Daily Review 08/09/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, September 8th, 2017 - 91 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

(Image courtesy of @ToddAtticus – watch out for the T Shirt!)

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

91 comments on “Daily Review 08/09/2017”

  1. ianmac 1

    Mr English claims that He/They increased the rate of fortnightly Superannuation pay.

    Isn’t the rate geared to the cost of living? Increase is automatic I would have thought?

  2. Bill 2

    Fucking media!

    In an updated warning, they predicted waves over 3m for parts of the Mexican coast, and waves between 0.3 and 1 meters for the Cook Islands, Ecuador, French Polynesia, Guatemala and Kiribati.

    How many more times? The height of a wave means jackshit. It’s the wave length that makes a tsunami a tsunami.

    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/sep/08/mexico-earthquake-warning-tsunami

    • You mean fucking Pacific Tsunami warning centre for they said it and the media reported it, didn’t they?

      • Bill 2.1.1

        No, I don’t mean “the fucking Pacific Tsunami warning centre”. Their warning is explicitly about 3m high tsunami waves. And that is very different to waves of over 3m. (That’s the shit that has had teachers taking schoolkids down to the beach for the sake of a wee spectacle.)

        http://tsunami.gov/events/PHEB/2017/09/08/17251000/4/WEPA40/WEPA40.txt

        • marty mars 2.1.1.1

          I read it and they talked of wave height not length the PTWS that is.

          Edit. I read it because you often talk about media bullshit so I wanted to see that.

          • Bill 2.1.1.1.1

            No. They talk of tsunami wave height (and period). The word tsunami implies long wave length. The Guardian report only talks about ‘waves’ in the generic sense – y’know, shit that breaks on the beach as it were.

            edit – actual wave length can’t be given because of differing coastal topography. As the wave slows (or energy bunches), you get a resultant wavelength.

            • weka 2.1.1.1.1.1

              I didn’t take it that way, given the whole article was about tsunamis, but I agree that the media is still shockingly bad at reporting on this and it’s odd that they are. Earlier reports said there was no tsunami risk. That shit is dangerous.

            • marty mars 2.1.1.1.1.2

              So they CAN only talk about wave height. Your issue is that they supposedly said wave height rather than tsunami wave height?
              Seems pretty pedantic to me and hardly an example of media deserving the title fucking media.

        • weka 2.1.1.2

          From that link,

          “TSUNAMI WAVES REACHING MORE THAN 3 METERS ABOVE THE TIDE
          LEVEL ARE POSSIBLE ALONG SOME COASTS OF MEXICO”

          Is your objection that the MSM aren’t saying ‘tsunami waves’ each time? Not sure how that relates to length though.

          • Bill 2.1.1.2.1

            My ‘objection’ is pretty simple. It’s like the difference between saying there are coals on the floor and that there are hot coals on the floor.

            (I just word searched the Guardian article in case I’d missed it. “tsunami wave” gets zero hits.)

          • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.2.2

            Bill seems to be concerned about the difference between a normal wave 3m high would be only be a few metres wide. A tsunami, on the other hand, is several hundred kilometres wide and moving a hell of a lot faster.

            Whereas a normal wave will hit and break and that’s it the tsunami will just keep coming and coming.

            The difference in destructive power is astronomical.

            • Stuart Munro 2.1.1.2.2.1

              A tsunami is fairly specifically an earthquake wave – the higher sea levels of concentrated low pressure systems are something very different, and combined with the rainfall of tropical storms typically aggravate flooding of low lying areas for at least a tidal cycle. The storm surge doesn’t hit like a hammer, and it doesn’t build amplitude in shallow water to the same extent.

            • weka 2.1.1.2.2.2

              Yeah, but isn’t that a given with tsunamis? That the 3 metres above high tide is the height of the water moving inland?

              I do agree the media could be doing some education on this though.

              • Yeah, but isn’t that a given with tsunamis?

                If people understand that but indications are that many don’t hence Bill’s “(That’s the shit that has had teachers taking schoolkids down to the beach for the sake of a wee spectacle.)”

  3. Jacinda Stardust – Rockstar status !

    Bill English ,…. you complete out of touch fool.

    L0L!

