web analytics

Daily review 13/08/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:45 pm, August 13th, 2019 - 19 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

19 comments on “Daily review 13/08/2019 ”

  1. joe90 1

    It's never been about BDS. It's always been about maintaining the occupation.

    Twenty-one members of Knesset from right-wing parties sent a letter to members of Congress on Monday thanking them for their recent pro-Israel anti-Boycott Divestment & Sanctions (BDS) resolution but warning them that the resolution's endorsement of a two-state solution is harmful, because the repercussions of a Palestinian state would be "far more dangerous for Israel" than the BDS Movement.

    The House of Representatives overwhelmingly approved Resolution 246 opposing boycotts of Israel on July 23. Some 350 legislators, 175 from each party, cosponsored the resolution, which opposes the BDS movement, “including efforts to target United States companies t hat are engaged in commercial activities that are legal under US law, and all efforts to delegitimize the State of Israel

    […]

    The letter was initiated by the Land of Israel Caucus in the Knesset, Samaria Regional Council head Yossi Dagan and the Likud’s nationalist group.

    “Unfortunately, in the last few years, AIPAC is independently advancing the two-state solution,” said Dagan, who is powerful within Likud. “AIPAC portrays the two-state concept as an Israeli interest to elected officials in America and as the official position of the Israeli government, even though this is untrue. The two-state concept is not the policy of the current government coalition, nor is it stated as policy in the agreements between the coalition partners. Furthermore, this is not the policy of the Trump administration, which has even removed it from the National Security Strategic Report.”

    https://www.jpost.com/American-Politics/Israeli-MKs-to-Congress-Thanks-but-BDS-bill-dangerous-for-Israel-598392?

  2. marty mars 2

    We shouldn't underestimate the dangers of the current situation when this dude is in charge

    But other users shared memes and tweets mocking Mr Modi's words.

    "My problem is that I have never experienced such fears," Mr Modi said when asked about "nervousness".

    "I am unable to explain to people what it is and how to deal with it because my in-built temperament is very positive. I see positivity in everything and because of that reason, I am never disappointed."

    "[Narendra Modi] has never experienced fear or nervousness. This should shake Pakistan to its core" said one user, referring to current escalating cross-border tensions.

    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-49327430

    • Unfortunately another of the Whurl's shameless, narcissistic self-promoters who's not above playing on people's fears. Hoardings and pictures of the guy everywhere in a way that wouldn't go amiss in Nth Korea or Hussein's Iraq. Unfortunately it might just have to play out for another term, but like others of a like ilk, he's so 'exceptional' he has the expectation that the downtrodden will just keep laying down and taking it. That doesn't usually work out so well

  3. greywarshark 3

    The first item on a few of RadioNZ reports today is about a knife wielding man in Sydney. We have a news system and journalistic training and inherent owner-obsession with violence, and prioritising that which is against their perceived class. I am sick of hearing this non-important local meme, and the detail RadioNZ goes into, so that when they finish with the vox pop we know everything including that Mrs Somebody's dog hasn't stopped howling for two hours.

    We wouldn't hear as much about the situation in NZ. It reminds me of the 'fire-engine chasing' level of reporting when I was in Australia years ago, just as vacuous, but delivered in an excited voice full of dramatic tone.

    Meanwhile the world goes on while we are listening to these other things. The world doesn't all speak English, what happens is of importance. We are hicks in the sticks here, and getting worse.

    • ianmac 3.1

      Agreed.

      One of the Western European countries partnered with their MSM to stop filling the news with violence. Part of an overall multi faceted plan to reduce the prison population. And it worked. Serious reduction population in prisons and a much more tolerant population. The opposite happens in NZ.

  4. joe90 4

    TWO CENTS! TWO CENTS!

    -Warren/Castro 2020

    When U.S. Sen Elizabeth Warren told fairgoers what America could fund with her ultra-millionaires tax on Saturday, the crowd responded with a chant.

    "Two cents!" "Two cents!"

    Her plan, which would impose a 2% tax on fortunes over $50 million, would fund universal child care and pre-kindergarten, provide tuition-free college, invest $50 billion into historically black colleges, and cancel student loan debt for an estimated 42 million people, she said on the Des Moines Register Political Soapbox at the Iowa State Fair on Saturday.

    "We could do all that and still have a couple of hundred billion dollars left over. That should tell you about what's broken in America," Warren said. "Every time we see a budget, it’s really just a statement of our values. Is it more important to leave the two cents for the bazillionaires or use that two cents to invest in all of our kids?

    "Well, I’m here because I think we ought to be investing in all of our kids," she said.

    https://www.desmoinesregister.com/story/news/elections/presidential/caucus/2019/08/10/elizabeth-warren-election-2020-iowa-state-fair-register-soapbox-caucus-wealth-tax-corruption-loan/1881764001/

  5. adam 5

    Sheesh the sabotage just don't stop against Gabbard – now twitter have joined the fray.

    The rolling stone link is good, gives a history of the attacks, with the video showing the latest attack – which is the usual BS from corporate elects.

    https://www.rollingstone.com/politics/politics-features/podcast-tulsi-gabbard-kamala-harris-syria-iraq-870003/?fbclid=IwAR1JtICOGne3HIAI9hww2cEZ71tBwVaLDEhcaywRYSu2Q4M6K_JoKwTALkE

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emalZZJ-Stc&mc_cid=0c1faf8bff&mc_eid=524e48683c&ab_channel=LeeCamp

    • Wayne 5.1

      For a whole lot of reasons Tulsi Gabbard is not going to be the nominee. However she might be pitching for the VP spot. She may think Kamala Harris is her biggest obstacle for that position. Hence the attack on her. She would also know Harris would never pick her in the event Harris was the nominee. Also a reason to bring Harris down.

      Gabbard may have concluded that Biden or Sanders is the most likely nominee. In either case she could present herself as the ideal counter point for the VP spot. Young, female, Pacifica, strong national security credentials, a bit leftist, but in a safe way. Well set up to be the presidential nominee in 2024.

  6. greywarshark 6

    Behind the wires. We have our own Manus Island conditions – it seems that the (white) dregs of humanity have come to live in the South Pacific – if we had any standards and principles we wouldn't consider this behaviour. What a disgrace for farmers to trot out their little praiseworthy lines about their love of the land and animals as they so often do.

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/country/396607/winter-grazing-we-ve-had-farmers-intimidate-us-activists

    These two girls are looking sadly and hopefully for some white knight to come and rescue them from their dire mire.

    • Rosemary McDonald 6.1

      https://www.spca.nz/contact#contact-form

      Short of hopping on my broom stick and flying down there….I sent the SPCA an email…put Invercargill as my nearest branch. I honestly don't know what other agency would actually give a shit….

      Those animals would be safer and under stricter welfare regulations were they on the back of a truck going to the works.

  7. NZ Gang Numbers on the increase here in NZ, according to the NZ Herald not a good growth statistic for the New Zealand Economy ?

    • Incognito 7.1

      I’m counting and clutching my pearls.

    • greywarshark 7.2

      Interesting to look up ngungukai and see a Pinterest page that has picked up images of Maori and information. Makes me feel as if I am looking at a collectors page of pinned dead butterflies. Pinterest seems to be strong in collecting images and information under their own banner.

  8. Robert Guyton 8

    Luxton eyeing-up Bennett's seat.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago