will cause amongst the existing follow-the-norm businesses we have.

        • b waghorn 1.1.1.1

          My suggestion to you two is there is a submission part so have you’re say.

          • Molly 1.1.1.1.1

            Will do b waghorn. Thanks for reinforcing that option.

          • Charles 1.1.1.1.2

            “…a submission, you say?”

            The Unteroffizier lit a cigarette. “Yes.” He replied, as if reciting lines in a strange play. “Make a submission to the Oberstleutnant. Make your claims clear.”

            “Will they be heard?”

            “No.”

            The crack of seven rifles then ended the conversation.

        • Nordy 1.1.1.2

          If you took your ‘black hat’ off and did some reading you might find out how narrow and limited you understanding is of this work.

          From Grant Robertson’s speech in February this year:

          “For our purposes we have divided the Commission into five work streams. For each stream an issues paper is being developed that will form the basis of work and consultation throughout 2015.”

          The five work streams are: Technology – Impact and Opportunity, Security of Work and Income, Education and Training, Māori and Pasifika and the Future of Work, and Economic Development and Sustainability.

          “Major themes to be explored in the this steam [Economic Development and Sustainability] include how to stimulate sustainable growth that take account of these changes, and the forces of technological change, globalisation, climate change and migration, how to make it simpler to do business and to scale business up, how to promote diversification, regional development and improve opportunities for small and medium sized enterprises, how to support businesses in a changing environment.”

          If you think it is on the wrong track, then get involved and show everybody how wrong they are.

          • Adele 1.1.1.2.1

            Kiaora Nordy

            You would think that the Labour Party would have the answers to these high minded questions by now. Its called Google.

      • b waghorn 1.1.2

        In my preferred vision of nzs political future the greens need to be taking the climate change lead, as for fossil fuel depletion fracking , tar sands and I’ll bet you anything you like theres shit loads of oil in Antarctica so we need to lead people away from it instead of hoping oil will run out.
        As for social + community relations IMO the internet is the new village , as a late adapter who has lived a feely isolated life buying this here note paddy thingy me bob has made me a happier more connected person.

      • Draco T Bastard 1.1.3

        The whole “everyone is going to be web developers and telecommute” is so year 2000.

        Good job he doesn’t actually say that then eh? Really, you’ve been reading too much of John Greer who’s almost completely wrong in his prognostications of what’s going to happen.

        • marty mars 1.1.3.1

          How can you actually say that, “who’s almost completely wrong in his prognostications of what’s going to happen.” – it HASNT happened yet.

          • Draco T Bastard 1.1.3.1.1

            Easy. I’ve read his stuff and find it completely out of line from reality. He even thinks that manual farming requires ~100% of the population rather than the approximate 50% that it actually does. It’s mistakes like this that has him wrong on what’s going to happen.

            Sure, we need to adjust but we’re not going to lose 5000 years of learning just because we lose access to oil.

            • marty mars 1.1.3.1.1.1

              another grandiose claim – 100% you say, everyone, all people – I’ve never read him saying that so I think you have misread and misinterpreted.

              • Draco T Bastard

                Nope, look through all his posts, especially his early posts, and you’ll see what I’m talking about. Read his once online novel Star’s Reach. He really does believe that the vast majority of people (I didn’t say 100%) will have to be farmers and work the land and that they’re going to be living in grinding poverty.

                • “100% of the population”

                  is what you said so when you say, “I didn’t say 100%)” that would not be the truth would it.

                  You don’t have a clue about what he believes – fuck try getting what YOU believe in order as in the above lol

      • joe90 1.1.4

        The whole “everyone is going to be web developers and telecommute” is so year 2000.

        Seems I have a 14.8% chance of being automated.

        http://www.npr.org/sections/money/2015/05/21/408234543/will-your-job-be-done-by-a-machine

        • Ergo Robertina 1.1.4.1

          It reckons I have just over 11% likelihood of being automated but a judge is 40% (lawyer – 3.5%). I don’t believe that – especially having seen the debacle in my local supermarket where 6 months ago they added more automatic checkouts. Now at busy times there are long queues for the few remaining normal checkouts, and the other day the checkout person (97%) told me it was a mistake to take so many out as people with a lot of groceries don’t use them.
          They should have listened to me – a store person canvassed me before the change and I told them I wouldn’t use them. It was quite rude as I was queuing at the time and the checkout person heard the exchange. When it was my turn to be served she said: ‘they want to replace us with machines’ and we talked about how the job is undervalued and that older people especially would find it difficult to use the automatic checkouts.
          Thing is even if I didn’t have a philosophical objection it would be my luck for the thing to have a meltdown while I was using it. I think for a lot of people they’re tired or hanging on to kids and it’s easier to go through a normal checkout.

          • Karen 1.1.4.1.1

            I don’t use them either.

            Why does anybody support replacing someone (who probably has limited choice in employment) with a machine?

  2. Clemgeopin 2

    RadioLIVE producer Mitch Harris has put together these five key facts about the deal: – See here:

    http://www.radiolive.co.nz/Five-facts-about-the-TPPA-you-need-to-know/tabid/131/articleID/92007/Default.aspx#sthash.gmjb6ZDZ.dpuf

    Willie and Ali talk with Auckland University law professor Jane Kelsey on the TPPA and why she is so opposed to it.

    http://www.radiolive.co.nz/What-the-anti-TPPA-activists-are-saying/tabid/506/articleID/92645/Default.aspx

    • ianmac 2.1

      And just reading Gordon Campbell’s inside peep of the rather weak position for NZ in negotiations. For example he thinks that the deal is really US getting good access into Japan, with the others like NZ just getting the crumbs falling off the table. Will we sign just the same?
      http://gordoncampbell.scoop.co.nz/2015/07/30/gordon-campbell-on-d-day-for-dairy-at-the-tpp/

      • Clemgeopin 2.1.1

        With Key being in charge, I suspect we will, UNLESS some smart, independent, wise National MPs with integrity and good conscience, if there are any, look at the issue independently and decide to vote for or against with absolute honesty and integrity rather than as told by their party whip. The issue is very important and far reaching.
        I don’t hold much hope with ACT’s Seymour or UF’s Dunne as they seem to be in politics for themselves and their own interests.

  3. The Gormless fool formerly known as Oleolebiscuitbarrell 3

    Just helped my daughter do her essay on An Inspector Calls.

    She’s so getting a not achieved.

    • Instauration 3.1

      Well – unless you suggested she give credit to the event that a Socialist supremo currently elicits an 85% approval plebiscite from a subjected populace – I suspect she will attain “not achieved” – which is better than losing,.. !
      But we are not here to be better than each other.. eh ?/
      Priestley never contemplated a Putin !

  4. Rosemary McDonald 4

    And for a little light relief.

    Someone said “Hair”, and he was there…

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/bay-of-plenty-times/news/article.cfm?c_id=1503343&objectid=11489332

    • David H 5.1

      Now they start ringing the Alarm bells. Before the last election when they all attacked the left as idiots would have been a better time. But if you lay down with dogs…

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    2 weeks ago