  4. Graeme 4

    A poll that indicates National won’t be able to form a government…

    https://www.newsroom.co.nz/2017/09/08/46799/labour-gap-women

    Labour 45
    National 30
    Green 6
    NZF 11

    Newsroom / SSI taken early this week

  5. alwyn 5

    If anyone is interested here is a precis of some Roy Morgan research on the things New Zealanders are most concerned about in the run up to the election.
    Basically the income gap and housing.
    Look at the one on employment as well though. Only 1% in New Zealand compared to 9% in Australia.
    A friend passed me on this link. Sorry about the length of it. I hope it works.

    http://www.roymorgan.com/findings/7324-issues-facing-new-zealand-august-2017-201709081150?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=NZ%20Issues%20August&utm_content=NZ%20Issues%20August+CID_d4a03a8d2e468590044ab9de1b337ee4&utm_source=Market%20Research%20Update&utm_term=viewing

  6. Grant Buist 6

    This election’s ‘Planet Key’ is out!
    ‘Hollow Man’ by Wellington band Neverwoz:

  7. hoom 7

    No post for TVNZ minor parties debate (with no Winston First & TOP excluded because ‘its the rules’ but includes United no-name guy)?

    Has been a really annoying crackle at least on the web feed.

    Shaw got a nice one suggesting making Epsom electorate RMA free for a trial period, leave it in place for everyone else 🙂

    • arkie 7.1

      it’s good quality on the tvnz youtube channel. And there’s no ads!

      • marty mars 7.1.1

        Thanks – any verdicts before I inflict it upon myself

        • Carolyn_nth 7.1.1.1

          I was glad I recorded it so I could fast forward through David Seymour speaking. the guy talked over everyone and lectured – too much speaking time – an arrogant bully.

          Marama Fox was very good, as was James Shaw.

          The UF guy speaks very fast – someone tweeted he’s like a hipster on coke – but he also said we need to move away from dependence on agriculture.

          • Hanswurst 7.1.1.1.2

            I was actually quite impressed with Damian Light in the little I saw of what he had to say. That was completely against my expectations.

            • hoom 7.1.1.1.2.1

              Probably fewer people knew he exists than have read Seymour’s book :p

              And he’s not gonna be in Parliament so he really shouldn’t have been there.

              • Hanswurst

                Oh, I don’t know… If you’re going to say that the rules are the rules, and rule out Morgan, then you have to do the opposite with UF and give Mr. Light a platform.

                Having said that, I would have been much more interested in hearing what Mr. Morgan had to say.

                • mikesh

                  I have nothing against Mr LIght, but he was there only because Future NZ still has a seat in parliament. Given, though, that this situation will come to an end in about a fortnight, it makes a farce of the so called criterion.

                  I too would have preferred to have seen Gareth Morgan participating in the debate. Even if it is unable to reach 5%, TOP´s capacity to take votes from other parties could seriously affect the election outcome.

          • Grey Area 7.1.1.1.3

            David Seymour an arrogant bully – yep. He is a nasty piece of work. The more I see and hear him this election campaign the more I detest him. Apart from the failed ideology he spouts, I hate the way he attacks opponents in these debates with snide, offensive remarks.

            While I am disappointed in the Maori Party’s propping up of the National Party for years I am gaining a grudging respect for Marama Fox.

            James Shaw was great. The guy who shouldn’t have been there did okay. I don’t think we missed the guy who tossed his toys out of the cot and didn’t turn up.

        • hoom 7.1.1.2

          It was really odd with no Winston but with no-name United guy.

          Thankfully no Hosking, him being ‘sick’ was a handy face saving way of kicking him out 🙂

          Kinda actually tuned out for the 2nd half 😮
          Felt like Shaw did pretty well, some good feels between him & Marama.

          Nact types will doubtless feel it was a dominating performance by Seymour.

    • Hanswurst 7.2

      Didn’t have any problems with the webcast quality here. I have find myself really liking what Marama Fox has to say in each of the debates I’ve seen her in. I found her style somewhat distracting in the previous debates, but her interjections, both affirmative and negative, were toned down a bit to-day, and a bit more pointed. I really hope Harawira wins in Te Tai Tokerau, since I think having the two of them as strong voices in coalition with Labour and the Greens would be a plus.

      • hoom 7.2.1

        It was just a little crackle like one of the mikes was acting up.

        Otherwise +1

        Apparently it was supposed to be an ‘All Parties, all Leaders’ debate & Winston pulled out because Labour & Nats didn’t even accept the invitation which is a big shame really.

        Should have left empty plinths like TV3 did in a previous debate.

    • ianmac 7.3

      Small Debate was interesting because it gave James Shaw a good window and he was very good. Concise. Credible, Trustworthy. As was Marama Fox.

      But that awful Seymour rat was loud abusive and very narrow minded. I think someone must have told Seymour top belt up like I think someone must have done to Bill last night. Shouty Bill and Shouty Seymour are a bit out of self-control.

      The UF was OK. Brave like the elderly UF chap who spoke at the Grey power panel yesterday. But discount them.

      Corin did as well as could be expected. Better than Mike.

      • Ed 7.3.1

        Du Plessis Allen described Seymour as a class act.
        But then she has form.

        • Ffloyd 7.3.1.1

          She what! Really?

        • Mrs Brillo 7.3.1.2

          I think she may have meant to say “Lower class act”. He was a dreadful PITA with his arrogant interjections. Altogether too much in love with himself.

          Ms Fox and James Shaw were impressive. The Not Peter Dunne guy was as good as could be expected. I understand rules are rules, but I kept wishing Gareth Morgan could have been there.

      • popexplosion 7.3.2

        Greens are the only pure list party, why does media concentrate on constituent parties, so ACT get invited?!? Surely the top four parties controlling all but 4 mps would be the ideal panel. Are we seriously not going to see a leader’s head to head debate. Does this show tvnz bias as they love Seymour to show up.

  8. ScottGN 8

    Well that was a hospital pass for poor old Corin.

  9. hoom 9

    Not personally affected by Vodafone closing their email servers https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/industries/96631562 but it reminds me of a post a bunch of years back suggesting there should be some kind of Govt supplied email service to avoid this kind of issues.

    ISP transfer/ISPs dying/shutting down their email servers is a pretty real issue.
    There are a lot of online services people have tied to their email addresses & getting them all transferred over to a new provider is a big PITA with potentially serious consequences if you miss/forget one.

    Its true that Gmail & Yahoo exist, are free but some of us really don’t want to have to rely on those companies continuing their service/not making it fully ad based or otherwise act deplorably.

    On the other hand, could/would/should we trust the Govt to run a free email server without all sorts of privacy/data-sharing concerns?

    The advantage is the Govt could setup an independent entity with legal privacy guarantees written into law.
    It should be a small enough expense relative to Govt spending that once setup it’d be unlikely to be killed for pure money saving.

    • Carolyn_nth 9.1

      I’ll be switching from vodafone – hope that’s not too messy a thing to do. i do not want a web based, ad-carrying email as my main email.

      • weka 9.1.1

        not sure how many good options there are tbh. Vodafone are saying they will forward email to a new address, so that’s something I guess. Didn’t give much notice though.

    • On the other hand, could/would/should we trust the Govt to run a free email server without all sorts of privacy/data-sharing concerns?

      I trust them more than the private corporations. Especially if we put in the proper regulations and processes to ensure that abuse of the system would be difficult and quickly picked up if anybody tried anything.

    • James Thrace 9.3

      NZ post missed that opportunity. Telecom even went to them back in the mid 90s to be the main holder of email addresses as telecom didn’t want to faff about with it. Telecom would ensure the server side of things but didn’t want to have what they thought, would be an interminable amount of email addresses and not much else.

      NZ Post declined. Said they didn’t believe email would overtake letters as a preferred medium of communication.

      The rest is history.

      • hoom 9.3.1

        You know, I was thinking a name like KiwiM@il & running it via NZPost…

        I can understand NZPost being reticent mid ’90s but maybe they’d be more interested now post KiwiBank & with dedicated Govt funding?

        But NZPost on its own would need to operate it as a commercial profit-making business which it couldn’t/shouldn’t be.

        Maybe run by NZPost on behalf of & funded by relevant Dept/Authority?

    • mikesh 9.4

      Perhaps NZ Post could set up an email service.

  10. Ovid 10

    I decided to watch the book launch of The 9th Floor with Bolger, Clark, Shipley and Palmer instead of the minor leaders debate. It was a good korero.

  11. Pat 11

    why is everyone confusing Ziggy Stardust (a much better album) with Aladdin Sane?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aladdin_Sane

  12. ScottGN 12

    Is South Auckland about to exact a terrible revenge on a government which has ignored it for too long?
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/96665196/the-prime-minister-ventures-into-enemy-territory

  13. ScottGN 13

    Haha. Chickens coming home to roost. Where are the bridges?
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11919885

    • The Weekend Herald tracked down farmer Bill Kerr as the land owner NZTA is negotiating with and found he’s got the government over a barrel.

      When NZTA came calling, Kerr wanted to talk about a drain he wanted under the road a few kilometres north of the bridge. The road there is mangroves one side (high tide laps against the road) and paddocks on the other.

      When the paddocks flood, the water can’t drain out under the road.

      1. That’s his problem and not the governments
      2. He obviously doesn’t realise that he doesn’t own the land and that the government can take it at any time
      3. He obviously hasn’t considered what salt water will do to his fields once it starts coming through the drain

  14. Hanswurst 14

    Jon Stokes, in an opinion piece in the Herald online gives little chance to a coalition between Labour and the Maori Party. His reasons are essentially twofold: firstly, that the two are natural enemies in the Maori seats, with Labour seeing the existence of the Maori Party as an affront to their rightful ascendancy there, and secondly, that the Labour Maori caucus will never assent to Flavell as Minister of Maori Development and of Whanau Ora.

    I can sort of see the reasoning on the first count, although the experience of previous MMP coalitions does not suggest that the Maori Party would automatically raise its profile within the tent as part of a Labour government, as opposed to being able to differ from it on progressive policy from the relative freedom of opposition. I don’t want that statement to be misconstrued, since I think it would be better in terms of policy gains for both parties to be in a governmental coalition with each other, but I think that that is a separate issue from how they would run their electoral campaigns, and I think that both being in coalition and sitting on the cross-benches would present challenges to both parties.

    In terms of the issue of ministerial positions, I can’t really see what Stokes is thinking. Surely there are plenty of options: associate ministerial positions; roles in finance, education, social or economic development; the creation of a new position, like therole of ‘Treasurer’ for Peters in the coalition with Bolger’s National in 1996; extraordinary ministerial or secretarial positions outside cabinet like for Peters in 2005 or Seymour in the Key government. The last option would also free the two parties up to disagree with each other and adopt spokesperson roles for sounding out ideas with the public without alienating their respective electorates. There seems to be a rather broad mix of possibilities covering the whole ambit from the governmentally effective to the politically expedient.

    All of that makes me wonder where Jon Stokes comes from exactly. The name hasn’t registered with me before, burt articles I can find online by him seem to contain some rather considered advocacy on politics from a Maori perspective, and his being a long-time writer for the Herald on “Maori issues” suggests that he knows what he’s talking about, but the opinion piece looks like rather shallow propaganda. Anybody know more?

    • marty mars 14.1

      I tend to agree with him. Bad blood wont get sorted this election imo. The talk of lab greens and MP makes me smile – naive thinking that would be a miracle if it happened – but we’ve seen some of them already so…

      • Hanswurst 14.1.1

        You agree with him that it won’t happen, or you agree with him that it won’t happen both because the Labour Party views the Maori Party as a threat in the Maori seats, and because the issues around ministerial positions can’t be resolved?

        • weka 14.1.1.1

          So if it was a choice between L/G/Mp and N/Act/NZF you reckon Labour and the Mp wouldn’t work together?

          • Hanswurst 14.1.1.1.1

            Is that directed at me or at Marty?

          • marty mars 14.1.1.1.2

            Those ministerial limos are so inviting – perhaps if baubles were offered in abundance. And the Labour Maori MPs have shown that they can follow the party line so maybe it could work. Fox is smart and they want to be at the table – Mana is assimilated so yep it could be done.

        • marty mars 14.1.1.2

          Sorry the latter. They are in competition, mana is at stake for the Labour mps – Davis will not be 2nd to one of them imo and the bad blood runs deep.
          And as mentioned above it could be done.

    • millsy 14.2

      Im picking Labour will give Winston Primary Industries/Agriculture,

  15. James 15

    For Muttonbird and Weka

    • ianmac 15.1

      That was pretty good because Bill English was unable to trot out his nonsense. I like him much more when he is not Shouty Bill.

    • adam 15.2

      I love it, once again the utter inability of Tory’s to be funny.

      Try this, a tad funner. “But I’m not going to go on and list all the achievements of the previous tory government”

  16. Eco maori 16

    Big ups to Lydia Ko getting her wairua and your winning form back you are a great ambassador for NZ and a great role model for all our girls of our WORLD and our country.

    Now I want to tell the media please stop bashing the Warriors as that is bad for there Wairua and everyone can’t win.
    Also it is not the players or the couching staff at fault. In my opinion we have had the best of both players and couches over the years the only part of the organization that hasn’t changed is the owner no offence Eric but some people have a management style that is not suited to sports there management style mite be great for business but sports is not the same as a business.
    And in any entity if thing are not working than the Generals management are to blame not the soldiers players .
    So I say to Eric for the good of the game and the Club cut your losses and sell the Club.
    And all you Warrior supporters help Monty Betham buy the Club because I’m sure under New ownership the Club will start winning P.S. IF THE NEW MANAGEMENT
    USED THE GREAT PRINCIPLES OF THE ART OF WAR I NO YOU WILL WIN

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    5 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    6 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    6 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago